Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 18 Nov 2017, 01:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Whats happening with old browsers like SeaMonkey?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [38 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 16:54    Post subject:  

I didn't say "there's a trick to keeping your test run clean" for nothing..

The trick being to rename your existing /root/.mozilla/firefox folder beforehand.

When this isn't done, components of the new build populate your existing folder -- NOT desirable.

You can probably export your bkmrks and recover the old setup should the new build be too heavy.

The idea though was to run the new guy clean.. With the existing profile renamed.

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1009
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 17:04    Post subject:  

Goodo . Wonder why its lost all the icons ?
Thanks Semme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 17:11    Post subject:  

I don't take any responsibility for impatience.

Want the old one back? So long as you've been able to recover your bkmrks, which should always be backed-up prior to the introduction of ANY new version anyway, it's easy.. REAL easy.

You SHOULD however test the new build CLEAN!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1009
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 17:52    Post subject:  

Think I know how to do that-actually it does not have a makefile and clean returns an error. Problem seems to stem from running it from software box ,it changes files in its own old directories it seems . Hmm
Got a bit busy last night late so have some old Bore to get rid of.
Untitled.JPG
 Description   
 Filesize   144.73 KB
 Viewed   181 Time(s)

Untitled.JPG


Last edited by april on Thu 17 Mar 2016, 18:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 18:00    Post subject:  

Is your opener missing punctuation? You're asking about a clean run are you not?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1009
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 18:03    Post subject:  

Yes I'd like to return new to old . How do I do that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 18:05    Post subject:  

Don't wanna try the new one clean? The visuals are probably screwed because of what I've already mentioned.

Is the new guy where.. /tmp? Somewhere else?

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 18:11    Post subject:  

Ya know what, rename your existing folder /root/.mozilla/firefox. I like ffirefox because it maintains a close proximity, then fire-up the new guy, NOT from the menu, but from the extracted folder you downloaded. And yes, you gotta remember this. It's folder will consume an additional 25 to 30mb's in /root.
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3131
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 18:14    Post subject:  

Hi, april.

You're probably getting that with SeaMonkey because, as Semme says, although your original will still be in place and reporting it's version number, it'll now be reading from the newly-overwritten, hidden .cache & .config folders in /root (or wherever it is that SeaMonkey keeps it's configuration files.)

This the only problem with attempting to run more than one version of the same browser. The system really only expects one version, so you have one cache folder, one configuration folder. If you do run more than one version of the same browser, they'll all be reading from those same folders.

That's as I understand it, anyway. I could be wrong! (I often am.....but I'm learning.)

Every time I upgrade to a new Chrome or Slimjet ( my personal favourites), I always delete the hidden folders in /root/.cache and /root/.config for those browsers, after I've removed or unloaded the browser itself. This allows starting afresh from a 'clean sheet', and avoids this type of problem.

Hope that helps.

@Semme:- Not 'butting in', just a suggestion... Smile


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Thu 17 Mar 2016, 18:18; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 18:16    Post subject:  

And comment on whether you've backed-up your bkmrks..
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1009
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 18:29    Post subject:  

Good thanks Mike . Bookmarks intact -always backed up ,most important part Semme

Loss of functioning reply/edit/quote/etc icons is the problem now.

Last edited by april on Thu 17 Mar 2016, 18:45; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 18:36    Post subject:  

Then try what I suggested here.

If it doesn't fly, I'll have you back in the drivers seat next post.

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1009
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 18:54    Post subject:  

Yep new one is all OK .
Means Ill have to bring in plugins or maybe copy them across.
Adblock Ghostery,Lastpassand D/LoadVids,

Whatcha think of me pig . One shot 100meters
Boyfriend held on to me against kickback but I think he was playing it up a bit and cheating.

Last edited by april on Thu 17 Mar 2016, 19:06; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 19:05    Post subject:  

Plugins don't take long. Just reinstall'em.

Very Happy And that swine's a beauty! What's the weight.. 3/400 or sow pounds?

I bet that baby'ud do one hell of a number on ya if you were one-on-one, no gun..

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1009
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 19:08    Post subject:  

3 inch tusks .Nose to snout width of truck about 250 kilos or something like 500 lbs . Had ploughed an acre the night before . Should probably have let it keep going .

As always Semme Thanks muchly !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [38 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0517s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0089s) ][ GZIP on ]