Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 04:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Grainy desktop on IBM Thinkpad...
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
howard

Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Posts: 61
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina, US

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 18:26    Post subject:  Grainy desktop on IBM Thinkpad...  

I need to ask this question again for two reasons:
1. The singular response I received to my previous append was not informative beyond what I already knew, and
2. I refuse to give up on Puppy.

I inherited an IBM Thinkpad laptop iSeries 1400 [Machine Type 2611-411], with a 4gig hard drive and 160MB of SODIMM memory. I have run Puppy successfully on many desktop machines and thought it would be perfect for this vintage 1998 laptop.

It booted up fine from the CD, and I answered the three questions regarding language, mouse type, scroll wheel. However, when the GUI desktop appeared, it was all mottled and grainy. The Video Wizard window was up but God-awful difficult to read. Nevertheless I clicked on each of the resolution option buttons along the bottom of the window but none corrected the problem.

Any suggestions? Does this laptop need some kind of funky unusual video driver? Is the amount of memory perhaps deficient? I have a 128MB SODIMM on order to bump the memory to the maximum of 256MB.

Thanks.
Howard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bancobusto


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 168
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 18:35    Post subject:  

Perhaps the Framebuffer modules would help you?

Search the forum for "Framebuffer" - I seem to recall a couple of people having success with it.

Good luck, hope that helps a bit Smile

Edit; You should have more than enough memory - I only have 128MB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 20:24    Post subject:  

This laptop has a NeoMagic video chipset that is not vesa compliant. By all means, use a Puppy version with the frame buffer package built in. This should help a lot. I remember that one of the development guys made such a Puppy package, but I can't remember who.

You could also build Puppy on another system and add the packages, then remaster a cd that should also work. I will have to look around and see if the wiki has more information on this.

Take a look at this post.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0435s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]