GetFlash install Flashplayer

Browsers, email, chat, etc.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
ASRI éducation
Posts: 3197
Joined: Sat 09 May 2009, 12:10
Location: France
Contact:

#81 Post by ASRI éducation »

The size of the archive proposed by Adobe is not displayed on the screenshot of Argolance (see above).
I have the same problem.
Someone has an idea?
Attachments
non_displayed_size.png
(5.53 KiB) Downloaded 4171 times
Projet ASRI éducation => [url=http://asri-education.org/]Association[/url] | [url=http://forum.asri-education.org/]Forum[/url] | [url=http://dl01.asri-education.org/]Dépôt[/url] | [url=http://kids.asri-education.org/]Espace kids[/url]

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#82 Post by Argolance »

Bonsoir,
@ASRI éducation
I noticed something which seems to be a small error in the code line number 130:

Code: Select all

     if [ $NEWMB -gt 0 ] ; then
       L=$(echo -n $NEWMB | wc -c)
       M=$(($L -1))
       NEWMB="$(echo $NEWMB -n | cut -c-$M).$(echo -n $NEWMB | cut -c$L)MB"
     else NEWFB='---'
     fi
NEWFB instead of NEWMB.
If modified, it looks like what the picture above shows: this is probably normal.
Is it another very minor one (line 81)?:

Code: Select all

--placement center
which may be:

Code: Select all

-placement center
Is eval missing (and . gettext.sh) at line 296? (this prevents string to be correctly translated):

Code: Select all

        TEXT=$(gettext "The Adobe Flash Player has been downloaded to\n/usr/lib${lsuffix}/mozilla/plugins\nYou will need to exit from your web browser and restart it for the player to load")
Cordialement.
Attachments
150310_221408_275x39_easyshot.png
(3.27 KiB) Downloaded 4158 times

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#83 Post by BarryK »

Argolance wrote:Bonsoir,
@ASRI éducation
I noticed something which seems to be a small error in the code line number 130:

Code: Select all

     if [ $NEWMB -gt 0 ] ; then
       L=$(echo -n $NEWMB | wc -c)
       M=$(($L -1))
       NEWMB="$(echo $NEWMB -n | cut -c-$M).$(echo -n $NEWMB | cut -c$L)MB"
     else NEWFB='---'
     fi
NEWFB instead of NEWMB.
If modified, it looks like what the picture above shows: this is probably normal.
Is it another very minor one (line 81)?:

Code: Select all

--placement center
which may be:

Code: Select all

-placement center
Is eval missing (and . gettext.sh) at line 296? (this prevents string to be correctly translated):

Code: Select all

        TEXT=$(gettext "The Adobe Flash Player has been downloaded to\n/usr/lib${lsuffix}/mozilla/plugins\nYou will need to exit from your web browser and restart it for the player to load")
Cordialement.
Argolance,
Thanks, I have put your fixes in.

Also, yaf-splash (gtkdialog-splash) is deprecated in Quirky, so I have put in a test for existence of 'popup', which will be used if it exists.
The fallback, if neither popup nor yaf-splash exist, is still gxmessage.

Now up to '-4':

http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/quirky ... -1.5-4.pet
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
ASRI éducation
Posts: 3197
Joined: Sat 09 May 2009, 12:10
Location: France
Contact:

#84 Post by ASRI éducation »

I appreciate, I use and I thank the contributors of 'getflash'.
I would therefore suggest some changes.

Code: Select all

#150315 ASRI: try to improve main GUI, improve gettext, add conf file. And more...
I only changed the interface. I feel that it's better, but of course it's subjective.

My only problem is that I can not display the installed version: see screenshot (getflash-1.5-5_b.png) after "v" the version is not informed.
The problem seems to be related to the 'strings' command (line 54). If someone has an idea.

Code: Select all

# getflash 
/usr/sbin/getflash: ligne 54: strings : commande introuvable
INSTALLED=
Regards
Attachments
getflash-1.5-5.pet
(11.3 KiB) Downloaded 790 times
getflash-1.5-5_NLS.pet
current = fr
(3.07 KiB) Downloaded 580 times
getflash-1.5-5_b.png
problem to show version of installed flahplayer
(42.89 KiB) Downloaded 3777 times
getflash-1.5-5_a.png
(40.75 KiB) Downloaded 3809 times
Projet ASRI éducation => [url=http://asri-education.org/]Association[/url] | [url=http://forum.asri-education.org/]Forum[/url] | [url=http://dl01.asri-education.org/]Dépôt[/url] | [url=http://kids.asri-education.org/]Espace kids[/url]

User avatar
ASRI éducation
Posts: 3197
Joined: Sat 09 May 2009, 12:10
Location: France
Contact:

#85 Post by ASRI éducation »

ASRI éducation wrote:My only problem is that I can not display the installed version: see screenshot (getflash-1.5-5_b.png) after "v" the version is not informed.
The problem seems to be related to the 'strings' command (line 54). If someone has an idea.
I understood.
The strings command is in the devx file. For getflash be functional, it need to mount the devx (not practical).

@ Barry
Do you think it is possible to replace the strings command with something else?

Regards
Attachments
getflash-1.5-5_c.png
with devx, version is detected
(40.82 KiB) Downloaded 3619 times
Projet ASRI éducation => [url=http://asri-education.org/]Association[/url] | [url=http://forum.asri-education.org/]Forum[/url] | [url=http://dl01.asri-education.org/]Dépôt[/url] | [url=http://kids.asri-education.org/]Espace kids[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#86 Post by BarryK »

ASRI éducation wrote:
ASRI éducation wrote:My only problem is that I can not display the installed version: see screenshot (getflash-1.5-5_b.png) after "v" the version is not informed.
The problem seems to be related to the 'strings' command (line 54). If someone has an idea.
I understood.
The strings command is in the devx file. For getflash be functional, it need to mount the devx (not practical).

@ Barry
Do you think it is possible to replace the strings command with something else?

Regards
The 'strings' utility is from binutils, which is only in the devx in quirky, and probably other pups.

strings needs libbfd.so*, which is 950KB, so I don't want it in the main filesystem.

However, busybox also has strings.

If strings is needed in getflash, just substitute "busybox strings" in place of "strings".

You may need to run this to check available options:

# busybox strings --help
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
ASRI éducation
Posts: 3197
Joined: Sat 09 May 2009, 12:10
Location: France
Contact:

#87 Post by ASRI éducation »

BarryK wrote:If strings is needed in getflash, just substitute "busybox strings" in place of "strings".
Excellent, everything works.
As you suggested, simply substitute "strings" with "busybox strings".
A simple, fast and efficient solution.
Thank you Barry!

Line 54: old

Code: Select all

FLASHVERSION=$(strings -n13 /usr/lib${lsuffix}/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so  | grep 'FlashPlayer_' | cut -d '_' -f2-5| tr '_' '.')
Line 54: new

Code: Select all

FLASHVERSION=$(busybox strings -n13 /usr/lib${lsuffix}/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so  | grep 'FlashPlayer_' | cut -d '_' -f2-5| tr '_' '.')
Regards
Attachments
getflash-1.5-6.pet
(11.33 KiB) Downloaded 3360 times
getflash-1.5-6_NLS.pet
(3.01 KiB) Downloaded 686 times
getflash-1.5-6.png
(41.16 KiB) Downloaded 3656 times
Projet ASRI éducation => [url=http://asri-education.org/]Association[/url] | [url=http://forum.asri-education.org/]Forum[/url] | [url=http://dl01.asri-education.org/]Dépôt[/url] | [url=http://kids.asri-education.org/]Espace kids[/url]

User avatar
caiosama
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri 02 Jan 2015, 14:54
Location: Concepcion, Chile

#88 Post by caiosama »

Thank you so much guys!

Pelo

addon Video Without Flash 1.5.1

#89 Post by Pelo »

addon Video Without Flash 1.5.1
Forum iberico ou forum Français : pls comment if this addon works in other browsers than palemoon (Palemoon addon does the job :) ).

User avatar
peebee
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun 21 Sep 2008, 12:31
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Contact:

64-bit installs not working....

#90 Post by peebee »

I have tried to use getflash-1.5.6 for 64-bit install.....(Slacko64/LxPup64)

Both getflash-1.5.6 and a direct download from the Adobe website selecting ".tar.gz for Other Linux"
result in a download which seems to be tailored for KDE4 rather than generic and as a result getflash reports that the installation fails and webbrowser does not see the downloaded flashplayer.

I can obtain a working version from pkgs.org.....

Cheers
peebee
ImageLxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64

User avatar
boxR
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 21:58
Location: France

#91 Post by boxR »

peebee wrote:I have tried to use getflash-1.5.6 for 64-bit install.....(Slacko64/LxPup64)

Both getflash-1.5.6 and a direct download from the Adobe website selecting ".tar.gz for Other Linux"
result in a download which seems to be tailored for KDE4 rather than generic and as a result getflash reports that the installation fails and webbrowser does not see the downloaded flashplayer.

I can obtain a working version from pkgs.org.....

Cheers
peebee
Do you tried the flashplayer packages on the ASRI édu forum ? It's a 32-bits package.

Which browser do you use ?

Bud
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue 27 Apr 2010, 17:59

#92 Post by Bud »

ASRI éducation wrote: Excellent, everything works.
Many thanks guys, just updated on Tahir. :)

User avatar
sancxjo
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon 29 Apr 2013, 17:24
Location: Russia

#93 Post by sancxjo »

Hello again

I will write more here.
Remove the old and established this flashplayer11-11.2.202.468-i386.pet
I can not understand why does not work.
In Midori empty
In Firefox "has crashed"
DebianDog-Jessie, Xenialpup 7.5
Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU D525 @ 1.80GHz

User avatar
boxR
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 21:58
Location: France

#94 Post by boxR »

Flashplayer 11.2.202.468 (PET) 32-bits package

User avatar
sancxjo
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon 29 Apr 2013, 17:24
Location: Russia

#95 Post by sancxjo »

boxR wrote:Flashplayer 11.2.202.468 (PET) 32-bits package
J'ai essayé. De même, ne fonctionne pas.
Something strange :?
The Midori falls
The Firefox has crashed
DebianDog-Jessie, Xenialpup 7.5
Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU D525 @ 1.80GHz

User avatar
boxR
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 21:58
Location: France

#96 Post by boxR »

Flashplayer 11.2.202.481 (PET) 32-bits package

User avatar
boxR
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 21:58
Location: France

#97 Post by boxR »

Flashplayer 11.2.202.508 (PET) 32-bits package

User avatar
boxR
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 21:58
Location: France

#98 Post by boxR »

Flashplayer 11.2.202.521 (PET) 32-bits package

User avatar
ASRI éducation
Posts: 3197
Joined: Sat 09 May 2009, 12:10
Location: France
Contact:

#99 Post by ASRI éducation »

boxR wrote:Flashplayer 11.2.202.521 (PET) 32-bits package
Thank you boxR.
Regards
Projet ASRI éducation => [url=http://asri-education.org/]Association[/url] | [url=http://forum.asri-education.org/]Forum[/url] | [url=http://dl01.asri-education.org/]Dépôt[/url] | [url=http://kids.asri-education.org/]Espace kids[/url]

User avatar
hanzf
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed 11 Mar 2009, 21:39
Location: Belzig, Germany

#100 Post by hanzf »

When I start getflash it says:
"unable to contact the server, please check your internet conection"

Internet does work with firefox.

What's wrong here?

thank you

Hans
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM

Post Reply