tahrpup 6.0.5 CE

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

Re: share please

#41 Post by Geoffrey »

kimathi wrote:
Geoffrey wrote:I've compiled xfce and have it running of a fashion, still needs work to get everything working, recompiled glib with the patch that's mentioned,
then compiled the pup-volume-monitor, it threw a few warnings in the compile but it's now working,
no segment faults, thunar filemanager shows drives and desktop also shows them.
Mind sharing your pet packages for others to use. Maybe have they could be added to quickpet
These work for me compiled as per Linux From Scratch, using this patch which I manually edited the changes from.

glib_2.40.0-tahr-090814.patch

Code: Select all

diff -rupN glib-2.36.4/gio/gappinfo.c glib-2.36.4-patched-s/gio/gappinfo.c
--- glib-2.36.4/gio/gappinfo.c	2013-08-07 22:34:32.000000000 +0800
+++ glib-2.36.4-patched-s/gio/gappinfo.c	2014-06-28 09:47:48.573336650 +0800
@@ -25,7 +25,7 @@
 #include "glibintl.h"
 #include <gioerror.h>
 #include <gfile.h>
-
+#include <stdlib.h>
 
 /**
  * SECTION:gappinfo
@@ -702,8 +702,13 @@ g_app_info_launch_default_for_uri (const
       file = g_file_new_for_uri (uri);
       app_info = g_file_query_default_handler (file, NULL, error);
       g_object_unref (file);
-      if (app_info == NULL)
-	return FALSE;
+	if (app_info == NULL)
+	{
+       gchar *cCommand = g_strdup_printf (" xdg-open %s", uri ); 
+       system(cCommand); 
+       g_free (cCommand); 
+       return TRUE; 
+	}
 
       /* We still use the original @uri rather than calling
        * g_file_get_uri(), because GFile might have modified the URI
diff -rupN glib-2.36.4/gio/gunixmounts.c glib-2.36.4-patched-s/gio/gunixmounts.c
--- glib-2.36.4/gio/gunixmounts.c	2013-08-07 22:34:32.000000000 +0800
+++ glib-2.36.4-patched-s/gio/gunixmounts.c	2014-06-28 09:53:33.366673050 +0800
@@ -2136,7 +2136,7 @@ g_unix_mount_guess_should_display (GUnix
           mount_path[sizeof ("/run/media/") - 1 + user_name_len] == '/')
         is_in_runtime_dir = TRUE;
 
-      if (is_in_runtime_dir || g_str_has_prefix (mount_path, "/media/"))
+      if (is_in_runtime_dir || g_str_has_prefix (mount_path, "/mnt/"))
         {
           char *path;
           /* Avoid displaying mounts that are not accessible to the user.
@@ -2146,7 +2146,7 @@ g_unix_mount_guess_should_display (GUnix
            * block or fail stat()'ing, such as network mounts.
            */
           path = g_path_get_dirname (mount_path);
-          if (g_str_has_prefix (path, "/media/"))
+          if (g_str_has_prefix (path, "/mnt/"))
             {
               if (g_access (path, R_OK|X_OK) != 0) 
                 {
Added start-pup-volume-monitor script in /etc/init.d with contents

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

case "$1" in
    start)
        pup-volume-monitor-admin --start
        ;;
    stop)
        pup-volume-monitor-admin --stop
        ;;
    restart)
        pup-volume-monitor-admin --stop
      sleep 1
        pup-volume-monitor-admin --start
        ;;
    *)
        echo "Usage: $0 {start|stop|restart}"
        ;;
esac 
to the pup-volume-monitor pet.

glib_DEV-2.42.0-i686.pet

glib_DOC-2.42.0-i686.pet

glib_NLS-2.42.0-i686.pet

glib-2.42.0-i686.pet

pup_DEV-volume-monitor-0.1.15-i686.pet

pup-volume-monitor-0.1.15-i686.pet
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

User avatar
sszindian
Posts: 807
Joined: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 02:14
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

6.0

#42 Post by sszindian »

---------------------------------------
666philb wrote:
try deleting /root/.pupradio
---------------------------------------


Yep Did the trick... now working!!! (for sure a patch for your updates)

>>>---Indian------>
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
[url]http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192[/url]

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#43 Post by James C »

.
Attachments
Tahrpup.JPG
(78.09 KiB) Downloaded 4064 times

spandey
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu 20 Sep 2012, 14:30
Location: India

#44 Post by spandey »

Will it be possible to add SUSPEND option to EXIT Menu? Can someone be kind enough to help?

augras
Posts: 1487
Joined: Mon 11 Nov 2013, 17:37
Location: france

#45 Post by augras »

Hi,
Is guvcview working for you ? On pae or non-pae i get a black window on all of my computers ! The webcam woks fine in skype but nothing with guvcview.
Thanks,
Philippe

kimathi
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 01:23
Location: Nairobi

Re: share please

#46 Post by kimathi »

Geoffrey wrote: These work for me compiled as per Linux From Scratch, using this patch which I manually edited the changes from.
Thanks for them, i too compile xfce using lfs, however my thunar results in double entries for drives when mounted and even loop entries on the side, how is it done to avoid these issues plus how to get rid of the orange/ red warning that am running as root.

Kindly share your Thunar as well and xfce4 plugins.

User avatar
dejan555
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2008, 11:57
Location: Montenegro
Contact:

#47 Post by dejan555 »

Updated links to latest version on http://puppy.b0x.me/
Correct me if I'm wrong about other versions.
I might add a new page to highlight some other projects going on in community when I get time since were starting with "PR" again :)

I booted tahrpup on laptop shortly last night.
I like the default icons but I think the orange wallpaper would be better and some other jwm theme as default.
It booted to correct screen resolution and I could connect to wifi.
puppy.b0x.me stuff mirrored [url=https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_Mb589v0iCXNnhSZWRwd3R2UWs]HERE[/url] or [url=http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_puppy.b0x.me_mirror]HERE[/url]

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

Re: share please

#48 Post by Geoffrey »

kimathi wrote:
Geoffrey wrote: These work for me compiled as per Linux From Scratch, using this patch which I manually edited the changes from.
Thanks for them, i too compile xfce using lfs, however my thunar results in double entries for drives when mounted and even loop entries on the side, how is it done to avoid these issues plus how to get rid of the orange/ red warning that am running as root.

Kindly share your Thunar as well and xfce4 plugins.
Yeah Thunar does that in Precise too, in Slacko it's ok so I have the same problem as you and I don't know the fix for that.

Edit: compiled in Tahr
I used this Thunar https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/260 ... 3-i686.pet it still doubles up on the mounts but there is no root warning.

I have yet to build more packages, I'm just trying to debug as I go.
Last edited by Geoffrey on Fri 17 Jul 2015, 00:24, edited 5 times in total.
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

User avatar
rg66
Posts: 1158
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 05:53
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

Re: share please

#49 Post by rg66 »

kimathi wrote:however my thunar results in double entries for drives when mounted and even loop entries on the side, how is it done to avoid these issues plus how to get rid of the orange/ red warning that am running as root.
You have to edit one of the thunar files before you compile to get rid of root warning. I can't remember which one at the moment.

The only way I know of getting rid of the double entries so far is to use thunar-1.4.0
X-slacko-5b1 - X-tahr-2.0 - X-precise-2.4
[url=http://smokey01.com/rg66/]X-series repo[/url]

User avatar
Billtoo
Posts: 3720
Joined: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 13:47
Location: Ontario Canada

#50 Post by Billtoo »

Geoffrey wrote:I've compiled xfce and have it running of a fashion, still needs work to get everything working, recompiled glib with the patch that's mentioned,
then compiled the pup-volume-monitor, it threw a few warnings in the compile but it's now working,
no segment faults, thunar filemanager shows drives and desktop also shows them.
I compiled xfce4 too, I used your glib-2.42.0-i686.pet and pup-volume-monitor-0.1.15-i686.pet pets.
It's working pretty well.
Attachments
screenshot2.jpg
(30.84 KiB) Downloaded 3141 times

jsalpha2
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue 12 Aug 2014, 19:20

#51 Post by jsalpha2 »

I compiled xfce4 too

Will the Xfce version eventually be available as an ISO for those of us who don't understand compiling?
Thanks

linux28
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun 05 Apr 2009, 07:22

#52 Post by linux28 »

Geoffrey
Thank you
peebee
Thank you


pup-volume-monitor
OK :)

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#53 Post by James C »

Tahr 6.0 live.As expected no sound......otherwise looks good.

Code: Select all

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: tahrpup, version 6.0

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GM107 [GeForce GTX 750] (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768x16
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe 

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
  Loaded modules: dbe ddc extmod fb glx int10 kbd mouse shadow vbe vesa

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1920x1080 pixels (508x286 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video

Code: Select all

# glxgears
2893 frames in 5.0 seconds = 578.575 FPS
2969 frames in 5.0 seconds = 593.728 FPS
2986 frames in 5.0 seconds = 597.166 FPS

Code: Select all

-Computer-
Processor		: 8x AMD FX(tm)-8320 Eight-Core Processor
Memory		: 8209MB (270MB used)
Machine Type		: Physical machine
Operating System		: tahrpup - 6.0
User Name		: root (root)
Date/Time		: Wed 29 Oct 2014 11:36:38 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution		: 1920x1080 pixels
OpenGL Renderer		: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.4, 128 bits)
X11 Vendor		: The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter		: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
Audio Adapter		: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
Audio Adapter		: PC-Speaker - pcsp

User avatar
darkcity
Posts: 2534
Joined: Sun 23 May 2010, 19:16
Location: near here
Contact:

#54 Post by darkcity »

Why isn't the sound working? Is it because the full ALSA sound system isn't present. This is the problem I've had with the versions of Slacko after 5.3.1.

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#55 Post by 666philb »

could someone with an nvidia card possibly make the nvidia drivers for me as my card has broken.
i guess we need the latest one and the legacy one as .pets ... (you can use getnvidia)

i will then add them to quickpet along with the amd beta driver which i've managed to compile

thanks
Last edited by 666philb on Thu 30 Oct 2014, 18:41, edited 1 time in total.
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#56 Post by 666philb »

geoffrey

i'll add xfce to quickpet when you've done
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

paulwill22
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 30 Oct 2014, 17:46

Fantastic

#57 Post by paulwill22 »

New user here. I just registered on the forum to tell you all how great this distro is.

I was looking for something lightweight to install on an old (2007) and underpowered asus eeePC that I had laying around. I looked at crunchbang, slitaz, LXLE, and several others... But this tahrpup 6.0 CE beats them all

A quick download later, and then I put it on a pendrive and did an install. Everything worked smooth, right out of the box. Flawless.

This is my first ever experience with Puppy (in any of its flavors) and to say that I am impressed is an understatement.

paulwill22
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 30 Oct 2014, 17:46

#58 Post by paulwill22 »

.....and sound works, too.

User avatar
dejan555
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2008, 11:57
Location: Montenegro
Contact:

#59 Post by dejan555 »

Welcome to the kennels paulwill22, as we have a custom to say! :)
Glad that you got a good first impression.
puppy.b0x.me stuff mirrored [url=https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_Mb589v0iCXNnhSZWRwd3R2UWs]HERE[/url] or [url=http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_puppy.b0x.me_mirror]HERE[/url]

paulwill22
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 30 Oct 2014, 17:46

#60 Post by paulwill22 »

Thanks! This distro is a KEEPER so I'll be around in the future... lurking and learning.

Considering the particular hardware that I am running it on, I was fully expecting to settle for an underwhelming, mediocre experience (compared to my other computers). But the opposite is the case: I am blown away.

Just two days with Puppy so far but I am alredy in love with "him".

Post Reply