Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 19 Sep 2019, 09:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Flash 11.2.202.442 crashes in Firefox 35.0.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [50 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1910
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 11 Feb 2015, 01:08    Post subject:  

@BK

I would try to put the seamonkey dir in the library path. Try to launch seamonkey by a script like the following one:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/path-to/seamonkey:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
exec /path-to/seamonkey/seamonkey


This script could be your /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser.

You can untar the seamonkey tarball where you want:

ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/seamonkey/releases/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moat


Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 966
Location: Mid-mitten

PostPosted: Sat 14 Feb 2015, 17:40    Post subject:  

Moat wrote:
... this Flash 10.3 appears to be working fine (although a more thorough test will have to wait 'til my next flirt with WiFi...)


Finally got the chance for a more complete Youtube test on WiFi - all working very smoothly, as hoped.

Thanks again - very much appreciated, mikeb! Smile

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 757

PostPosted: Sat 14 Feb 2015, 23:01    Post subject:  

Thanks darry1966, Semme and watchdog for your suggestions but after due consideration of the work involved and mikeb's and Semme's warning on a related issue:
Quote:
I'm with Mike. You'll spend more time trying to figure this out than you would to "bite the bullet" and reinstall.


I decided to "bite the bullet" and upgrade to tahrpup-6.0.2 which I had been considering anyway. I expected it to be less problematic and have more dependable results. The drawbacks with the upgrade were (1) the loss of the bookmarks for each of 3 browsers I use (seamonkey, palemoon and TOR) and (2) having to hand-copy the long list of installed pets and to install them in the new OS.

I installed the previously downloaded tahrpup-6.0.2. Good news so far:
ndiswrapper was properly installed. I was able to connect first-time. Very Happy Very Happy
installed seamonkey via quickpet and was able to connect to youtube and get sound, Hip Hip Horay! Very Happy However, I found that the version installed is 2.29 not the 2.32 I had installed in the old OS and which was also in quickpet.

666philb, did you quietly remove v2.32 without acknowledgeng a problem?

The version of flashplayer is that OOIB for tahrpup-6.0.2 so seamonkey appeared to have been the problem, at least in my case. But, depemdency check on seamonkey-2.29.1 show these missing libs from ../opt/seamonkey/: libfreedl3.so, libnss3.so, libnssdbm3.so. & libsoftokn3.so - a different set from v 2.32. Confused I'm not going to worry about this as long as I can browse, use composer, listen and download from youtube. Not inhibiting anything I do so far.

I decided I'd worry only about preserving the seamonkey bookmarks. I have exported them but not yet imported them into tahrpup-6.0.2.

I'm currently switching between the 2 versions until the bookmarks are imported and the pets are installed anew. But so far, tahrpup-6.0.2 looks like a keeper that will supplant 6.0.1.


B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.1, slacko-5.7, frugal install, flashdrive boot, 4GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darry1966


Joined: 26 Feb 2012
Posts: 897

PostPosted: Sat 14 Feb 2015, 23:45    Post subject:  

Cool BK hope it works well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11269

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2015, 16:57    Post subject:  

bookmarks....manage bookmarks....tools...restore backup...choose file...grab yer last json backup from the old profiles...much neater than exporting and importing as the lot are restored as they were before.

Those 'missing' libs are there its just the dependency checker does not see them but the browser loads them via its own boot script.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12571
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2015, 18:08    Post subject:  

Quote:
Seamonkey. I found that the version installed is 2.29 not the 2.32 I had installed in the old OS and which was also in quickpet.

666philb, did you quietly remove v2.32 without acknowledgeng a problem?

I think v2.29 has always been the version in Quickpet.

I just installed Seamonkey by using Quickpet.
Yes it is version 2.29, but it is setup to automatically update.

Look in edit->preferences->software install

It updated to V2.32 while I was using it.

You can also go to Help->Check for Updates.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 757

PostPosted: Tue 17 Feb 2015, 12:17    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Quote:
bookmarks....manage bookmarks....tools...restore backup...choose file...grab yer last json backup from the old profiles...much neater than exporting and importing as the lot are restored as they were before.


1. I will try this backup/restore approach. Have done the backup. Later when in tahr-6.0.2 will do the restore and report back.
2. What makes this superior to the export/import? seamonkey provides for both.

Quote:
Those 'missing' libs are there its just the dependency checker does not see them but the browser loads them via its own boot script.


Thanks.

B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.2 PAE, slacko-5.7, frugal install, multi OS flashdrive SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140. 4GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 757

PostPosted: Tue 17 Feb 2015, 12:46    Post subject:  

Quote:
bigpup wrote:
Quote:
B.K. Johnson wrote:
Seamonkey. I found that the version installed is 2.29 not the 2.32 I had installed in the old OS and which was also in quickpet.

666philb, did you quietly remove v2.32 without acknowledgeng a problem?


I think v2.29 has always been the version in Quickpet.

I just installed Seamonkey by using Quickpet.
Yes it is version 2.29, but it is setup to automatically update.


A misumderstanding. Assumed quickpet would have given me the latest version when I download, not dependendent on the auto update. And yes, mine's now updated to 2.32 automatically. But look back to my earlier post about updating from 2.32 and your confirmation then.

B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.2 PAE, slacko-5.7, frugal install, multi OS flashdrive SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140. 4GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1458
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Feb 2015, 16:45    Post subject:  

Moat wrote:
Yup - Adobe, Mozilla, even Avast on Win - all becoming/are unbearably bloated.


Hi...

I've been noticing this, too. It's definitely not an easy situation with older systems. Sad

Regards...

_________________
Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ loves and cares about you most of all!

PLEASE READ! You don't have to end up here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ort cloud

Joined: 18 Feb 2015
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 18 Feb 2015, 14:09    Post subject: pale moon flash
Subject description: vulnerability warning
 

since updating to shockwave Flash I have been presented with a warning that the flash is vulnerable . On checking [tools] > [plugins] I see the entries for shockwave flash 11,2,202,442 last update 1/29/2015
the message from pale moon is:
This plugin is vulnerable and should be updated

Pale Moon has prevented the outdated plugin
"Adobe Flash" from running on www.hulu.com
Update now
[Allow now] [Allow and Remember]
----------end-of-warning-----------------
after click of [Allow now] the app proceeded.
I checked the Adoby site where the date for the latest update is 1/29/2015 but the version number is punctuated with periods as opposed to pale moon reporting the same version number punctuated with commas . Is that it, just a typo ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Wed 18 Feb 2015, 15:25    Post subject:  

ort cloud, please start a new thread for your issue.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11269

PostPosted: Thu 19 Feb 2015, 07:39    Post subject:  

ort cloud...that's a 'feature' of firefox/palemoon/mozilla...they decide what is good for you ...disabling it varies from browser to browser but its blocklist you look out for.

Not having avast at all...that's once less piece of bloatware you don't need that is a major system hog.

@ B.K. Johnson if you use the json backups it totally replaces what there is and exactly duplicates what you had so its just like your previous browser setup. (minus icons which repopulate in use)

The bookmarks export/import method just tags it on to what you have...usually where you dont want it...and then you have to drag and drop around to make it something like....especially noticeable if you use the bookmarks toolbar or better still on the menu bar...

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 757

PostPosted: Sun 22 Feb 2015, 03:31    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Quote:
bookmarks....manage bookmarks....tools...restore backup...choose file...grab yer last json backup from the old profiles...much neater than exporting and importing as the lot are restored as they were before.

B.K. Johmson wrote:
Quote:
1. I will try this backup/restore approach. Have done the backup. Later when in tahr-6.0.2 will do the restore and report back.

Report:
Backed up the bookmarks at the tahr-6 and json created. Booted tahr-6.0.2 and tried to "restore" from the json but it failed twice.
Using export & import succeeded. I saw your reply to my inquiry about the difference between the 2 approaches after the export-import was done, so didn't check if the import added to existing bookmarks.

B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.2 PAE, slacko-5.7, frugal install, multi OS flashdrive SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140. 4GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11269

PostPosted: Sun 22 Feb 2015, 06:02    Post subject:  

There is no json to create...they are in the bookmarkbackups folder in the profile...you pick the latest using the method below.

You use it by using restore backup in bookmarks and choosing file.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 2044
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Feb 2015, 14:19    Post subject:  

But, really, Import/Export as HTML is simple, you get to choose to where to save and where to retrieve from.
_________________
Linux user #498913 "Some people need to reimagine their thinking."
"Zuckerberg: a large city inhabited by mentally challenged people."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [50 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0718s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0109s) ][ GZIP on ]