Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 12:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Running programs from Rox
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 22:08    Post_subject:  Running programs from Rox  

This always confuses me (not difficult)
I have a shell script that can be called from the command line with

./lobster.sh

but does not run when clicked on from rox
I have set the permissions and the run features (with Rox) but maybe I should use the command line?

What would I type in or do? Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Bancobusto


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 168
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 22:17    Post_subject:  

Lobster, that's strange.

I created a script called midnight-commander.

I can click on it inside ROX and it does what I want it to.
Code:
#!/bin/sh
aterm -tr -trsb -sh 50 -fg white -e mc


What is your script? Maybe I don't understand...

Ah, I don't. A shell command. I guess I'm not being very helpfull Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
doopdoop

Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 48
Location: Magdeburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 22:30    Post_subject:  

What does your script do ?
If it is supposed to generate some output to the console, which you want to see, you have to make sure it is run in an rxvt or another xterm. Otherwise the script does not where to put it's output and runs quietly.
My workaround in ROX is to name each script, which I want to run in an xterm, with an .sh and associate the following run action with the type x-sh:
Code:

 xterm -e "$1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bancobusto


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 168
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 22:36    Post_subject:  

That's very well put. I think that that was what I was going to try and say next.

doopdoop, thanks again for all your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 23:03    Post_subject:  

doopdoop wrote:
What does your script do ?
[/code]


It calls and displays text using gxmessage (a new dotpup)

Code:
#!/bin/sh
gxmessage -file communication.txt -buttons Next -bg yellow -name IRC_from_Anywhere -nearmouse &
gxmessage -file info.txt -buttons Next -bg green -name Info -nearmouse &
gxmessage -file imagewiki.txt -buttons Next -bg pink -name Image -nearmouse &

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 00:04    Post_subject:  

a file with a filename extension .sh will execute the rox run-action that was setup for it

like an .mp3 file can be setup to run xmms if it's clicked

an ordinary executable file is not using rox's run-action system

so an executable file named click-me may behave differently from a file name click-me.sh

the difference is that a .sh file's working directory will be $HOME ... an ordinary executable file's working directory will be the dir the executable is in

if you rename your file lobster instead of lobster.sh, it might work

you can see what working dir the executable is using by putting this line in the file:

gxmessage "`pwd`"

(or xmessage)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 02:38    Post_subject:  

GuestToo wrote:

if you rename your file lobster instead of lobster.sh, it might work
(or xmessage)


Laughing Changing it turned it into a cog - runnable prog. It works!

thanks everyone

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0545s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]