Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 14 Oct 2019, 19:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Use old Skype version after 01.08.2014
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 9 [124 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
ahoogakev@gmail.com

Joined: 10 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 12 Nov 2014, 12:28    Post subject: using Skype on Puppy Linux version 5
Subject description: How to update in 30 Days
 

Hello my name is Kevin and I am not very good at Puppy Linux and I have GREAT trouble to understand these tech forums, becuase they are often over my head.

By some miracle I was able to follow the instruction on page 1 and get a working old Skype version 4.2 working on my computer, horray and thanks so much!

I did not quite succeed by doing it as suggested, though ;as I ended up installing version 4 .2 0. 11 as old Skype but your instructions recommended 4.2.0.13 .... I also ended up with 3 Skype files in that folder Bin something or maybe USR BIn , I forget. Since it works I am scared to delete any of them that part is ok. I am simply making the point that even though it now works it does not mean I understand it , as really I dont.

What I'd really like help with now, is doing whatever it is I am supposed to do in 20 to 25 days to prevent myself from going through all this again ( it took me over a week of reading and doing on your Forum with MANY failed attempts before this worked for me, my poor head is still spinning.).

On page 1 it says more less to quote "after 25-26 days setup again your account with Skype-4.3.0.37 and replace /root/.Skype folder with the new one. "

I do not understand what "setup your account with Skype 4.3.0.37 " means. I did find the hidden file / root / .Skype and I copied it into a desktop folder....could continous copying of that desktop folder every 20 days into /root/Skype keep me running? I know I have both versions of Skype installed becuase I can see them listed in the Puppy package manager.

When I click on Start / Internet / Skype the old 4.2 one starts up, and everything works ( including microphone which is what wont work on 4.3 for me).

I hope this makes sense and I hope someone can reply in REALLY simple terms to tell me how to keep Skype working for past 20 days. I need Skype for about 6 months as my brother has travelled to the USA for winter and I am in Canada and hope to talk without going bankrupt using traditional phones. Thanks so much for all help in advance! Kevin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5623
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Wed 12 Nov 2014, 14:44    Post subject:  

Hi Kevin, my understanding would be this:
- If your skype is working ok now, just keep using it as is, until it stops and tells you it cant log in.
- At that time run skype 4.3 again (just once) and sign in, making sure to tick the "log me in when skype starts" tickbox.
- Let it come online and show your contacts, then quit skype4.3 (Make sure you "Quit" - not "logout")
- Start skype 4.2 and it will carry on as normal using the login details already provided by the 4.3 login. (The 4.2 version won't ask you at this time to provide your username/password because it can see that the .skype folder contains the details it needs)

I don't think you should be too worried about what happens in 20-30 days - the Skype server will simply discard the current login validation details at that time and ask you to log in again.

If you wanted to you could do the "version 4.3 login" thing before the 30 day timeout and it should start the 30 day counter from zero again. (To be honest I am not sure if it counts 30 days, or uses "calender month" boundaries).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ahoogakev@gmail.com

Joined: 10 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 12 Nov 2014, 15:48    Post subject:  

Thanks for replying to my query Sir, I understand it all EXCEPT I dont know how I would start the old version of Skype? All I do now is click Start / Internet / and click on a Skype icon , and the old one comes up, how would I deliberately start the old one? Thanks You Kevin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 12 Nov 2014, 16:18    Post subject: Re: using Skype on Puppy Linux version 5
Subject description: How to update in 30 Days
 

Hi, Kevin.
Quote:
I do not understand what "setup your account with Skype 4.3.0.37 " means. I did find the hidden file / root / .Skype and I copied it into a desktop folder....could continous copying of that desktop folder every 20 days into /root/Skype keep me running?

Unfortunately it will not work and I do not recommend to wait till starting old skype version tells you that you can't login. It is possible to bring some more troubles for you.
When you login with latest skype you get creditentals key valid for 30 days. When you try to login after creditentals key expires you will be surprised you can't login even with latest Skype anymore. Possible you will get message your account is blocked because skype suspects someone uses your account on different computer. Then you will have to write skype support and answer questions like:
When did you create your account - year and month?
Name 3 contacts from your account?
In one-two days you will be asked few more questions like those and if all looks correct your account will be unblocked. This procedure takes 3 days.

To make the things easier for you I suggest when you copy /root/.Skype to Desktop rename the one on the desktop adding the login with Skype 4.3.0.37 date (for example - .Skype-12.11.2014). And when 8-10.12.2014 comes delete /root/.Skype folder. Then start skype 4.3.0.37 to setup the account to autologin again and make new copy on Desktop adding the date.
If it is not clear enough I will try to explain it better.

To make sure you will start old skype version for example rename the executable file skype-old. Then you will have /usr/bin/skype (latest skype) and /usr/bin/skype-old (older skype). Typing in terminal skype-old will start the older version. Typing skype will start lates version.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ahoogakev@gmail.com

Joined: 10 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 12 Nov 2014, 18:10    Post subject: skype
Subject description: using old skype 4 2 on Puppy Linux
 

Thanks for your reply Mr Saintless. I understand most of what you told me. I am confused by the naming of Skpes in the Usr / Bin /Skypes folder. I messed it up when I attempted to do step #3 on the first page, I eventually found a 29MB file as #3 instruction tells me to, and I put it in that Usr / Bin folder...this 29MB file has an Icon that looks like a dog bone to me ( I am sorry I don't know how to tell them apart).I named it SkypeKev. I have another file named Skype in there,its Icon is like a computer screen.I have still another in there I 've named Skypeold and it also has an icon looking like a monitor . Although I named it only a few days ago I already dont recall what it was, becuase it is overkill for my poor brain following all these instructions and I did everything quite a few times until all at once it worked.
But I understand the basic idea, one of those 3 Skypes in Usr/ Bin is actually my 4 .2 one now, correct? And one of them is the 4.3 one, and one is ????? So can I figure out which is which right now just by typing skypeKev, Skype and Skypeold in my terminal and seeing what happens, or will this mess everything up? I am guessing what I labled Skypeold might be my 4.3 but I screw so many things up I dont trust myself an inch, and what the dog bone one is is beyond me, Thanks a lot Kevin PS to all you experts out there, I bet reading my messages gives you a great idea how totally confusing it is to be a non -linux guy try to do Linux, its a very scary proposition especially when you have a four second memory like me! I really appreciate you taking time to help me some days its fun but sometimes I am really frustrated.It took me a terribly long time to figure out what the terminal was for example and how to get to it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 13 Nov 2014, 04:12    Post subject: Re: skype
Subject description: using old skype 4 2 on Puppy Linux
 

Hi, Kevin.
You can find easy the version of each skype by typing the name and --version in terminal. It will not start skype but just shows output with version in terminal. Mine is 2.2.0.35 for example and I type skype --version in terminal and press Enter:
Code:
skype --version
Skype 2.2.0.35
Copyright (c) 2004-2011, Skype Limited


Just check the exact names (are they skypeKev, Skype and Skypeold) and you can do the same by typing:
Code:
skypeKev --version

Code:
Skype --version

Code:
Skypeold --version

If you need more help just ask here.

Edit: To make sure checking the right file it is better to use full path to skype. If all files are in /usr/bin then the commands are:
Code:
/usr/bin/skypeKev --version

Code:
/usr/bin/Skype --version

Code:
/usr/bin/Skypeold --version


Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ahoogakev@gmail.com

Joined: 10 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu 13 Nov 2014, 13:21    Post subject: skype
Subject description: making skype work on puppy linux
 

Hi Saintless ; Thanks for your help; ok I tried typing in the Terminal Version command and when I type in /usr/bin/skype I get version 4 2 0 11 , and when I type in /usr/bin/skypeold I also get 4 2 0 11 ....when I type in /usr/bin/skypeKev it comes back saying cannot do it due to missing library libQTdbus.so.4. But the puppy package manager shows I have version 4 3 0 37 lucid installed and I know I had it installed becuase at one point it was starting up and I could not get the microphone to work.( Thats why I backed up to using the old version).
So now all I have to figure out, is how to start 4 3 0 37 version - any suggestions for finding and doing that? I am thinking its in my computer somewhere but I have no clue where.Thanks so much for all your kind help ! Kevin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 13 Nov 2014, 14:57    Post subject: Re: skype
Subject description: making skype work on puppy linux
 

Quote:
But the puppy package manager shows I have version 4 3 0 37 lucid installed and I know I had it installed becuase at one point it was starting up and I could not get the microphone to work.( Thats why I backed up to using the old version).

Hi, Kevin.

Unfortunately I do not use Puppy much and I can't guide you how to fix this problem easy in Puppy. Maybe someone else will help you better soon.
From your post I guess you have Puppy Lucid installed. What I can suggest is:
1. Back up /root/.Skype again (I think you already have backup copy on Desktop).
2. Rename /usr/bin/skype to /usr/bin/skype42
3. Uninstall skype 4.3.0.37 from Puppy Package Manager and install it again from this pet (I guess if you skip uninstalling and install on top the new pet will work also):
http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks/skype-4.3.0.37-lucid.pet

Now typing skype in terminal should start skype-4.3.0.37.
Typing skype42 should start skype-4.2.0.11
If something goes wrong just delete /root/.Skype and copy there the backup copy from Desktop. Starting skype 4.2.0.11 should autologin fine till someone else gives better advice how to fix the problem with skype 4.3.0.37 in Puppy Lucid. Just give some more details like is it really Puppy Lucid and frugal or full install.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ahoogakev@gmail.com

Joined: 10 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri 14 Nov 2014, 02:12    Post subject: skype
Subject description: skype
 

Hi Saintless; Ok I will try your method, but I am going to wait 20-25 days until I do, so if I mess up I will at least gave enjoyed Skype for a month. Thanks so much for all your kind help! Kevin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ahoogakev@gmail.com

Joined: 10 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri 14 Nov 2014, 02:14    Post subject: skype
Subject description: skype
 

hi Saintless; Ok i will try your method, but I will wait 20-25 days before I do, so if I mess up I at least will have enjoyed Skype for a month. Thanks a lot, Kevin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5623
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Mon 29 Dec 2014, 14:49    Post subject:  

I have modified my skype combo pet (for slacko 5.6) so that there is now a longer time available for the user to enter their login details and tick the "keep me signed in" checkbox. I found that the previous 30 second window did not give me enough time if I had enjoyed a glass of wine Smile

EDIT : I should mention that I only use skype in a "Live puppy session" - in other words I do not keep a savefile. That way I avoid retaining any login traces from each skype session.

New version of the pet is here:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/odxu2ccmud6qcxy/skypecomboslacko56_gg-1.5.pet

New version of the sfs here:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/0fd5i76ubpnzz77/skypecomboslacko56_gg-1.5.sfs

Usage method described here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=800952#800952

Basically it uses skype 4.3 for the login, then automatically stops it and starts skype 4.2 so that it can run with the standard puppy alsa, instead of mucking round with pulseaudio.

New login timeout is 45 seconds, so be sure to wait till that has timed out before making calls.

Here's how it works:

1) Just install the pet or the sfs
(if you use the sfs choose 'skypelogin' when it asks you)
(If you use the pet choose 'skypelogin' from the internet menu)

2) You'll get 45 seconds during which time you must do the following:
- agree to the skype terms
- enter your username and password
- tick the 'log me in each time skype starts' (tiny checkbox visble at bottom of login screen when you enter your username/password)
- click 'login'

Skype 4.3 will log you in and display your contacts, then at the end of the 45 seconds it will close down and automatically login Skype 4.2 (which will run with alsa instead of needing pulseaudio as 4.3 does)
.

Last edited by greengeek on Wed 14 Jan 2015, 05:49; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 29 Dec 2014, 15:05    Post subject:  

Thanks, Greengeek!
First post link changed to the new packages.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4868
Location: Blue Springs, MO

PostPosted: Mon 29 Dec 2014, 17:55    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
I have modified my skype combo pet (for slacko 5.6) so that there is now a longer time available for the user to enter their login details and tick the "keep me signed in" checkbox. I found that the previous 30 second window did not give me enough time if I had enjoyed a glass of wine Smile
wait, you removed the feature that prevents drunk-dialing
_________________
Check out my github repositories. I may eventually get around to updating my blogspot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5623
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jan 2015, 13:18    Post subject:  

Just edited my post above to note that I use these skype pets and sfs in 'live session' only, so that way I avoid any skype config/login details being retained by a savefile.

In general I do not use any savefiles at all and rely on having my personalisations set up as a readonly sfs. For skyping I have made a puppy with this 'no-savefile' structure if anyone wants to try it. Details here. It is weighty because it also includes Softmaker Freeoffice so really needs 1gig of ram if the user wants to run the personalisation script. Otherwise it will run on lower ram just as a live CD without personalisations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 294
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 12 Jan 2015, 13:51    Post subject:  

Thanks OP.

This works great. Using the 4.2 from the OP and the latest Skype to login.

Great work. Smile

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 [124 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1711s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0454s) ][ GZIP on ]