(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Sep 2020, 05:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
tahrpup 6.0.5 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 120 [1788 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 118, 119, 120 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 06 Nov 2014, 05:47    Post subject: TahrPUP's VLC as a media server to LAN devices  

VLC Questions
  • Are there any instructions on the forum for setting VLC up as a media server?
  • Can this be done with TahrPUP?
Looking to do so. I have only playback experiences, thus far.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3635
Location: wales ... by the sea

PostPosted: Thu 06 Nov 2014, 08:02    Post subject:  

hi vicmz,

i just checked with vlc and see what you mean. vlc in tahrpup is launched with a wrapper created by shinobar that disables the screensaver and it seems like this is causing the crash, and the crash is causing the the file in root.

fix it by changing default media player to vlc (default is vlc1 which is the wrapper)

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ddpicard

Joined: 09 Jan 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu 06 Nov 2014, 10:30    Post subject:  

666philb, thank you for the reply. I should have thought about quickpet. That is why I don't like to ask questions. It's always a simple answer that makes me feel stupid. I have a habit of making things more complicated than they are.

Installed them and have virtualbox running.

Thanks again,
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 06 Nov 2014, 14:11    Post subject:  

666philb,

Just wondering how many bug fixes and updates provided by Quickpet, before you just release a new updated Tahrpup iso?

Maybe put a warning message in the first post of this topic advising to run Quickpet->Info->Tahrpup bug fixes
To have it fully updated. Idea

Run Quickpet->Info->Update Quickpet also Idea

Question about proper operation procedures.
In Quickpet->Info
Do you need to run "Update Quickpet" before running "Tahrpup bug fixes"?
Are they completely independent operations?

By the way, Love Quickpet and these two features!!!

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
xanad


Joined: 28 Feb 2014
Posts: 400
Location: 2 locations: MonteRosa Alp and Milano

PostPosted: Fri 07 Nov 2014, 05:12    Post subject:  

@666 philb,
congrats Very Happy
Avaiable the italian langpack updated
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94195
-----
A little question, do you know how internazionalize quickpet? Normally gettext not works... if I edit the file, after save, when I click 'small version' quickpet disappears.

_________________
www.xanad.tk Html5 Parallax

Last edited by xanad on Sat 08 Nov 2014, 06:57; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1268

PostPosted: Fri 07 Nov 2014, 08:50    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
hi vicmz,

i just checked with vlc and see what you mean. vlc in tahrpup is launched with a wrapper created by shinobar that disables the screensaver and it seems like this is causing the crash, and the crash is causing the the file in root.

fix it by changing default media player to vlc (default is vlc1 which is the wrapper)


It works, thanks. Very Happy

Palemoon works just like Firefox! I could install my favourite extensions and had no issues.

_________________
Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Advnaser

Joined: 18 Feb 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 07 Nov 2014, 13:45    Post subject: Palemoon is Resource-hundry  

Hi all

I like everything about tahrpup 6 except the browser palemoon. IMHO, seamonkey is the best browser for puppy. Scrolling is pathetic in palemoon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 07 Nov 2014, 14:47    Post subject:  

Quote:
Scrolling is pathetic in palemoon.

I noticed that also on the first bootup.
Using the Nvidia driver, for my graphics hardware, seemed to make a big difference.

I am thinking graphics acceleration is the factor affecting this.

After changing to the Nvidia driver graphics acceleration went from around 300 fps to 1300 fps.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mmxii

Joined: 07 Nov 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri 07 Nov 2014, 15:28    Post subject:  

This distro rocks! Quick question though, sometimes when I reboot (running Puppy 6.0 from a 4GB flash drive) my sound cards swap (I have 3). When I first ran setup I found my card to be hw2 but when I rebooted it changed to hw1 in the multi card setup and gave me no sound. It was easy to fix but I'm wondering why it swaps my cards around. Anyone know? Also, if anyone is having the over 65000% volume error I have an easy fix if anyone needs to know it Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3913
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Fri 07 Nov 2014, 17:15    Post subject: Openboxplus 1.6,1 in tahrpup 6.0 (nopae)
Subject description: Throwing Baby out with Bath water
 

Hi All,

vicmz wrote:

I advise not to use any of my Openbox pets in Tahrpup, they either won't work or not as expected. I installed Openbox and Lxpanel from the PPM and they're running fine, but Obconf requires GTK3 to be installed, so I installed Lxappearance along with Obconf. It seems Lxpanel requires GTK3, too, for applying some GTK themes properly. For example, I used this theme and the desktop pager went invisible.


I'm running tahrpup 6.0 nopae into which I installed vicmz's Openboxplus 1.6.1 using lxpanel and his gtk_theme_collection-20130511, I installed these from "storage" on my hard drive, having previously downloaded them from vicmz post. I haven't run into any problems. YET. But then I haven't attempted to install GTK3 themes. And I only just noticed that openboxplus 1.6.1 has been dropped from the thread, being replaced by openboxplus 1.6.2. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=703730#703730. Posts near the end of the thread indicate that the "upgrade" included fixes to accommodate the needs of Wheezy 1.2.
New is not always better. Some new applications require gtk3. But Puppy will happily operate with both gtk3 and gtk2 installed.
Openboxplus is my favorite GUI for OS control. Might I suggest (a) re-instating 1.61 for other than Wheezy Pups, and (b) including advice on the first post of that thread that when used with tahrpup gtk3 themes should be avoided.
A link to this post was placed on the Openboxplus thread.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4439
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 07 Nov 2014, 18:18    Post subject:  

1. Using tahr-6.0-CE_PAE.iso
Intending to make a multi-session DVD-RW, burned the iso image to the DVD-RW disk.
Booted just fine on 2012 desktop PC, looking good, really FAST!
Seems to have all I could desire.

2. Configured it to my liking; took quite a lot of time and effort, but well worth it.

3. At reboot, expected to be given choice to make multi-session disk, but NO!
Only offered option of making pupsave.
I chose no hoping the next step would offer multi-session.
Again NO!
It shut down and I lost all my configurations/installs. Sad

4. Is there a way to make a multi-session DVD-RW with Tahrpup?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Nov 2014, 03:02    Post subject:  

I usually make the disc multi-session as part of doing the iso image burn to the disc.
One of the choices when you run the burning program.
capture27967.png
 Description   
 Filesize   33.8 KB
 Viewed   1670 Time(s)

capture27967.png


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1799
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 08 Nov 2014, 04:11    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
peebee wrote:
Unable to type the required savefolder number when the list is displayed

i've noticed this on my desktop .... and solved it by swapping usb ports for the keyboard .... it's odd that it's only with save to folder!
Just did a test of this, and on my computer the problem occurs with 2 savefiles as well as 2 savefolders.
I use a usb keyboard with my laptop, and the usb keyboard is ignored, but the actual laptop keyboard still works.
Just realised that this is a safe environment for testing the problem, hopefully have more to report later.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4439
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 08 Nov 2014, 05:26    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
I usually make the disc multi-session as part of doing the iso image burn to the disc.
One of the choices when you run the burning program.

Yes, [I'm pretty certain] I did that, BUT...
All that does [surely] is to leave the DVD-RW open/unclosed so that it is POSSIBLE to make multi-sessions.
Having done that it would be possible to either make [or NOT make] multi-sessions.
I wanted to make them by saving the changes to folders on the optical disk [rather than a pupsave file or a save folder on an internal HDD or USB Flash Drive], but it seemed no such option was available/offered.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Sat 08 Nov 2014, 05:31    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:

I wanted to make them by saving the changes to folders on the optical disk [rather than a pupsave file or a save folder on an internal HDD or USB Flash Drive], but it seemed no such option was available/offered.

If you mean that you want Savefolder in a multisession DVD, it is not possible.
A Savefolder requires a linux file system and the DVD file system is not one of them.

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 120 [1788 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 118, 119, 120 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.3195s ][ Queries: 13 (0.1043s) ][ GZIP on ]