Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jan 2019, 17:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Light-Debian-Core-Live-CD-Wheezy + Porteus-Wheezy
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 238 of 283 [4236 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 236, 237, 238, 239, 240, ..., 281, 282, 283 Next
Author Message
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3658
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2014, 10:54    Post subject:  

Toni wrote:
........it was a nightmare. I will never touch ubuntu agiain.......


Where have I heard that before...? Smile

@Gobbi, looks like you run latest DebianDog now, right?
Nice screenshot! I see it's on qemu, could you run also the cd now on your Acer Travelmate?

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 244

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2014, 14:01    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
could you run also the cd now on your Acer Travelmate?

Fred


Yes it works , but before doing the remaster I did not configure Frisbee and now it is not working on the remastered ISO . I'll take a look into the downloaded version to see if I can find any differencies ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 244

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2014, 15:09    Post subject:  

The downloaded version has nothing more in the frisbee folders before connecting .
The funny thing is that the remasterd version + the same wireless usb adapter ( in fact I have 2 rtl8187 and tried them both ) is working great connecting to the internet with no fuss using my desktop which has an AMD CPU .
I'm posting from it now .
Otherwise Light Debian Dog works nicely on Acer Travelmate .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3658
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 19 Sep 2014, 12:12    Post subject:  

Hi Toni,
Just for info in case you're interested:
Using the same method as I described here for creating local repo:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=776007#776007 (with added updates now)
I managed to create repo on my google drive address, so should be possible with smokey01.com also.
What I did was just uploading 'Packages.gz' (created on my local folder) to:
https://googledrive.com/host/0ByBgCDlZZ8K5bUsxVnhCTkhoZDA/Packages/
And uploaded the same .deb packages from my local folder to same gdrive folder also.
I'll delete this folder later, just for testing now.
Of course these are babysteps but I'm excited that it works well this way Smile

Just for fun to test (I'm really not intending to make official repo, probably just for my own private use):

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install apt-transport-https # this is needed for https support, I guess not for http
echo "deb https://googledrive.com/host/0ByBgCDlZZ8K5bUsxVnhCTkhoZDA/Packages/ ./" >> /etc/apt/sources.list
apt-get update

Now, only new, (not installed) package is 'conky-manager' from Mepis (not in Debian repo), so try;
Code:
apt-cache search conky-manager # or:
apt-get install conky-manager # needs lots of dependencies


This way I could easily make module 'conky-manager.squashfs' with apt2sfs.

Edit: It works but really isn't perfect way, just found that after successful first 'apt-get update', when running it again it gives warning and error (not really a problem though as it will use previous indexes).
Edit2: Uploading 'Packages' file (extracted Packages.gz )seems to solve this.
Edit3: Still having problems using google-drive but: Using dropbox works perfect, without warnings or errors:
See here for the new method I used for creating local repo first (Update2):
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=776007#776007
To try my small dropbox test-repo:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install apt-transport-https
echo "deb https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/36381953/test-repo/ ./" >> /etc/apt/sources.list
apt-get update

------------------------

Good luck with your RTAI-linuxcnc project!

Fred

Last edited by fredx181 on Mon 22 Sep 2014, 06:01; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 19 Sep 2014, 14:01    Post subject:  

Hi, Fred, thank you!
I will test it soon as I get time for it. Hopefuly tomorrow or the day after.
We should add it to the HowTo thread. I think there is post from you about this already. Maybe adding link to your post here will help.
fredx181 wrote:
Good luck with your RTAI-linuxcnc project!

I'm almost ready with the base iso. Vtpup or someone else will take the project further (if there is interest from Ubuntu 8.4 Hardy version).
It is now very similar to the first DebianDog stage. Could become easy Ubuntu version of DebianDog if someone start to update it.
But my statement is still valid - I will never touch Ubuntu again. Debian is so much more flexible to shape and modify. I'm glad we started with Debian Smile

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3658
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 19 Sep 2014, 15:47    Post subject:  

Hi Toni,
Quote:
I will test it soon as I get time for it. Hopefuly tomorrow or the day after.
We should add it to the HowTo thread. I think there is post from you about this already. Maybe adding link to your post here will help.

No problem, Toni!, I'm sure you will get back to reality someday after your big Ubuntu adventure Smile
Link was already there if you mean my post about local repo:
Fred wrote:
Using the same method as I described here for creating local repo:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=776007#776007 (with added update now)

But I added link also now to my previous post there.

For my volunteer work I do a lot with Lubuntu, I like it, not that I tried to make it smaller but made script similar to remasterdog and (after some hassle of course, indeed things are different from Debian) it works nice.
I have the feeling upgrading from Hardy to latest will be very hard to do, btw.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 20 Sep 2014, 09:24    Post subject:  

Hi, Fred.
fredx181 wrote:
I have the feeling upgrading from Hardy to latest will be very hard to do, btw.

Anyone who likes to try has the base to start now. The point for me was to make it work on old laptop that can't run linuxcnc other way.

BTW patched skype is blocked from today. The workaround setting up the account to autologin with 4.3.0.37 still works.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 21 Sep 2014, 02:42    Post subject:  

Hi, Anikin.

Moded for DebianDog mount-wizard_1.0.1_i386.deb
I'm sure it can be done much better but this is all I can do with my poor and limited scripting knowledge.

Edit: New version uploaded.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...

Last edited by saintless on Mon 22 Sep 2014, 02:00; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 21 Sep 2014, 04:12    Post subject:  

Hi, Fred.

Haven't tested all possible options yet but cowsave works fine for me.
I will test more today and tomorrow but I think we can add it as official next version fix. Much better solution for live-boot-3x than mine Smile Thanks!
/etc/rc.local line is fine for me but if you prefer to add it in each /live/cow based script I do not mind.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 1020

PostPosted: Sun 21 Sep 2014, 06:51    Post subject:  

Hi Toni,
saintless wrote:
Moded for DebianDog mount-wizard_1.0.1_i386.deb
I'm sure it can be done much better but this is all I can do with my poor and limited scripting knowledge
It can mount partitions in DD now, but there's no unmount and browse buttons. I did a quick test in SID with a slightly different result: it has all the buttons on sdc1 - the working partition. And that's it, for all the other partitions, there's only mount button. OK, let's leave it at that, the community doesn't seem to be interested in this mount-wizard. I can live without it too. Thank you for your effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 21 Sep 2014, 13:26    Post subject:  

anikin wrote:
It can mount partitions in DD now, but there's no unmount and browse buttons. I did a quick test in SID with a slightly different result: it has all the buttons on sdc1 - the working partition. And that's it, for all the other partitions, there's only mount button.

After mounting partition close and open again mount-wizard and you will see all new mounted partitions with unmount and browse buttons. Not perfect but it works. It is really good and simple mount script but it needs profesional touch I can't give.
Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 22 Sep 2014, 02:01    Post subject:  

Hi, Anikin.

Added extra script to restart autmatically mount-wizard and the deb package reuploaded. Test it if you like.
For standard Debian the scripts killgtkdlg and mount-wizard must go in /usr/bin instead /opt/bin or put /opt/bin in PATH
Just keep in mind if you have another gtkdialog based program running at the same time it will be terminated from killgtkdlg script. I can't find a way to restart successful mount-wizard different way yet.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3658
Location: holland

PostPosted: Mon 22 Sep 2014, 06:17    Post subject:  

saintless wrote:
Hi, Fred.

Haven't tested all possible options yet but cowsave works fine for me.
I will test more today and tomorrow but I think we can add it as official next version fix. Much better solution for live-boot-3x than mine Smile Thanks!
/etc/rc.local line is fine for me but if you prefer to add it in each /live/cow based script I do not mind.

Toni

Hi Toni, yes it works well, but note that I tested only with the patched initrd.img, so may behave a little different with the non-patched one.
I think adding to /etc/rc.local will be best, then there's correct link /live/cow and /live/image always.

Regarding creating (local or online) repository, I made some progress, see here (Edit3)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=799928#799928
And here (Update2) for better way of creating repo.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=776007#776007
Also I can add later, if you like, how to make a repository signed (with a 'Release.gpg' created).

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 1020

PostPosted: Mon 22 Sep 2014, 06:37    Post subject:  

Hi Toni,

I sure will test it.
But let's wait a little bit, I'm going to ask someone to have a look at it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 22 Sep 2014, 09:16    Post subject:  

Hi, Fred.
I keep the untouched initrd.img mostly because my old scripts create proper /live/cow and /live/image links with it. Since cowsave works even better with patched initrd.img I will change the howto posts where we need when we make new iso versions.
fredx181 wrote:
Also I can add later, if you like, how to make a repository signed (with a 'Release.gpg' created).

Thanks, Fred. Anything you can add as new information will be useful for someone later reading the thread.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 238 of 283 [4236 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 236, 237, 238, 239, 240, ..., 281, 282, 283 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.5424s ][ Queries: 13 (0.4114s) ][ GZIP on ]