Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Jul 2017, 11:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to Make a Bootable Flash Drive using ISObooter
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 15 [219 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 13 Apr 2016, 04:33    Post subject:  

@Pelo, I think @Watchdog is referring to how the PC is seen after POST processing completes and the GRUB2 BM starts for the drives-partitions represented for boot use. It was not what was expected.

He seeks understanding, too.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
schober

Joined: 29 May 2015
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2016, 16:02    Post subject:  

I want to do a frugal install of puppy wary 5.5 to a usb stick using isobooter
Currently, I use 2 computers both P4's with usb 1.1
1) grub dual boot with w98 & ubuntu on hd; 1gb ram
2) XP on hd and 256mb ram

Currenlty, Iam using a live puppycd and a savefile on a usb stick on No1
I want to use puppy on both machines and have access to all files

I've got a new 8gb FAT32 usb stick (actually only 7.3gb) and want to do a frugal install on it
Iwill want to install python (the anaconda versiion) and numerous addons. These will probably end up using most of 2gb


Qu1 When formatting, should should some of the ram be left unallocated to allow space for the "phantom iso"?
If so how much is needed?

Qu2
Quote:
7b. After putting an ISO on the drive, run the "sync" command

Presumabley i have to change directories so that I am in the bootable part of the usb stick. Is that right?

Qu3 Is it easier to do this from ubuntu on the hard disc or from a live pupy cd?

Qu4 If I want to try another puppy can I just remove wary from the usb stick and copy another puppy across using ubuntu? (and it'll work straight away and use the savefile made by wary)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11419
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2016, 17:33    Post subject:  

schober wrote:
Qu1 When formatting, should should some of the ram be left unallocated to allow space for the "phantom iso"?If so how much is needed?

I would make a 2 GB fat32 partition for ISObooter and a 6GB ext4 partition for a save FOLDER. Fill the entire drive with these two partitions. There are instructions on page 12 for this setup.

Quote:
Presumabley i have to change directories so that I am in the bootable part of the usb stick. Is that right?

No. Open a terminal window (the Console desktop icon) and type: sync

Quote:
Qu3 Is it easier to do this from ubuntu on the hard disc or from a live pupy cd?

From Puppy.

Quote:
If I want to try another puppy can I just remove wary from the usb stick and copy another puppy across using ubuntu? (and it'll work straight away and use the savefile made by wary)

You can put multiple Puppies on one ISObooter drive. But savefiles are rarely interchangeable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 11883
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Fri 19 Aug 2016, 02:28    Post subject: rench colleagues having some difficulties with English
Subject description: and Linux too.
 

Doing what is described in the topic, screencast it, post it on You Tube here, isobooter, that is what i did for french colleagues having some difficulties with English, and Linux too.
Everybody should understand, even overseas UK citizens, unless my video is bad, what is not impossible. I do my best, it's much time.
DpupExprimo.jpg
 Description   pAVrecord, default sreencaster menu Multimedia used for this tutorial
 Filesize   19.52 KB
 Viewed   887 Time(s)

DpupExprimo.jpg


_________________
Damned Puppy, stay plugged with Papa Evil or Very Mad !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11419
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 09:20    Post subject:  

Page 5 has instructions for making a Puppy flash drive from another Linux like Ubuntu or Mint.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 01:41    Post subject:  

G'day rcrsn51, Unsurprisingly isobooter doesn't work w/ UEFi, Any Chance of Hacking it 2 Work as a Hybrid ie. BIOS & UEFi? SmileK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11419
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 08:23    Post subject:  

Max Headroom wrote:
G'day rcrsn51, Unsurprisingly isobooter doesn't work w/ UEFi, Any Chance of Hacking it 2 Work as a Hybrid ie. BIOS & UEFi? SmileK


Not by me, and maybe not at all. ISObooter uses tricks from Grub4Dos that are designed for BIOS systems. I don't know anything about UEFI.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Fri 19 May 2017, 22:03    Post subject:  

G'day rcrsn51, I've Successfully ReMastered the following Puplet

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106696

Burned 2 CD & Testes, But when I Add it 2 Me GumBoot ( ie. isobooter ) USB Flash Dr it doesn't work, Grub gives Error 15, File Not found, I've Tried Recreating the menu.lst File w/ Y & N answering about the Splash screen, Same Outcome

Also I'm having Trouble Getting Lobsters Photon 301 Tmxxine working...
it Boots as far as Linux initrd & then just Hangs!...

title photon301
partnew (hd0,3) 0x00 (hd0,0)/photon301.iso
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 (hd0,0)/photon301.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /vmlinuz pmedia=cd psavemark=1 pfix=fsck
initrd /initrd.gz

Wot am I Doing wRong? Please

Thanx 4 your Help

SmileK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11419
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 20 May 2017, 05:45    Post subject:  

The "Dog" series use different names for their boot files, like "initrd1.xz". You will need to change some things in your ISObooter setup. Even then, it may not work.

Does your remaster boot when you burn it to a physical CD/DVD? If it does, I would expect ISObooter to work with "splashscreen=y".

Does the original, un-remastered ISO work with ISObooter? [Edit] I tried this and it worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sun 28 May 2017, 02:06    Post subject:  

G'day rcrsn51, I've just had 2 Upgrade Me GumBoot isobooter USB to a 32 GB USB3 Flash Dr, But Frustratingly the isobooter Script isn't working in either Linux or M$ Windows Virus Bait I'm Scratching Me Nut about whY, when in the past I've found this as So id10T Proof!?!

SmileK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jun 2017, 00:54    Post subject:  

G'day rcrsn51, I'm Still Keen 2 get 2 the Bottom of this isoBooter issue, I Plugged it into Mint Linux, Clic'd on isobooter & it Opened the Scripts in the Default Txt Editor, So Checked the Status of if it was eXecutable & the CheckBox was Unchecked, Altho I had Previously Done it in Puppy, But when Tried Re- Checking the CheckBox it wouldn't accept it, I Dunno whY or How 2 Fix it?!?

Please Help...

SmileK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11419
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jun 2017, 09:18    Post subject:  

1. You never replied to my post of May 20.

2. I don't have any USB3 hardware, so I cannot comment on its ability to boot a Puppy flash drive.

3. I cannot comment on how Mint handles a script made in Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jun 2017, 18:19    Post subject:  

Sorry rcrsn51, 4 Neglecting 2 Reply 2 that post...

the Answer 2 Your Question if Me ReMaster Boots from CD / DVD Media is Yes, But I Can't Remember if I got around 2 Testing the Original iso or Not, & of Course I Can't Test it Now Until I Fix the issue w/ isobooter...

Anyway it Turns Out that Me Previous 16 GB GumBoot isobooter USB Flash Dr was USB3, So I'll Rule that Out as the Problem, I Suppose I'll Try Another Flash Dr, in case it was a peculiar quirk w/ this SanDisk?!?

I Welcome Any Other Suggestions...

SmileK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2248
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jul 2017, 13:06    Post subject:  

Thanks for isobooter, rcrsn51

I've made some modifications to make it work also with ISO's from the 'Dog' series.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=959382#959382

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 11883
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul 2017, 14:25    Post subject: So easy, successful with mintpup and Puppy Strecth,  

So easy, successful with mintpup and Puppy Strecth, simply, two ISOs on same usb, grub4Dos, and answers to questions . Reboot, and then we go. Nice, nice, Smile
I don't like big Linux OS, as Ubuntu or Debian. However i will try to add an old Ubuntu 11.04.
No need to format my pendrive (already FAT32), so ma previous data kept, ISO transfered between lot of files. But ISObooter finds them among the mess... Sensass. Smile


Part TWO : now i launch Puppy Stretch.. Will it be a success ? Suspense.. Shocked
MintPup.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   133.5 KB
 Viewed   56 Time(s)

MintPup.jpg


_________________
Damned Puppy, stay plugged with Papa Evil or Very Mad !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 15 [219 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0841s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]