Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 19 Oct 2017, 11:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
skype and Tahr puppex 6.03 32 bit
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 773

PostPosted: Thu 24 Mar 2016, 20:08    Post subject:  skype and Tahr puppex 6.03 32 bit  

skype 4.3.0.37

I can hear sound but it will skype will not identify or use my Microsoft Lifecam 2000 microphone.

I see that there is a pulse sound interface and puppy must use it some to enable the sound to be heard. But I don't see any way of directing pulse to interface with my microphone source.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1455
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 24 Mar 2016, 22:45    Post subject:  

Are you using the apulse skype in quickpet or a pulseaudio skype? How did you install skype? If you use a pulseaudio skype as explained here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=892153#892153

then you should change in /etc/pulse/default.pa the following lines:

Code:
load-module module-alsa-sink device=hw:1,0
load-module module-alsa-source device=hw:1,0


or maybe:

Code:
load-module module-alsa-sink device=hw:1,0
load-module module-alsa-source device=hw:2,0


depending on your hardware.

EDIT: type in console:

Code:
arecord -l


to see the right mic device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 773

PostPosted: Fri 25 Mar 2016, 15:14    Post subject:  

no default.pa to reference just conf file a screenshot of which is attached as pulse2.png

the arecord -l screen is also attached pulse1.png

Please advise and thanks for your help in advance.
pulse2.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  pulse2.png 
Filesize  116.13 KB 
Downloaded  136 Time(s) 
pulse1.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  pulse1.png 
Filesize  35.21 KB 
Downloaded  150 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1455
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2016, 02:16    Post subject:  

I am ignorant of your case. I think you are using the apulse skype in quickpet. I would try to change the line in /etc/pulse/client.conf:

Code:
;default-source=


in:

Code:
default-source=hw:2,0


(be careful to delete the semicolon at the beginning of the line...). I cannot say more. Wait for more skilled help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1455
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2016, 03:49    Post subject:  

I did some tests in a live session of tahr 6.0.5 and I have successfully used the pulseaudio skype with the webcam mic. I do not know how to achieve this result with the apulse skype but I can explain what I did in my case.
Follow the installation of the pulseaudio skype as explained at:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=892153#892153

Use in /etc/pulse/default.pa:

Code:
load-module module-alsa-sink device=hw:1,0
load-module module-alsa-source device=hw:2,0


(these settings are for auricolar and the webcam mic card 2)

Install the pavucontrol-test.pet at:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=844321#844321

Open a console and type:

Code:
pulseaudio --start


Then launch Pulseaudio Volume Control from Multimedia menu and go to input tab; tick and untick for deactivating and activating the webcam mic. Then launch:

Code:
skype4.3


Make a test call. It worked for me. Note that it is possible the need to run fixmenus and restart X to see the new softwares in the menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 773

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2016, 09:42    Post subject:  

Sovled: )

Thanks for your guidance I downloaded the pulse audio and skype pet and it identified the Microsoft Lifecam 2000 microphone without changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0370s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]