Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 15 Dec 2017, 17:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
tahrpup 6.0.5 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 117 [1748 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 115, 116, 117 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 28 Oct 2014, 01:32    Post subject:  

>>> error in browser caused duplication <<<
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Tue 28 Oct 2014, 01:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 28 Oct 2014, 01:33    Post subject: "save to folder" (savefolder) presented by @Gyro  

Not speaking for @Gyro, but, he did find some anomalies in save to folder efforts and provided some corrections.

His work did not make it into WOOFCE in time for this version generation. Hence the resolutions are being provided by him. They can only be gotten via the links he provides for the replacements to the ISO files that are shipped for TahrPUP6. I believe his offers merely corrects "save to folder" processing without making changes to the base TahrPUP6 system.

Hope this is accurate for the help he is trying to provide.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1409
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 28 Oct 2014, 03:11    Post subject: Re: savefolder using symbolic links  

mikeslr wrote:
Was this discussed in a previous thread?
If not, could you provide some details? How does it differ from an "ordinary" savefolder? How do you set up the symbolic links? To what? What are its potential advantages?
Yes, http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=95922.
Instead of using a 'mount -o bind' command to make the actual directory containing the savefolder appear at '/initrd/pup_rw', it uses a symbolic link.
Both methods break some existing code because old assumptions become false. The list of broken programs for the 'symbolic link' method is a bit shorter, and they are very specific to puppy. So hopefully it's less likely to bite us in the future.
It's been ported to a few puppies now. The intention of my post was to announce the availability of a port for TahrPup 6.0.
The 'initrd.gz' is a normal TahrPup 6.0 'initrd.gz' but with a patched 'init' script. The 'ydrv_tahr_6.0.sfs' contains patched versions of a few puppy programs to support this implementation.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8346
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 28 Oct 2014, 06:45    Post subject:  

Guys, yes, I announced Tahrpup 6.0 as an official Puppy, after receiving recommendation from 01micko, see my blog:

http://bkhome.org/news/?viewDetailed=00097

...but, note, I have just now edited it.

I had informed Ladislav, the top guy at distrowatch.com, and he replied that he is concerned about the naming of Tahpup, as it is now an official Puppy Linux. So I reworded the heading in my blog as "Puppy Linux 6.0, "Tahrpup" released"

You will notice how Ladislav names each Puppy:
http://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=puppy

...you see, he wants a nice consistent naming "Puppy Linux 5.6", "Puppy Linux 5.7", etc.

He thinks that this will avoid confusion.

I have also added some comment in my blog to explain difference from the "Slacko edition".

Hmmm, to keep Ladislav happy, perhaps the next Slacko edition should have a later version number, say "Puppy Linux 6.1, "Slacko" edition"

Anyway, in this Forum thread you can continue to name this pup anyway you want!

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
linux28

Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Tue 28 Oct 2014, 07:19    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
I've compiled xfce and have it running of a fashion, still needs work to get everything working, recompiled glib with the patch that's mentioned,
then compiled the pup-volume-monitor, it threw a few warnings in the compile but it's now working,
no segment faults, thunar filemanager shows drives and desktop also shows them.


pup-volume-monitor??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linux28

Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Tue 28 Oct 2014, 07:41    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
I've compiled xfce and have it running of a fashion, still needs work to get everything working, recompiled glib with the patch that's mentioned,
then compiled the pup-volume-monitor, it threw a few warnings in the compile but it's now working,
no segment faults, thunar filemanager shows drives and desktop also shows them.

Make thunar normal share
pup-volume-monitor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kimathi

Joined: 02 Mar 2012
Posts: 25
Location: Nairobi

PostPosted: Tue 28 Oct 2014, 09:26    Post subject: share please  

Geoffrey wrote:
I've compiled xfce and have it running of a fashion, still needs work to get everything working, recompiled glib with the patch that's mentioned,
then compiled the pup-volume-monitor, it threw a few warnings in the compile but it's now working,
no segment faults, thunar filemanager shows drives and desktop also shows them.


Mind sharing your pet packages for others to use. Maybe have they could be added to quickpet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3149
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 28 Oct 2014, 11:54    Post subject:  

thanks barry
_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, ibuilt with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 732
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Tue 28 Oct 2014, 15:29    Post subject: 6.0  

Tahr-6.0

pupRadio/pupTelly streaming media

Not working from the menu???

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3149
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 28 Oct 2014, 15:54    Post subject: Re: 6.0  

sszindian wrote:
Tahr-6.0

pupRadio/pupTelly streaming media

Not working from the menu???

>>>---Indian------>

hi sszindian,

try deleting /root/.pupradio

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, ibuilt with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2313
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 28 Oct 2014, 16:55    Post subject: Re: share please  

kimathi wrote:
Geoffrey wrote:
I've compiled xfce and have it running of a fashion, still needs work to get everything working, recompiled glib with the patch that's mentioned,
then compiled the pup-volume-monitor, it threw a few warnings in the compile but it's now working,
no segment faults, thunar filemanager shows drives and desktop also shows them.


Mind sharing your pet packages for others to use. Maybe have they could be added to quickpet


These work for me compiled as per Linux From Scratch, using this patch which I manually edited the changes from.

glib_2.40.0-tahr-090814.patch
Code:
diff -rupN glib-2.36.4/gio/gappinfo.c glib-2.36.4-patched-s/gio/gappinfo.c
--- glib-2.36.4/gio/gappinfo.c   2013-08-07 22:34:32.000000000 +0800
+++ glib-2.36.4-patched-s/gio/gappinfo.c   2014-06-28 09:47:48.573336650 +0800
@@ -25,7 +25,7 @@
 #include "glibintl.h"
 #include <gioerror.h>
 #include <gfile.h>
-
+#include <stdlib.h>
 
 /**
  * SECTION:gappinfo
@@ -702,8 +702,13 @@ g_app_info_launch_default_for_uri (const
       file = g_file_new_for_uri (uri);
       app_info = g_file_query_default_handler (file, NULL, error);
       g_object_unref (file);
-      if (app_info == NULL)
-   return FALSE;
+   if (app_info == NULL)
+   {
+       gchar *cCommand = g_strdup_printf (" xdg-open %s", uri );
+       system(cCommand);
+       g_free (cCommand);
+       return TRUE;
+   }
 
       /* We still use the original @uri rather than calling
        * g_file_get_uri(), because GFile might have modified the URI
diff -rupN glib-2.36.4/gio/gunixmounts.c glib-2.36.4-patched-s/gio/gunixmounts.c
--- glib-2.36.4/gio/gunixmounts.c   2013-08-07 22:34:32.000000000 +0800
+++ glib-2.36.4-patched-s/gio/gunixmounts.c   2014-06-28 09:53:33.366673050 +0800
@@ -2136,7 +2136,7 @@ g_unix_mount_guess_should_display (GUnix
           mount_path[sizeof ("/run/media/") - 1 + user_name_len] == '/')
         is_in_runtime_dir = TRUE;
 
-      if (is_in_runtime_dir || g_str_has_prefix (mount_path, "/media/"))
+      if (is_in_runtime_dir || g_str_has_prefix (mount_path, "/mnt/"))
         {
           char *path;
           /* Avoid displaying mounts that are not accessible to the user.
@@ -2146,7 +2146,7 @@ g_unix_mount_guess_should_display (GUnix
            * block or fail stat()'ing, such as network mounts.
            */
           path = g_path_get_dirname (mount_path);
-          if (g_str_has_prefix (path, "/media/"))
+          if (g_str_has_prefix (path, "/mnt/"))
             {
               if (g_access (path, R_OK|X_OK) != 0)
                 {


Added start-pup-volume-monitor script in /etc/init.d with contents
Code:
#!/bin/bash

case "$1" in
    start)
        pup-volume-monitor-admin --start
        ;;
    stop)
        pup-volume-monitor-admin --stop
        ;;
    restart)
        pup-volume-monitor-admin --stop
      sleep 1
        pup-volume-monitor-admin --start
        ;;
    *)
        echo "Usage: $0 {start|stop|restart}"
        ;;
esac
to the pup-volume-monitor pet.

glib_DEV-2.42.0-i686.pet

glib_DOC-2.42.0-i686.pet

glib_NLS-2.42.0-i686.pet

glib-2.42.0-i686.pet

pup_DEV-volume-monitor-0.1.15-i686.pet

pup-volume-monitor-0.1.15-i686.pet

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 732
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Tue 28 Oct 2014, 20:23    Post subject: 6.0  

---------------------------------------
666philb wrote:
try deleting /root/.pupradio
---------------------------------------


Yep Did the trick... now working!!! (for sure a patch for your updates)

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6715
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 28 Oct 2014, 21:34    Post subject:  

.
Tahrpup.JPG
 Description   
 Filesize   78.09 KB
 Viewed   3429 Time(s)

Tahrpup.JPG

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 114
Location: India

PostPosted: Wed 29 Oct 2014, 04:11    Post subject:  

Will it be possible to add SUSPEND option to EXIT Menu? Can someone be kind enough to help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
augras

Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1456
Location: france

PostPosted: Wed 29 Oct 2014, 04:54    Post subject:  

Hi,
Is guvcview working for you ? On pae or non-pae i get a black window on all of my computers ! The webcam woks fine in skype but nothing with guvcview.
Thanks,
Philippe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 117 [1748 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 115, 116, 117 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0691s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0133s) ][ GZIP on ]