Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Nov 2019, 04:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to delete my Save file and start a new one? (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
pman1

Joined: 08 Sep 2014
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016, 13:24    Post subject:  How to delete my Save file and start a new one? (Solved)  

Is there a way to delete my old "save file" and start a new one? I installed some software on my "Tahr Puppy" installation that worked properly at first ( the Wine compatibility layer ) that latter stopped working after I installed some other things ( I didn't take note of what it was ). I'd like to start over and see if I can get everything working again. Can I just delete my old save file and make a new one? Thanks for any information!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 422

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016, 14:02    Post subject:  

Assuming you're booting from grub, press e from the grub screen, then cursor down to the kernel line and press e again. Add "pfix=ram" to the end. (boot parameters wiki) Then ENTER (not esc Embarassed ) followed by b. This will boot without save file. From there, you can rename or delete your old save file and it will offer to create a new one when you log off.

By the way, if you rename to something like old-tahrsave.4fs then you can always click it to look inside and recover files. If you leave "tahrsave" at the beginning (such as tahrsave-old.4fs), at bootup you'll get a menu to choose which save file to use. Boot up behavior

Last edited by Wognath on Mon 01 Feb 2016, 15:01; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pman1

Joined: 08 Sep 2014
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016, 14:13    Post subject:  

This puppy installation is on a Windows 7 system. The boot manager is titled "Windows Boot Manager" on start-up so I don't think this will work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 422

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016, 14:37    Post subject:  

If your install is like the one on my wife's computer, then there's a file called menu.lst on /mnt/home (or C:/). You can edit it by adding timeout=5 at the beginning. This will give you time to do what I suggested before. You could also add an entry similar to the second one below:
Code:
timeout=5
default=0

title Tahr
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /Linux/Tahr/initrd.gz
kernel /Linux/Tahr/vmlinuz psubdir=/Linux/Tahr pmedia=atahd
initrd /Linux/Tahr/initrd.gz
boot

title Tahr  no save file
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /Linux/Tahr/initrd.gz
kernel /Linux/Tahr/vmlinuz pfix=ram
initrd /Linux/Tahr/initrd.gz
boot

Then you get 5 s to choose! I hope this works.
P.S. please see the correction in my first post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pman1

Joined: 08 Sep 2014
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016, 15:07    Post subject:  

I changed the settings in the "grub4dos configuration" program to change the settings to "pfix=ram" and that seems to have done what I want ( I get a grub4dos start screen before the Windows Boot Loader Screen now , not sure why this is ). Holding the 'e' key on the grub screen didn't do anything so I guess this will have to do. Thanks for your help...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 422

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016, 15:24    Post subject:  

I can't explain any of that, but someone else will chime in. Glad I could help some anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13368
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016, 15:52    Post subject:  

Pman1, another way would be to boot from CD (any Puppy CD that will run your computer's hardware) with the pfix=ram boot option, then find and delete or rename the Save file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016, 16:25    Post subject:  

This is an approach that @Flash 'triggered" for me; years ago.

I had used a USB for which I had created a save-file (not a save folder). I had wanted to test the PUP pristine, with a PET. So, as he instructed, below, I:
  1. booted to the PUP's opening splashscreen
  2. clicked F2
  3. typed
    Code:
    puppy pfix=ram,copy
  4. made any and all new changes as I would do for any new PUP; including my PETs
  5. At Shutdown/Reboot time, the PUP asks me to designate a new save; I do a new.
  6. On Reboot I do not hit the F2 key. Thus, the PUP boots as it normally would boot
  7. During Reboot, the PUP presents ALL of the save-sessions it find for my selection; and waits for my entry.
  8. I choose which session is appropriate and the system continues to desktop with ONLY the contents of that save-session file.
Thus, PUPs are built to allow you to choose the appropriate save-session file it finds for you at boot-time.
Hope this is helpful in understanding how PUPs are useful when there is potentially multiple save sessions for any given PUP.

Everything said earlier about your ability to destroy any older save-sessions are accurate; Just delete when no longer needed.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxwannabe

Joined: 02 May 2015
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016, 20:48    Post subject:  

Can't you just go to where the save file is located and delete it? What would happen if you did that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 14484
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016, 22:35    Post subject:  

Hello pman1.

You could use one of the ready-made pupsaves I posted on the newbie sticky
thread here.

Choose a pupsave with the size you need, unzip it twice* in a 1st-level directory of
your choice, rename the first part of the filename to the name of your Puppy, reboot,
and voilà! A brand new pupsave for you! You don't even have to delete your old one.

(It's better explained on the other thread.)

Good luck!

~~~~~~~~~~~~
PS. * If you're a total newbie, the zipped ones at the bottom of this post are
easier to manage, because they're really double-zipped -- even WhineDose
refugees know what to do with a zip file, right? Smile.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)

Last edited by musher0 on Mon 01 Feb 2016, 22:42; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 422

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016, 22:37    Post subject:  

Hey linuxwannabe,
I tried that (renamed tahrsave.2fs to Xtahrsave.2fs, shut down declining offer to create savefile), and it works.
Embarassed I assumed the savefile would get recreated from /initrd/pup_rw when I shut down. Embarassed
Apologies to pman1 for making it so complicated Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12871
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016, 23:31    Post subject:  

pman1

You may not need a new save file/folder.

Have you tried to remove the programs you installed?
You should be able to uninstall them by using the Puppy Package Manager (PPM) uninstall.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pman1

Joined: 08 Sep 2014
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016, 23:44    Post subject:  

Thanks for all your answers! I actually found it was easier to just use the Windows uninstaller and then reinstall puppy ( this is very fast and easy with the Windows installer of Puppy ). Thanks again for all your help!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0723s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0284s) ][ GZIP on ]