Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 17 Dec 2017, 09:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
Puppy drops wireless connection
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 598
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 20 Feb 2016, 14:46    Post subject:  Puppy drops wireless connection  

I do not know how many puppy variants I have tried throughout the years.

And this has been tested on i do not know how many PC's, but the god damn problem reoccurs and its the same every time, no matter what network, no matter what hardware and its that the connection drops.

Like yesterday i installed Slacko64. And it was all fine yesterday. But today the connection drop and drops and I am the only one having this problem.

I dont say i use Linux as i feel this i ridiculous. Its like a disgrace to the concept as i am sure i had no similiar problem with any of the other distroes but with Puppy this thing just comes back again and again.

Just as i write this its been on and off like 5 times and its a very serious problem and incredible annoying.

I am not sure what to do as I can not believe i am the only one having this problem nearly always with puppy...

Then on the other side as i do not change root password when testing and go out as root with woofwoof i guess i am a idiot:-)

The only puppy that i know for sure does not do this is the Fatdog.

Apart from that, everything that is or have been official puppy has never failed to fail on this without there being a logical reason to it.

The only thing that is here today is Skype. That was not present yesterday. So i shall try to delete bloody skype and see if that is the cause.

Skype is gone and so is the sound thing one needs and the problem is there right as it was...

I hope there is a reson for this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
moeppyfan


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat 20 Feb 2016, 15:17    Post subject: Re: Puppy and Wlan? Something is REALLY wrong  

Atle wrote:
I can not believe i am the only one having this problem nearly always with puppy...

Hello Atle,

The member starhawk says he has the same wifi problem (using frisbee) here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=886845#886845

The posts go on for the next 2 pages or so. Enjoy Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 598
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 20 Feb 2016, 15:20    Post subject:  

Thanks.. i am really getting paranoid here as this goes straight into my nerve system as a bug that want let go...


ill read the posts:-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1301
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Sat 20 Feb 2016, 15:49    Post subject:  

I'll have to agree with Frisbee bugs. I tossed it also, and use Network Wizard, tho its a step-by-step process. Frisbee seems to want to rule the world... without an off switch.

I have access to both ethernet and wifi, and SNS/Frisbee doesn't play nice if both are even connected. Part of this is due to WiFi "on" at boot-up, regardless if an ethernet connection is present. Frankly, I got tired of using SNS for ethernet and Frisbee for WiFi and having to change default setting for which one was available. Network Wizard is easy, just pick the one you want to use, no hassles./MHO

_________________
Linux user #498913

Good God!, by the stars in the sky we are lost!
And into the breach we got tossed!
And the world is comin' on fast! --Florence Welch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 20 Feb 2016, 17:00    Post subject:  

Chiming in...

Dougal's doesn't work with my network, Frisbee and SNS both have this issue. Assuming that it's not a lower-level problem even than that. Something kicks the network out of whack every so often... seems like the primary precipitator is a weak signal. Happens in my kitchen some 40-50ft from the router, but not in the office, 20-30ft from the router. Wireless 'n' / WPA network here.

As I said in another place... been raggin' on about this for at least a year now I'd say. Nobody seems to simultaneously know enough and care enough to fix it.

You'd think this the sort of thing 01micko or 666philb (etc) could kick out the door in a weekend or so of dedicated effort -- particularly since it seems to be a bug in every single Pup at least after the 4xx series... possibly including those although I've not used 'em enough to know for sure.

Oh well Sad

If you dev folks out there change yer minds, ya know where to find me... I'll be here, and I'll be happy to test if I can.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0484s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0120s) ][ GZIP on ]