How to connect PCs in a network?

Problems and successes with specific brands/models of networking hardware.
Post Reply
Message
Author
der-schutzhund
Posts: 1045
Joined: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 22:07
Location: Blomberg / Germany

How to connect PCs in a network?

#1 Post by der-schutzhund »

Hey together

to save data of approximately 20 PuppyPCs in a network, I'd like to know how I can most easily be integrated into my own PC?

Accessing a Windows PC I can do with:

code:
mount -t cifs-FULL //192.168.020.010/linuxtest / mnt / update -o username = xxxxx, password = xxxxx

The IPs of NetzPC I know, of course, and the host name is puppypc460.
But what made with username and password?

LG

Wolfgang

der-schutzhund
Posts: 1045
Joined: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 22:07
Location: Blomberg / Germany

#2 Post by der-schutzhund »

Code: Select all

mount-FULL -t cifs //192.168.108.101/test /mnt/update -o username=linux,password=linux
This command I can copy files from a Windows XP with NTFS for Puppy Linux.
With what command I can copy files from one another Puppy Linux PC via LAN?
Can anyone answer me the question or is that too trivial for you?

Wolfgang

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#3 Post by bigpup »

The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

der-schutzhund
Posts: 1045
Joined: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 22:07
Location: Blomberg / Germany

#4 Post by der-schutzhund »

Hi bigpup,

with this

Code: Select all

python -m SimpleHTTPServer
it works fine. With samba it is much more complicated and does not work as desired. The download works with "python -m SimpleHTTPServer".
Now I am looking for only a simple solution to transfer files to load on the server.

Wolfgang

der-schutzhund
Posts: 1045
Joined: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 22:07
Location: Blomberg / Germany

#5 Post by der-schutzhund »

Hi,

have found the perfect solution!
With SimpleHTTPServerWithupload.py also works the upload immediately and without any configuration!

Wolfgang

Post Reply