Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 16:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy Precise 5.7.1 issues with my usb DVB sticks Me-tv
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
AdrianH

Joined: 17 Oct 2013
Posts: 61
Location: Blackburn in the UK

PostPosted: Sat 30 Aug 2014, 18:19    Post_subject:  Puppy Precise 5.7.1 issues with my usb DVB sticks Me-tv  

Long time since last around here, but trying to find use for a HP thin client T5730, the unit has 1Gig flash and 2 Gig ram.

I have tried various puppy distro's but all have issues with my hardware.
the box has PAE so using 5.7.1 precise and all hardware on the box works, sound, network, screen. So that at least was a good start.
Updated the repositories in package manager and installed me-tv complete with 18 further dependences and all went well.

Now I have two usb-dvb sticks one is an alfatech and uses dvb-usb-af9015.fw on my Suse 11.4 box with no issues all I had to do was install the .fw file in /lib/firmware

In my puppy install I notice the file is located in a different position
/lib/modules/all-firmware/dvb-usb-firmware/lib/firmware/dvb-usb-af9015.fw

Anyway to cut sort the application me-tv says there is no DVB device available.

With the unit plugged in Pup scan reports the following:=-
Manufacturer=Afatech
Product=DVB-T 2
VendorID=1b80 ProductID=e395 KERNEL-DRIVER(builtin)=(none)

dsmeg gives
[ 3725.489625] usb 1-6: USB disconnect, device number 10
[ 3729.399713] usb 1-5: new high-speed USB device number 11 using ehci-pci
[ 3729.614584] usb 1-5: New USB device found, idVendor=1b80, idProduct=e395
[ 3729.614598] usb 1-5: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
[ 3729.614605] usb 1-5: Product: DVB-T 2
[ 3729.614612] usb 1-5: Manufacturer: Afatech

Going off pup scanit looks as though the stick is not supported, what can I do to get it to work.

The other stick is a Realtek 2838 device (2832u) and pupscan reports:
Manufacturer=Realtek
Product=RTL2838UHIDIR
SerialNumber=00000001
VendorID=0bda ProductID=2838 KERNEL-DRIVER(builtin)=(none)

Is there anything simple I can do to get one of the cards to work?

I Tried the retro version as the web page said it had more drivers (older?), but this version does not recognize the sound card or network card.

Cheers

Adrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2943
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 30 Aug 2014, 19:23    Post_subject:  

Here is a page with tons and tons of info on your thin client --> http://www.parkytowers.me.uk/thin/hp/t5730/

The parkytowers site is invaluable for people like me (and you? not sure) who like to tinker with those things... I have a Neoware CA19 and a Fujitsu Siemens Futro somethingorother and I'd never have gotten as far as I did with either one, were it not for that site...

Sorry I can't be of further assistance, though...

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
AdrianH

Joined: 17 Oct 2013
Posts: 61
Location: Blackburn in the UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 04:19    Post_subject:  

I know the site.

I use a T5700 as an asterisk PBX in the house, routing out to sipgate for mobile calls and BT for all others, it helps saves some money and has stopped a lot of cold callers with one of the facilities.

They seem to be an ideal thing for small distros.

Adrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
AdrianH

Joined: 17 Oct 2013
Posts: 61
Location: Blackburn in the UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 05:50    Post_subject:  

Thought it may be useful to post installed TV and DVB packages on the computer, it may be easier to see what I am missing.

dvb-apps_1.1.1+rev1355
dvbtune_0.5-12
linux_firmware_dvb-1.20
me-tv_1.3.6

I believe the kernel is 3.9.11

Adrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
solo


Joined: 14 Nov 2013
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 13:05    Post_subject:  

I know almost nothing about dvb-tv, but I do know how to find stuff.

https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/precise/i386/dvb-apps/1.1.1+rev1355-1.1ubuntu1

https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/precise/i386/dvbtune/0.5-12

https://archive.org/download/Puppy_linux_No-Arch_Repository/linux_firmware_dvb-1.20.pet

http://packages.ubuntu.com/precise/i386/me-tv/download

The .deb packages do have dependencies, so you'll have to look into that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
solo


Joined: 14 Nov 2013
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 13:16    Post_subject:  

This page shows all dependencies for me-tv (listed in red). There'a quite a few:

http://packages.ubuntu.com/precise/me-tv
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
AdrianH

Joined: 17 Oct 2013
Posts: 61
Location: Blackburn in the UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 14:52    Post_subject:  

Hello Solo;

I have no problem with the me-tv package, I think? Checks have said there are no missing dependences for the me-tv or the system.

My system will not recognize the hardware dvb-usb sticks. even though there is a firmware file for the alfatech dvb-usb-af9015.fw

The device works on my other linux box running Suse 11.4 with an older kernel.

It looks as though the kernel will support the Realtek device from versions 3.11 onwards?

So perhaps a kernel upgrade, if that is possible?

Adrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
solo


Joined: 14 Nov 2013
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 15:27    Post_subject:  

Remembered an old thread where they discussed something similar. You seem to have come to the same conclusion the people in that thread came to.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94049
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
AdrianH

Joined: 17 Oct 2013
Posts: 61
Location: Blackburn in the UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 15:37    Post_subject:  

I have been searching for ages and got nowhere, the question is can I just go to the package manager and get a later kernel for my frugal install?

Surly not that simple?

Adrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
solo


Joined: 14 Nov 2013
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 15:55    Post_subject:  

I don't have much experience updating the kernel in Puppy Linux (read: I failed), but I believe it involves a bit more than installing from the Package Manager. I think you need to have a full install instead of frugal as well.

You may want to consider giving Puppy Slacko a try instead. It's Slackware based, so it has much more in common with SUSE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
AdrianH

Joined: 17 Oct 2013
Posts: 61
Location: Blackburn in the UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 18:03    Post_subject:  

Just tried the pae version and I can not find me-tv in the PPM.

I know there is an old PET, but that was for puppy 4.2 (?) I think so not up to date.

Ahh well bed time here.

Adrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
solo


Joined: 14 Nov 2013
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2014, 07:29    Post_subject:  

You probably mean the one from this thread:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=40919

I'd say it's worth a shot. It needs the xine video libraries installed. That PET package can be found here:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
AdrianH

Joined: 17 Oct 2013
Posts: 61
Location: Blackburn in the UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2014, 12:32    Post_subject:  

Tried it and it did not work?

I think I have solved the problem, or will have in a few weeks.

I ordered a 16 Gig flash card for the thin Client.

It will then take a standard distro.

Thanks for your assistance


Adrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0680s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]