Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 15 Sep 2014, 05:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy Revitalized as 5.2.8.6!
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 14 [208 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14
Author Message
goolwa_pup


Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Fri 15 Aug 2014, 19:11    Post subject:  

Hi Rerwin

I installed the latest pulse and skype from smokey's archive....I ran skype from command line and it said pulse needs --system flag daemon to run from root.......could not be started....skype starts but no sound....
image-2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   81.48 KB
 Viewed   717 Time(s)

image-2.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 873
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2014, 01:16    Post subject:  

@ goolwa_pup
I'm afraid there isn't a universal solution that will work out of the box on all hardware. You may need to experiment a bit but hopefully you will be able to get it going.

The run-as-root message is a warning, not a fatal error and not the reason why the daemon is not starting. You will always get that message in terminal.

To get the daemon to start you will probably need to do a little bit of editing of the file /etc/pulse/default.pa

There are 4 lines to look for, 2 at the end and 2 in the middle. Usually you just need to change a device number or index number or put a hash at the beginning of the line to comment it out. Please see this thread for more information:-
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94807

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
goolwa_pup


Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2014, 16:42    Post subject:  

thanx Oscar will have a look at it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
goolwa_pup


Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2014, 22:02    Post subject: Skype  

This workaround got skype back up and running for me...thanks Saintless...maybe he is Saintless but not luckily for me he is not Clueless....

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=95202
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Les Kerf

Joined: 24 Jun 2012
Posts: 219

PostPosted: Mon 25 Aug 2014, 21:30    Post subject:  

wrote:

Try frost.

Type in console: frost
and you get the info of the usage....basically it is: frost -m



I have searched and searched to find a way to get my laptop running Lucid Puppy to suspend to ram, and Frost is the first thing that has worked.

Now, I would like to get it to suspend to ram when I close the lid like it does in Slacko 5.7

I am running a poor man's frugal install (booting with a cd, all files including save file on hard drive) of Super Lucid on an Acer Aspire 7741Z-4643 laptop. 3 GB of ram, Pentium P6100 processor @ 2 GHz.

I simply want to be able to close the lid and have it suspend to ram, then open the lid, press the power button, and go to work.

Thanks,
Les
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 409
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri 29 Aug 2014, 15:57    Post subject: battery icon, leftover bak files  

At the end of the LuPu 5.3.8-005 thread, Richard said something like tell any things to fix for a possible 5.2.8.7

1) The powerapplet_tray doesn't work, but the one copied from Precise does put a battery icon at the bottom of the screen

2)
Code:
 find / -name *.bak
results in
Quote:
/initrd/pup_ro2/root/.config/openbox/menu.xml.bak
/initrd/pup_ro2/root/.sylpheed-2.0/addrbook--index.xml.bak
/initrd/pup_ro2/root/.sylpheed-2.0/colorlabelrc.bak
/initrd/pup_ro2/root/.sylpheed-2.0/filter.xml.bak
/initrd/pup_ro2/root/.sylpheed-2.0/folderlist.xml.bak
/initrd/pup_ro2/root/.sylpheed-2.0/sylpheedrc.bak
/initrd/pup_ro1/root/.config/openbox/.wh.menu.xml.bak

Of course, the few bytes doesn't hurt anything.

_________________
Dell E6410: Windows XP, LuPu Super 2 & various Puppys
Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nmlkngdm

Joined: 27 Dec 2013
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 12:07    Post subject:  

lupumini-5.2.8.6-20140321 (Lucid Puppy)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NnTrRyD3YtI

Multiple Applications Running - lupumini-5.2.8.6-20140321 (Lucid Puppy)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xOeV2dQs-Ic

Getting Skype for lupumini-5.2.8.6-20140321 (Lucid Puppy)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjM3kFh1orU

-Computer-
Processor : 2x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz
Memory : 2074MB
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : Puppy Linux
-Display-
Resolution : 1280x1024 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 409
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Sep 2014, 11:57    Post subject: video crashes?  

Hi, Folks.

May I ask for help? Here, or suggest where to ask?

On this Dell Latitude E6410, I use primarily rerwin's LuPu Super 2.

But when I try to play the 'full episodes' on
MHz Networks, the video crashes either immediately or after a few seconds.
http://www.mhznetworks.org/watch/river-fog

On the other hand, the 'live' stream plays fine.
http://www.mhznetworks.org/mhz-worldview/live

I will try to look up whatever info on my computer specs, settings, etc that may help you to diagnose the problem, and help me fix it.

The 'full episodes' play OK if I use Slacko.
But I'd rather use LuPu for everything.

Thank you very much,
Sheldon

_________________
Dell E6410: Windows XP, LuPu Super 2 & various Puppys
Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5131
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Sep 2014, 23:21    Post subject:  

It probably has to do with the graphics driver you are using.

In Quickpet->drivers tab
Run "click here to test your graphics card"
What driver is recommended?

Look here and see if there is a pet for that driver.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=739520#739520

What browser are you using?
Try adjusting it's cache settings.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 409
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat 06 Sep 2014, 07:23    Post subject: Problems playing video  

bigpup wrote:
It probably has to do with the graphics driver you are using.

In Quickpet->drivers tab
Run "click here to test your graphics card"
What driver is recommended?
Xorg_High
I then had Quickpet install it
Computer has a builit-in Intel card
Quote:

Look here and see if there is a pet for that driver.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=739520#739520

What browser are you using?
Try adjusting it's cache settings.

Opera 12.16
I can do Tools -> Advanced -> Cache
but don't know what to do.

EDIT:
Later, I right-clicked the http://www.mhznetworks.org/watch/river-fog, and chose "Save linked content as" (rather than clicking the triangle-in-circle play button(?) ).
Then, when I did File -> Open and chose the
rive-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 32236 2014-09-06 08:18 /mnt/sda3/river-fog.htm
it plays OK.
Why does this work, and jusk clicking the play does not?

Thanks again.
And please feel free to refer me elsewhere, if you think advisable.

Sheldon

_________________
Dell E6410: Windows XP, LuPu Super 2 & various Puppys
Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5131
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 08 Sep 2014, 02:30    Post subject:  

Quote:
chose "Save linked content as" .
Why does this work, and jusk clicking the play does not?

Basically you are not directly streaming but running as a file that is on your computer.
This makes it much easier to run.

To really figure out what is going on.
Would need to get into the details of what program you are using to view with.
It's settings.
Video quality settings.
Connection speed.
Specific specs of your computer.
How you are running Lucid Puppy.
Etc......

Streaming video seems to always be a moving target that changes constantly.
A lot to do with how a web site offers it and what program they design it to be played with.

Your link played fine for me, but I am not using the same programs you are.
I use Firefox and Flash 11.2

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5131
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 08 Sep 2014, 02:30    Post subject:  

double post
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 196
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 06:46    Post subject:  

Hello All

I am using a manual frugal install of lupusuper2-5.2.8.6-k3.2.48-20130321 on hd booted with grub4dos on a Dell Latitude D531. I have been trying to get bluetooth to work using a usb dongle. I have read quite a lot on this and have had a partial success using bluetooth-0.4.pet and autoblue-0.2.pet. I am trying to stream music from my laptop to a set of bluetooth speakers. I can find and connect to the speakers which are shown as GDSPKBT10 which presumably stands for Goodmans Speaker BT10. I know this system works as I am able to stream music to it via bluetooth from an old iphone. I am able to pair my laptop with the speaker but cannot stream music to it. I have read that this requires an Alsa PCM Plugin. I looked at a tutorial on this but it was beyond my ability in linux. I am wondering if anybody has got bluetooth working in lupusuper or if some of the experts out there could point me in the right direction.

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 14 [208 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0903s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0082s) ][ GZIP on ]