Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Oct 2019, 12:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Record audio with SimpleScreenRecorder? [ SOLVED ]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
Amaponian


Joined: 30 Apr 2013
Posts: 52
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Thu 26 May 2016, 22:11    Post subject:  Record audio with SimpleScreenRecorder? [ SOLVED ]  

Why I can't record audio with SimpleScreenRecorder ?
Has someone done this with PuppyLinux?

Greetings !

Last edited by Amaponian on Tue 31 May 2016, 10:36; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12766
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 May 2016, 22:14    Post subject:  

What version of Puppy?
_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1565

PostPosted: Thu 26 May 2016, 22:39    Post subject:  

Hi Amaponian,

This solution by Pelo helped me: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=905246#905246
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amaponian


Joined: 30 Apr 2013
Posts: 52
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2016, 10:31    Post subject:  

I solved the problem following the steps described in this post:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=95431
Thanks to disciple who provided the link.
Also thanks to Sailor Enceladus (previous post) who led me to the post where I found the final help.

This worked for my Distro: tahrpup64 6.0.5

Three steps:

1. Append to the file /etc/asound.conf this code:
Code:
pcm.!default {
  type asym
  playback.pcm "LoopAndReal"
  #capture.pcm "looprec"
  capture.pcm "hw:0,0"
}

pcm.looprec {
    type hw
    card "Loopback"
    device 1
    subdevice 0
}


pcm.LoopAndReal {
  type plug
  slave.pcm mdev
  route_policy "duplicate"
}


pcm.mdev {
  type multi
  slaves.a.pcm pcm.MixReale
  slaves.a.channels 2
  slaves.b.pcm pcm.MixLoopback
  slaves.b.channels 2
  bindings.0.slave a
  bindings.0.channel 0
  bindings.1.slave a
  bindings.1.channel 1
  bindings.2.slave b
  bindings.2.channel 0
  bindings.3.slave b
  bindings.3.channel 1
}


pcm.MixReale {
  type dmix
  ipc_key 1024
  ipc_perm 0666
  slave {
    pcm "hw:0,0"
    rate 48000
    #rate 44100
    periods 128
    period_time 0
    period_size 1024 # must be power of 2
    buffer_size 8192
  }
}

pcm.MixLoopback {
  type dmix
  ipc_key 1025
  ipc_perm 0666
  slave {
    pcm "hw:Loopback,0,0"
    rate 48000
    #rate 44100
    periods 128
    period_time 0
    period_size 1024 # must be power of 2
    buffer_size 8192
  }
}

2. Execute in terminal/console this command: modprobe snd-aloop (you'll probably want to add this to your Startup)
3. Set the Audio Input in SimpleScreenRecorder as specified in the following lines, then complete your recording with SimpleScreenRecorder.
For recording audio using another app see the link provided at the beginning of this post.
SimpleScreen - Audio Input.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   32.22 KB
 Viewed   379 Time(s)

SimpleScreen - Audio Input.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2016, 23:03    Post subject:  

This should be a PET so that PUP distro developers can include in future distros. OR, it should be a feature in PUP distros.

Anyone know if this is included in any PUP distros?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jun 2017, 10:39    Post subject: How to use SSR  

Linked to my topic how to use SSR here
_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1221
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

PostPosted: Wed 24 Jul 2019, 10:36    Post subject:
Subject description: Record audio with SSR on Dpup Stretch 7.5 RC4
 

Hi,
tons of thanks to Amaponian !
Amaponian wrote:
I solved the problem following the steps described in this post:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=95431
...
Three steps:
1.
2.
3.


Here -on Dpup Stretch 7.5 RC4- needed to add a step:
between step 1. and step 2. in Amaponian's post
Quote:
1.1 Reboot computer

in order ALSA to apply the new asound.conf

To test if the "sound recording" is working, one might press the "Display Preview" (see herunder shot) button in the last SSRs dialog box: there the preview window has 2 vu-meter scales.
Sound recording is working if those scales are green/yellow/orange coloured, and moving according to sound intensity (provided the video to be recorded is playing! - if not, they keep grey coloured).

To mention:
if one might unload the snd_aloop module, type in terminal
Code:
# modprobe -r snd_aloop


HTH
Charlie
SSR(1).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   187.01 KB
 Viewed   78 Time(s)

SSR(1).jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5490
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jul 2019, 10:39    Post subject:  

@ charlie6:-

I have to admit, I found a much simpler solution.....completely by accident!

Around a year ago, I was shopping around for a USB 'headset' - combined headphones with a 'boom' microphone, which I wanted for doing screencasts. As it turned out, the Logitech model I purchased (an H340) has its own, built-in soundcard in the rather chunky USB connector.

To my complete astonishment, once I'd set the headset as the default soundcard, not only did audio recording work perfectly in SimpleScreenRecorder.....it also worked A-OK in RecordMyDesktop, XVidcap, and wiak's WeX screencaster, too!

The only caveat? Just make sure that whatever the headset's card is - in my case, 'hw:2' - is selected in every app's preferences. Some like it named specifically; others simply need it to be set as the default.

Seemingly, all the awkward 'workarounds' folk have always needed to employ in Puppy over the years for audio recording are smoothly taken care of by the chipset this thing's soundcard uses. I can't recommend it enough.

Even under Linux, this thing just 'works'.....in large part, I would guess, due to having that built-in soundcard (which cuts down on all the 'hoops' your system's built-in card otherwise needs to jump through in order to get a connection established).

https://www.logitech.com/en-gb/product/usb-headset-h340





Notice the relative size of that USB connector. That's where the sound-card lives.

The boom microphone is a short, stubby type.....with digital noise-cancelling built in. (Works well, too; it really cuts down on stray, background noises.)

And changing the default soundcard is a breeze in the newer Pups, with the modern version of the ALSA Wizard's GUI. Easy-peasy....


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Thu 25 Jul 2019, 14:17; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1221
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jul 2019, 12:14    Post subject:  

Hi Mike,
thanks for the info, as also for the link!

with a built in audiocard ...! Shocked ...Interesting headset !

Best regards
Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0689s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0160s) ][ GZIP on ]