Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 06 Dec 2019, 21:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
PeasyWiFi - a reliable WiFi connection manager
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 18 [270 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5624
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Thu 09 Apr 2015, 04:55    Post subject:  

Hi rcrsn51 - I used PWF 3.3 today in an effort to help me configure my eth0 (wired) static IP connection but was unable to get it running. I probably didn't do it correctly as I have previously only used PWF for wifi (well that's what it's intended for after all...)

My question is - do you think PWF can help me or should I look for a different method? Here is the situation:

- I frequently have to connect my laptop to a printer directly (via a crossover cable) and I need to set up the laptop for static IP as there is obviously no dhcp router in this configuration (neither the printer nor the laptop is hooked up to a wired or wireless network).

I do this for the purposes of viewing the printers internal webpage interface so that I can test and configure it (I work on a variety of brands and models so this is not brand specific). As far as I can tell I correctly entered the parameters necessary for the static IP to be allocated, but there is a snag - I cannot reboot the laptop, so all I could do was to restart the x server and I really don't feel confident that I was doing what PWF required me to do.

After I tried to set the static parameters I entered ifconfig in a terminal and all it showed was "lo" - no eth0 up at all.

I was using the following parameters:
IP 192.168.16.254 (I am emulating the IP of the gateway as set in the printer)
Mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 0.0.0.0 (this seems to be commonly acceptable in many other situations but not sure if it is applicable here)

I often have to connect to printers that are used on a 10.10.x.x (corporate network) IP range to - so I can't predict exactly what I will need to set as the IP from job to job.

Do you think there is any way I can use PWF to set static IP if I cannot reboot? (the reason I cannot reboot is that my puppy is a Slacko 5.6 derivative that is run in "live mode" with no savefile - once i reboot it will have no idea what PWF did in previous sessions)

Thanks for any thoughts or tips.
cheers!
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12800
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 09 Apr 2015, 07:52    Post subject:  

What method are you currently using to assign your laptop a static IP address? It would be easier to do this from the command line than trying to use PWF.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5624
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Thu 09 Apr 2015, 11:17    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
I am confused by this. At the start, you say that the printer is NOT connected to a network. Then you say that the printer is part of a corporate network.
Sorry, I didn't explain that well enough - when I arrive on site the printer is connected to a network (generally either a 192.168.x.x or 10.10.x.x range), but then I disconnect it from that network and direct connect it to my laptop for testing. I have to set my laptop IP to match whatever the printer range is so that I can communicate to it. (I generally set my laptop IP to the same as the gateway address that is set in the printer, or if no gateway is set in the printer I set the last digit of my IP to be "one" different from the printer IP)

Quote:
What method are you currently using to assign your laptop a static IP address? It would be easier to do this from the command line than trying to use PWF.
95% of the time I use Windows XP for this and manually change the IP in the network adapter TCPIP settings. The other 5% of the time I have been using Dougals network wizard on a Slacko 5.3.3t installation.

However, recently I have been trialling my Slacko 5.6 derivative which has had Dougals classic network wizard removed and replaced by PWF as a trial. I had read some of the earlier comments in this thread about being able to set a static address with PWF so I gave it a go, but the fact that I am not really able to reboot complicates matters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12800
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 09 Apr 2015, 11:21    Post subject:  

Code:
ifconfig eth0 up aaa.bbb.cc.dd netmask 255.255.255.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5624
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Thu 09 Apr 2015, 12:07    Post subject:  

Such simplicity! I hope to have an opportunity to try that at work tomorrow.
Many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12800
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 09 Apr 2015, 12:11    Post subject:  

You might need to use
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up aaa.bbb.cc.dd netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast aaa.bbb.cc.255

or maybe just
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up aaa.bbb.cc.dd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5624
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Fri 10 Apr 2015, 03:44    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up aaa.bbb.cc.dd netmask 255.255.255.0
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up aaa.bbb.cc.dd
Both of these worked well for me. Did the job perfectly. I tried these methods to allow me to hook up to the internal webpage in a Lexmark E460, a Brother MFC8860 and a Konica Magicolor 4750. I also used it with an HP LJP3015 and found I could even print direct to the HP as it actually gives you the ability to select a pdf and pass it through the web interface.

Quote:
You might need to use
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up aaa.bbb.cc.dd netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast aaa.bbb.cc.255
I didnt get time to try this and didn't seem to need it in this case. I will keep it in my notes in case some anomaly requires extra options.

Thank you very much for this handy way to set a static IP - this has given me one more piece of functionality that means I don't have to drop back to XP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1458
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2015, 05:13    Post subject:  

Hi all...

Maybe it's just because it's late and I'm tired but I'm not seeing where to actually download the english .pet (of this program) anywhere.

Can someone post the link, please? Wink

Thanks!

_________________
Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ loves and cares about you most of all!

PLEASE READ! You don't have to end up here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12800
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2015, 08:19    Post subject:  

ardvark wrote:
Can someone post the link, please?

PWF is currently under development. I will post a new version when it is ready.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1458
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2015, 15:11    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
ardvark wrote:
Can someone post the link, please?

PWF is currently under development. I will post a new version when it is ready.


Ah, so it wasn't my imagination. Thanks. Very Happy

Regards....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12800
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2015, 16:03    Post subject:  

PWF v3.5 has three changes.

1. You can now maintain simultaneous DHCP connections to both eth0 and wlan0. This is useful if you are connecting wlan0 to an un-gateway-ed device like a WiFi Direct printer.

------------------

2. There are some improvements to using Enterprise wireless with PEAP.

a. Open the Profiles tab and scan for your network.

b. Select the PEAP button.

c. Fill in the Profile Name and SSID boxes. Leave the Passphrase box empty.

d. Click Make.

e. Click Check. Open your new profile in a text editor.

f. You have two choices for the my_identity and my_password lines. Either fill them in now or provide them when you connect.

g. This is a standard PEAP profile, but there are many variations. You may need to change the profile to match your particular network. Read here for some examples. Or if you have a working wpa_supplicant.conf file, just drop it into the profiles folder and restart PWF.

h. Click Restart. Select the profile and connect as usual.

------------------------

3. The encryption procedure has been simplified.

a. Instead of encrypting just the passphrase, the entire profile.conf file is now encrypted. Old encrypted profiles should be redone using the new method.
b. The PIN entry box on the Connect screen has been removed in favour of a pop-up box when you click Connect.

---------------------------

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Fri 01 Jul 2016, 16:23; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nilsonmorales


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 946
Location: El Salvador

PostPosted: Tue 21 Apr 2015, 11:01    Post subject:  

New spanish translate review.
I know it's too soon but there is no way to make an animated icon in the systray and in another format like svg?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=841391#841391
Cheers.

_________________
My blog | | Github


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12800
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 21 Apr 2015, 11:20    Post subject:  

Thank you for the translation.

What kind of animation would you like? What would it do?

I want to keep PWF compatible with old Puppies where svg icons might not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nilsonmorales


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 946
Location: El Salvador

PostPosted: Tue 21 Apr 2015, 11:38    Post subject:  

Simple things like off/on and signal strength with respect to svg format, you're right.
just keep with your good work, i dont wanna be noisy.

_________________
My blog | | Github


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 2095
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Tue 21 Apr 2015, 21:21    Post subject:  

Using a paint program of choice, the needed svg icons can be shrunk to a few standard sizes 16x16, 22x22, 24x24, 32x32, 48x48, 64x64. Using 'save_as' allows one to toggle from reduced image to normal image. Just substitute the reduced images appropriately (recommended: put in one place then copy each to the needed location)
_________________
Linux user #498913 "Some people need to reimagine their thinking."
"Zuckerberg: a large city inhabited by mentally challenged people."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 18 [270 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0815s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0266s) ][ GZIP on ]