Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 13 Nov 2019, 07:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky April 7.0 - 7.0.3, 7.0.4, 7.0.4.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 52 [770 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6734
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2015, 01:45    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
I finally got around to doing a frugal install of April64 7.0.2 using the live cd. The installer script worked perfectly....I installed to sdb 3.....probably the easiest Puppy install I've experienced.No problems so far.


A little customizing, just need to remember to save.... Smile

Actually,the saves are really fast.
April64 7.0.2 frugal.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   81.21 KB
 Viewed   1051 Time(s)

April64 7.0.2 frugal.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 239
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2015, 02:53    Post subject: bugs in netstat, hardinfo, xmessage  

Barry,

I have used several Puppies including the latest precise from yourself and the latest slacko. Now I'm running april 7.0.2 live-CD (with 2GB RAM) and these errors are new.

A.
netstat -c -p -a -e -w -u -t -n
netstat: invalid option -- c

netstat -p -a -e -w -u -t -n
netstat: /proc/net/tcp6: No such file or directory
netstat: /proc/net/udp6: No such file or directory
netstat: /proc/net/raw6: No such file or directory

there is IPv4 output (which I have removed) and as I expected no IPv6 output.

B.
hardinfo has no USB info and there's no error in the console that launched it.

C.
xmessage -buttons "will do" -file msg.txt
Warning: Missing charsets in String to FontSet conversion

The message box does appear though.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5496
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2015, 06:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
I would like to find out how low the RAM can be for the live-CD.
There are so many PCs out there with 1MB RAM. It would be nice if the live-CD boots on those.


Yes, it will boot (slowly) into 1Gb and is reasonably speedy thereafter; swap partition available on HD, independent video card(ie no shared mem.: 128MbDDR Radeon).
With 768Mb, "no space left on device", KP, non-blocking pool initialized(?), STOP.
896? Loads of error messages but arrives at CLI. Cannot run xorgwizard without 'no space' & 'Seg fault' messages. Very close - maybe a small SW tweek?
Folks with 1Gb and shared mem. could slot in a 128 strip - plenty of that knocking about at low or zero cost. Even the most basic boards have two slots, so depends on whether the 1Gb is a single strip!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9068
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2015, 20:00    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
James C wrote:
I finally got around to doing a frugal install of April64 7.0.2 using the live cd. The installer script worked perfectly....I installed to sdb 3.....probably the easiest Puppy install I've experienced.No problems so far.


A little customizing, just need to remember to save.... Smile


Actually, you could put the 'savesession' script into /usr/bin/wmpoweroff and wmreboot, so it will save at every shutdown.

Or rather, it will ask, and you can decline if not want to save.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Blackfish


Joined: 26 Feb 2014
Posts: 314
Location: Mostly Southern Nevada and Northern Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2015, 20:25    Post subject:  

Where can I find a LibreOffice that works with Quirky?
_________________
Lenovo G50-45 w/ AMD8 processor | Dell Latitude E5500 w/ Intel Centrino processor--both running slacko64-6.0.1 & bionicpup64-7.9.7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 4013
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2015, 22:00    Post subject:  

Hemmm.. savesession on shutdown what if we could ALSO save that single file back to DVD? DID you know that same name files can be saved to END of already burned DVD-R.. and it would be picked as the newer..
If you mount the DVD with a session number you could go get an earlier session. Rolling Eyes

Just tossing this out there.... Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 4013
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2015, 22:08    Post subject:  

Actually you could also do a delta file between old and new savesession and save just the changes... But thats a bit more coding..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13361
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2015, 23:10    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Guys, a question.

There was an earlier report of Pmusic hanging.

My question is, why do we even have Pmusic in April?

Barry, Pmusic is more than just a media player. I use it to batch-edit the tags of audiobook mp3 files so I can see the author and title of the book I'm listening to (sometimes people ask what I'm listening to and I forget.) I haven't found another way to do that, though I didn't seriously look for one after I figured out how easy it is to do with Pmusic. Please, at least keep the latest version of Pmusic in Puppy's Package Manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcav


Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 80
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2015, 23:48    Post subject: Re: bugs in netstat, hardinfo, xmessage  

zygo wrote:
Barry,

I have used several Puppies including the latest precise from yourself and the latest slacko. Now I'm running april 7.0.2 live-CD (with 2GB RAM) and these errors are new.

A.
netstat -c -p -a -e -w -u -t -n
netstat: invalid option -- c

netstat -p -a -e -w -u -t -n
netstat: /proc/net/tcp6: No such file or directory
netstat: /proc/net/udp6: No such file or directory
netstat: /proc/net/raw6: No such file or directory

there is IPv4 output (which I have removed) and as I expected no IPv6 output.


Thanks


I am also seeing the errors.
Does anyone know if netstat changed? or the kernel changed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1523
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Tue 24 Mar 2015, 01:14    Post subject: Re: bugs in netstat, hardinfo, xmessage  

gcav wrote:
zygo wrote:
Barry,

I have used several Puppies including the latest precise from yourself and the latest slacko. Now I'm running april 7.0.2 live-CD (with 2GB RAM) and these errors are new.

A.
netstat -c -p -a -e -w -u -t -n
netstat: invalid option -- c

netstat -p -a -e -w -u -t -n
netstat: /proc/net/tcp6: No such file or directory
netstat: /proc/net/udp6: No such file or directory
netstat: /proc/net/raw6: No such file or directory

there is IPv4 output (which I have removed) and as I expected no IPv6 output.


Thanks


I am also seeing the errors.
Does anyone know if netstat changed? or the kernel changed?


Not sure what netstat -c is for, it's not in any of my netstat lists as a switch, typo maybe?

The others are all for ip6, ?are you sure you have ip6 enabled, I think maybe not, it needs to be enabled at both ends.

Try
Code:
netstat -a -s -p tcp tcpv6 ipv6 -f
, this should list your tcp stats and connections if they exist for both ip4 and ip6 including ports.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1278

PostPosted: Tue 24 Mar 2015, 01:20    Post subject: Re: bugs in netstat, hardinfo, xmessage  

gcav wrote:
I am also seeing the errors.
Does anyone know if netstat changed? or the kernel changed?

it's not errors, "netstat -c" doesn't exist in busybox. And ip-v6 can be added easily. So not a bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5370
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 24 Mar 2015, 17:30    Post subject:  

There is a bug in JWM snapshot 976

It affects mtpaint and mypaint. Settings toolbar window opens
behind the main window. I've sent a bug report to Joe.

_______________________________________________________

The latest HP mini PC is more linux friendly
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ro4VWSBPJ00

_______________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5370
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2015, 13:06    Post subject:  

When I downloaded and installed stable version 2.2.2 of jwm,
the problems with mtpaint and mypaint disappeared.

Code:

./configure --prefix=/usr
make
make install


http://www.joewing.net/projects/jwm/
______________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9068
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2015, 08:40    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
There is a bug in JWM snapshot 976

It affects mtpaint and mypaint. Settings toolbar window opens
behind the main window. I've sent a bug report to Joe.

_______________________________________________________

The latest HP mini PC is more linux friendly
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ro4VWSBPJ00

_______________________________________________


I compile 1040, it still has the bug that you found.

Unfortunately, it has a lot more bugs, breaks our themes.
I posted a bug report:

https://github.com/joewing/jwm/issues/166

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9068
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2015, 08:43    Post subject:  

I have a flash stick that boots on both BIOS and UEFI computers, the latter without needing "legacy boot".

I am using syslinux.

Trying to figure out some peculiarities with the UEFI boot, hope to upload 7.0.3 soon.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 52 [770 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0912s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0194s) ][ GZIP on ]