Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Apr 2017, 14:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.7.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 26 of 36 [539 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, ..., 34, 35, 36 Next
Author Message
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2845

PostPosted: Sat 11 Oct 2014, 07:20    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:
As an aside - it would be nice if "rfkill unblock wifi" could be added to the bootup code to remove a "bug" in 5.7.1 where some wifi (broadcom?) is soft blocked on boot. This is a "bug" only present in 5.7.1

In case I build another delta, do you know at which point the softblock occurs so to add the unblock after that? (I do not have anything relevant to check).

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8614
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 11 Oct 2014, 08:18    Post subject:  

https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/blob/testing/woof-code/rootfs-skeleton/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

Wink

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2845

PostPosted: Sat 11 Oct 2014, 08:56    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/blob/testing/woof-code/rootfs-skeleton/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

Wink


wow, even after rc.local!
I would think that by then the connection has failed already. No?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8614
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 11 Oct 2014, 09:04    Post subject:  

Considering the comment in the code refers to the same complainant as in this thread, well.. say no more. Smile (and it was around that time too, BK's last release, was a request).
_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1309
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 11 Oct 2014, 12:46    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
sfs_load looks for pup_rw/pup_ro1 to determine the subfolder.
Since this savefolder implementation does not have pup_rw it can not find the boot sub-folder.
This statement is not quite correct.
1) pup_rw/pup_ro1 do still exist in this implementation of savefolder, but they're symbolic links and not mountpoints.
2) The problem with older versions of 'sfs_load' is that they reject any "savefile" that does not contain a '.' in their name. Hence it is a problem with both implementations of savefolder.
It can be fixed by:
a) renaming the save folder, e.g. append ".d"
b) installing the latest sfs_load.
c) patching the sfs_load that came with your puppy.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bohocmasni

Joined: 01 Jun 2012
Posts: 20
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Sat 11 Oct 2014, 20:59    Post subject: Re: rox  

bohocmasni wrote:
hi!

in precise 5.5 (IRC in older versions too) rox iconified windows works,

in wheezy35xx, precise 5.7, tahr 5.8 (and newer?) don't work at least for me.

how to reprod:

right click on any item, options, pinboard, iconified windows, show iconified windows, check in.

in precise 5.5, after minimalizing a window it puts an icon to my desktop, in precise 5.7.1 (and newer) it does nothing.

both uses rox 2.11,


up

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G6D1YI-41ao
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2845

PostPosted: Sun 12 Oct 2014, 09:44    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:

In case I build another delta,


Case has materialised Cool
Here is the, last I believe, precise-5.7.1_to_5.7.2 delta (md5sum: b6ea7b96f49848776186ad7ea7dc907d).
<Edit> ...and here is the precise-5.7.1-retro_to_5.7.2-retro delta (md5sum: 26cb64612292706504fec7ee833d6f96) </Edit>

This is mostly to test the save_to_folder function and also contains updated bash, Puppy-package-*, sfs_load, and a fix for a soft wifi block in some hardware.

It also contains a savefile2dir script that it can be used to transform your savefile to savedirectory. To use it boot with pfix=ram, backup your savefile, and then in the terminal type
Code:
savefile2dir /full/path/to/savefile.2fs

replacing '/full/path/to/savefile.2fs' with the actual path and name of your savefile.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Griot


Joined: 12 Sep 2014
Posts: 130
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Oct 2014, 13:22    Post subject:  

Hello mavrothal. Pardon my noobness on this but I have to ask before I
scr#$ up something. Can I use "manual frugal" method after updating Precise 5.71.iso with delta files? Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2845

PostPosted: Sun 19 Oct 2014, 13:50    Post subject:  

Griot wrote:
Can I use "manual frugal" method after updating Precise 5.71.iso with delta files? Thank you.

You can do a anything you would do with any puppy ISO, including "manual frugal"

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Griot


Joined: 12 Sep 2014
Posts: 130
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Oct 2014, 16:13    Post subject:  

Thank you mavrothal and a big thanks to everyone who participated in this project. Works like a charm. Very Happy However, I have two more questions about this. Is it safe to rename savedir and edit corresponding entry in fsckme.flg? Can I delete newly created/renamed savefile? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2845

PostPosted: Mon 20 Oct 2014, 01:13    Post subject:  

Griot wrote:
However, I have two more questions about this. Is it safe to rename savedir and edit corresponding entry in fsckme.flg? Can I delete newly created/renamed savefile? Thanks.

These are 3 questions Very Happy
You can rename it while the first part remains the same ie "precisesave"
fsckme.flg is an empty file and unrelated to savefile. Is for checking the integrity of the file system.
You can delete anything you want.
None of these changes should be done while the savefile/folder is loaded. ie either boot with another puppy or with pfix=ram.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Griot


Joined: 12 Sep 2014
Posts: 130
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Mon 20 Oct 2014, 05:26    Post subject:  

Thank you mavrothal. Yes, three is the number. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1128

PostPosted: Sat 25 Oct 2014, 05:02    Post subject:  

grub-probe is missing

Code:
# grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/sdb1 /dev/sdb1
Probing devices to guess BIOS drives. This may take a long time.
/usr/sbin/grub-install: line 490: grub-probe: command not found
/usr/sbin/grub-install: line 490: [: =: unary operator expected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2845

PostPosted: Sat 25 Oct 2014, 06:44    Post subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
grub-probe is missing

grub-probe was not in precise-5.7.1.
Use grub4dos

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1128

PostPosted: Sat 25 Oct 2014, 07:09    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
grub-probe was not in precise-5.7.1.
Use grub4dos

I know, but I am writing bugs here, I am not asking for tips Very Happy . (I could also use syslinux or lilo or whatever bootloader, why do you only recommend grub4dos)...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 26 of 36 [539 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, ..., 34, 35, 36 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0915s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0308s) ][ GZIP on ]