Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 18:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Can't boot Puppy.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Pita
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 04:57    Post subject:  Can't boot Puppy.  

On 2 computers of mine where knoppix, gnoppix and DSL boot flawlessly from a CD, puppy-1.0.4 hangs. On one computer quite early in the boot on the other when I should choose a keyboard.

You have to do better then that may be change to another dog breed for the opening picture.

Regards

Pita
Back to top
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 05:12    Post subject:  

Before you blame the Puppy, make sure that the issue is not how you downloaded and burned Puppy.

What version did you download?

Did you check the md5sum of the download?

Did you burn the Puppy.iso at 2X or 4X speed?

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 05:29    Post subject:  

Knoppix, gnoppix and DSL all use the same recognition system and at the moment this aspect is still better than Puppys.

I used Knoppix for a long while - installing it on my HD. However I was tinkering. Never found it usable (that is; something I want to use or can use) It really was my first serious attempt to go over to the Linux side of the force . . .

It is great at recognition and very stable. Gnoppix is Knoppix with Gnome interface (which I prefer) Recently looked at DSL which again is something that seems OK - then you have to live with it.. I could not BUT it is improving too.

I keep an eye on DSL and I feel that DSL and Austrumi are great small Linux but I prefer and use Puppy. [shrug] Use is the operative word. I have wanted to and enjoyed using Puppy. For some reason the atmosphere around it, the people, the stability - I dunno but it is teaching me the ways of the Jedi {ahem - ways of the Tux I mean}

Tell us some more about your system and follow any hints.

"Do not underestimate the Force of the Puppy . . ."

Good luck! Smile Hope you sort your system

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mechsus
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 12:10    Post subject:  

Quote:
Recently looked at DSL which again is something that seems OK - then you have to live with it..


Yes, I had a few goes with DSL but also couldn´t live with it. DSL needs to be tidied up, as the GUI is way too dark and way too fiddly and cluttered.

Quote:

and Austrumi are great small Linux but I prefer and use Puppy.


Austrumi is very polished - it´s got the cleanest neatest GUI of all the mini-distro´s (sorry Puppy) - BUT - it´s the ONLY Linux that totally crashes my computer. Even worse than Tindows, sorry to say. After a few Austrumi catastrophies I´ve left it alone.
Back to top
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11184
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 12:50    Post subject:  

You're probably wasting your time, guys; I don't think Pita's coming back.
Last edited by Flash on Wed 03 Aug 2005, 13:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bancobusto


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 168
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 13:19    Post subject:  

Me thinks that your right, Flash Confused

Hey, I just tried Austramie 0.95a - and you're right Mechsus, it froze my machine right away too.

Rebooted. tried again, only this time chose thye option to not cache the CD into Ram -

didn't freeze, but didn't detect my ethernet connection, and couldn't figure out how to set it up (as everything's in Latvian, I think).

B u t . . . .

It does look really nice! Too bad the functionality (for me, at least), wasn't better Very Happy

One thing I have to say though: I really liked the fact that as soon as it had cached the CD into Ram (about 8 or 9 seconds before it froze up on me) it ejected the CD tray... kind of like it was saying "I don't need this anymore, take it away!"...

I would like to see a script like that built into Puppy... I think phsycologically it has a great effect on the person that you're trying to show off the OS to.

Just my 2 cents, I realize that this a little off topic Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11184
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 14:17    Post subject:  

Bancobusto wrote:
Hey, I just tried Austramie 0.95a - and you're right Mechsus, [snip] It does look really nice! Too bad the functionality (for me, at least), wasn't better Very Happy
Any chance you could add a (small) screen shot of Austramie to this post? Perhaps it could be booted up long enough to take a picture of the screen with a digital camera. Or do I have to download it and burn it and boot it just to see what you're talking about? Smile
Quote:
One thing I have to say though: I really liked the fact that as soon as it had cached the CD into Ram (about 8 or 9 seconds before it froze up on me) it ejected the CD tray... kind of like it was saying "I don't need this anymore, take it away!"...

I would like to see a script like that built into Puppy... I think psychologically it has a great effect on the person that you're trying to show off the OS to.

Just my 2 cents, I realize that this a little off topic Laughing
You're right; if you run Puppy from the CD there is no reason for the CD to remain in the machine once Puppy is booted up. Not only that, but it's easy to forget it's in there when you shut down.

Rather than simply eject the CD without warning -- unexpected behavior which might confuse or alarm first-time Puppy users -- perhaps a message could pup up ( Smile ), offering to eject the CD, and explaining why.

I suppose the message could be put in the background image that is shown after Puppy is ready to go. (Another nice feature of Puppy, that. Other OSs and distros put up screen images that suggest the computer is ready to use before it really is. Worse, they don't tell you when it is ready to use.) I don't know how it would be made active though, to click on it to make it go away, or make the CD eject.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bancobusto


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 168
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 14:28    Post subject:  

Flash, I don't have a camera, or I would gladly do so..

There's this though http://www.tuxmachines.org/gallery/albums/austrumi/englishmenu.sized.jpg

It doesn't do as much justice as it should, though. I don't know if I'm using the right words... The sharpness, yes, something, the fonts look a lot nicer, higher screen resolutions are detected for first boot (at lesat for me)... hell, I'm no artist, so can't seem to explain it really.

It's a small download, if you have the bandwidth and the blank CD, give it a go maybe...

Very Happy

http://sourceforge.net/projects/austrumi/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 15:00    Post subject:  

Bancobusto wrote:


didn't freeze, but didn't detect my ethernet connection, and couldn't figure out how to set it up (as everything's in Latvian, I think).


Click on the English flag (one of the menus) and the menus change to English.
Always good to look at other small distros to get ideas and so on . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bancobusto


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 168
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 15:14    Post subject:  

thanks Lobster Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mechsus
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 04 Aug 2005, 00:44    Post subject:  

Would a Puppy ever marry an Austrumi? Their child might be quite nice...
Back to top
Pita
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 04 Aug 2005, 00:52    Post subject: Can't boot Puppy  

danleff wrote:
Before you blame the Puppy, make sure that the issue is not how you downloaded and burned Puppy.

Thanks

What version did you download?

puppy-1.0.4-mozilla

Did you check the md5sum of the download?

Yes and it says OK

Did you burn the Puppy.iso at 2X or 4X speed?


I am using xcdroast with write mode TAO and speed set at 2x. When burning it says speed 4.1

Is there a way to capture the boot output so I could submit the error messages?
Back to top
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 04 Aug 2005, 01:49    Post subject:  

Mechsus wrote:
Would a Puppy ever marry an Austrumi? Their child might be quite nice...


Puppy 1.0.5 is getting a makeover.
http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/PuppyHoliday

(the developers Alpha does not look like this incidentally)

By Using IceWm or fluxbox
we can already achieve
http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/PedigreePuppy

and Pizzapup 1.0.2 had a very stable usage of Icewm

Puppy is the stud. Who is the poodle?

Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bancobusto


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 168
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Thu 04 Aug 2005, 01:57    Post subject:  

erased
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11184
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Aug 2005, 02:13    Post subject: Re: Can't boot Puppy  

Pita wrote:

[snip]
Is there a way to capture the boot output so I could submit the error messages?
Several people have taken pictures of their screens with digital cameras, then cropped the pictures and reduced their resolution so the image is just big enough to read clearly, before posting them to this forum as jpegs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0909s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0133s) ][ GZIP on ]