Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Oct 2019, 20:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pBurn 4.3.19
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 146 of 157 [2354 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 144, 145, 146, 147, 148, ..., 155, 156, 157 Next
Author Message
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1779
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sat 07 Feb 2015, 17:32    Post subject:  

Hi don 570
Yes Pburn can delete files .
I prefer using DVD +RW for Videos and other Music or data .You don`t need to delete this DVD type when burning a video for DVD player (you will be asked to overwrite older data).
Dont close the session.
You can burn other data in multi-session way.It means you can add data to previous stored data.
But in "Burn Video" mode there is no multi-session possible.Means older data will be overwritten (if i am correct).
It is also possible to delete and format (completely) a DVD +RW.
Not quite sure what is the exact difference between deleting and formatting.
Deleting is faster but not so complete somehow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 07 Feb 2015, 17:42    Post subject:  

Jasper wrote:
My understanding is that DVD-RW discs need formatting prior to first use whereas DVD+RW discs do not.


I can tell you for certain that I've never knowingly formatted a DVD-RW except to erase it...

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6596
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 28 Mar 2015, 05:19    Post subject:  

Version 4.3.12
See main post

Changelog
- Bugfix: fix the switch -m copy_audio

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1737

PostPosted: Fri 03 Apr 2015, 15:38    Post subject:  

Hey Zigbert

There's a problem with displaying Pburn's SVG icon in Fatdog's menu (razor-panel).
Apparently it doesn't like Version="1.1", but it's perfectly fine with Version="1.0".
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

Also, GTK in Fatdog has some problems with displaying stock icons in window's title bar.
But it's ok if one use the new naming convention, e.g. icon-name=\"media-optical\" instead of icon-name=\"gtk-cdrom\" (more info).
From what I checked it should be backward compatibile.

If it's not much of a hassle and it won't affect other Puppies, it would be nice to have at least the first issue fixed in next release(s).

Thanks &
Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8716
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2015, 18:10    Post subject:  

Yeah, looks like xml version="1.1" is a bug because it's at version 1.0, see here and here even though svg is at version 1.1 (Second Edition).

From my observations, it appears gtk+-2.0 is happy to let the bug through but QT4 and EFL (enlightenment) are not.

NB: if you open svg's in a browser they can give a hint to possible errors.

see screencap
pic.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  pic.jpg 
Filesize  101.11 KB 
Downloaded  293 Time(s) 

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6596
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 07:16    Post subject:  

the svg bug needs visiting - it appears in 280 icons in woof as well.
But before I go fixing all those I will ensure I get it all right.
If I replace version="1.1" with version="1.0", firefox still won't show the icon?

I get the error msg:
This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.


Btw
Slacko 5.7 does not support gtk-media-optical

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1737

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 08:07    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.

The icon displays without error (Chromium) if I use at least this xmlns thing:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<svg height="100" width="100" xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg">

There's usually more stuff (from what I saw in other svg icons):
Code:
<svg
   xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
   xmlns:cc="http://creativecommons.org/ns#"
   xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#"
   xmlns:svg="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg"
   xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg"
   xmlns:xlink="http://www.w3.org/1999/xlink"
   xmlns:sodipodi="http://sodipodi.sourceforge.net/DTD/sodipodi-0.dtd"
   xmlns:inkscape="http://www.inkscape.org/namespaces/inkscape"
   id="svg114"
   sodipodi:version="0.32"
   width="750"
   height="750"
   sodipodi:docbase="/home/mike/Code/xpad/images/hicolor/scalable/apps/"
   sodipodi:docname="xpad.svg"
   inkscape:version="0.46"
   inkscape:output_extension="org.inkscape.output.svg.inkscape"
   version="1.0">

but the one from above was enough in my case.

zigbert wrote:
Slacko 5.7 does not support gtk-media-optical

It's not "gtk-media-optical", just "media-optical" (see screenshot).

According to the previously linked page, this naming scheme is mandatory in GTK+ >=3.10.
I have no idea why in FD (GTK+ 2.24.25) old names don't work. Confused
Btw, here I noticed this issue for the first time.

Greetings!
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   34.48 KB
 Viewed   429 Time(s)

Screenshot.png


_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.

Last edited by SFR on Sun 05 Apr 2015, 08:24; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8716
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 08:21    Post subject:  

Yes I was about to post same... re SFR's post.

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<svg xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg" version="1.1" height="100" width="100">

  <path style="fill:#5E9FCE;stroke:#041E31;stroke-width:4;" d="m 62,4 -22,0 0,35 -36,0 0,21 36,0 0,36 22,0 0,-36 34,0 0,-21 -34,0 z"/>

</svg>


The above opens in browser just fine.

Try it with xml version="1.1"

It doesn't need this extra 'xmlns="..."' stuff for gtk, qt, or efl, just that the xml version is correct. Take a look at the source in any other xml file (eg, rox pinboard, any rss feed) and you see xml version="1.0".

Smile

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6596
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 09:02    Post subject:  

Got the svg knowledge - thanks

Missing some of the gtk thingy...
media-optical works fine for window-title, but inside the widgets (ie. the menu), I have to use gtk-cdrom to get the icon?
Any thoughts?
How is this in FD?

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6596
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 09:11    Post subject:  

Got it

SFR wrote:
technosaurus wrote:
--disable-deprecated

Hmm, in 2.24.24 I didn't find any option in ./configure that alludes to this.
The problem appears to be more complex and mysterious, because for most of widgets (tree, menuitem, button, etc.) the old naming still does the job...

Greetings!

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6596
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 09:19    Post subject:  

Version 4.3.13
See main post

Changelog
- Bugfix: Icon in window heading in Fatdog (thanks to SFR)
- Bugfix: Correct xml/svg info for app icon (thanks to SFR)

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1737

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 09:27    Post subject:  

Thanks! Smile

Yeah, in all widgets, except <window>, old naming (and only old naming) works ok.

It's kinda confusing and I don't like it, but I still can't tell is this a bug in GTK or the way GTK was compiled, or in something GTK related, or Fatdog itself, or was it intentional change (hopefully not!).

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 769

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 01:12    Post subject: Does pBurn do "volume leveling" when burning audio cd  

Zigbert


EDIT
WITHDRAWN FOR LACK OF DEVELOPER INTEREST/RESPONSE

B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.2 PAE, slacko-5.7, frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM

Last edited by B.K. Johnson on Tue 12 May 2015, 19:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3420
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 10:46    Post subject: pburn tahrpup and missing ffmpeg  

Hi all,

B.K. Johnson opened a thread with:
"@666Philb
I want to make an audio cd from some mp3 files.
pBurn-3.7.18 (version OOTB) requires ffmpeg but what am I to choose from tje PPM? Or should I update to latest pBun-4.3.13?"

Flash advised him to post his inquiry to this thread and locked the aforementioned thread.

I noticed that among the Pups B.K. Johnson was running was Tahrpup.

On the assumption that he will post here, or that others may run into similar difficulty, and that it may relate to attempting to use pBurn, any version, under Tahrpup, the information on the following link may be at the root of the problem, and provide a solution: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=795377&sid=94fc8ab3c47986857a5224ca90454b93#795377

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 769

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 14:20    Post subject:  

@mikeslr
Thanks for forwarding my query about my inability to burn an audio cd because of missing ffmprg.

Your assumption that I am running tahrpup-6.0.2 is correct.

I will respond from now on in this thread. I do believe however that it is a tahrpup issue as ...OOTB and pburn not an installed pet.

Looking back in this thread, backi reports on missing ffmpeg in tahrpup-6.02 preventing burn of Videos to DVD with Pburn .
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=826537#826537
and ffestus made a recommendation here.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=826541#826541
When I thought the Firefox Add-on, DownloadHelper, needed ffmpeg, I installed that ffmpeg but it didn't work. I went no further when 666philb (or peebee) correctly posted that it wasn't necessary as aconv worked with the add-on. The add-on may have rejected the suggested ffmpeg because the author's name was included in the name. I am reluctant to try it again without first backing up my pupsave, although backi reported success with it.

I agree with backi's comment:
Quote:
But should be implemented in the iso....

This one slipped by 666philb Sad and it's back to bite him again Smile .
________________________________________________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.2 PAE, slacko-5.7, frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 146 of 157 [2354 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 144, 145, 146, 147, 148, ..., 155, 156, 157 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.4744s ][ Queries: 13 (0.4181s) ][ GZIP on ]