Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Aug 2014, 02:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Localization Project
Localize Seamonkey 1.0.6
Moderators: Lobster, MU, raffy
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
slapshot


Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 270
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 07:29    Post subject:  Localize Seamonkey 1.0.6  

Hi guys,

I'm continuing localizing an italian puppy Wink. Now, a silly question. I downloaded and installed seamonkey 106 italian lang pack. Instructions say to open Edit - Preferences - Appearance - Language/Contents to change the language but I cannot find this menu and I cannot localize it. In Navigator menu there is a Languages voice but it is referred to webpage languages, not at user interface to localize.

Anyone can help me, please ?

Thanks.

_________________
Bye
Slapshot
EduPup 2.0 at
http://www.pieroni.biz/edupup
http://www.giovelug.org
http://puppylinux.ca/tpp/edupup/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 08:19    Post subject:  

I think you must install a localized version, for the interface there are no languagepacks for Seamonkey and Firefox as far as I know.
For this reason I use english versions by default in the "dual-language" Muppy.

That reminds me I have to offer a german firefox as dotpup Confused

If someone can prove me wrong, I'd be happy Smile

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
slapshot


Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 270
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 09:43    Post subject:  

Well, I don't know Mark. I cannot prove it yet but I believe there is a chance to localize user interface. On the mozillaitalia.it web site they explicitally talk about download the lang package and install it but they also refer Edit - Preferences - Appeareance - Languages/Contents that I cannot found in Puppy Seamonkey 1.0.6. . But also international community talk about this chance: http://www.mozilla.org/projects/l10n/postinst-notes/sm10.html . I have just to find that menu Smile

Btw I prefer english one of all but I would try to spread Puppy also in my country and so many people cannot speak english ... Wink

Thanks.

_________________
Bye
Slapshot
EduPup 2.0 at
http://www.pieroni.biz/edupup
http://www.giovelug.org
http://puppylinux.ca/tpp/edupup/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
slapshot


Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 270
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 12:44    Post subject:  

Mark, here is a partial solution, now I got an italian interface. Try to start seamonkey with:

/usr/lib/mozilla/mozilla-bin -UILocale it-IT -contentLocale IT

and you will have it !! Of course change your locale.

Now, it remains to manage this solution into the puppy defaultbrowser and mozstart scripts but I'm having some difficulties, well I'm not so evolved yet Wink.

Thanks.

_________________
Bye
Slapshot
EduPup 2.0 at
http://www.pieroni.biz/edupup
http://www.giovelug.org
http://puppylinux.ca/tpp/edupup/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
slapshot


Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 270
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 13:11    Post subject:  

It is enough to add to /usr/local/bin/mozstart script this options to exec command to run mozilla: -UILocale it-IT -contentLocale IT

I tried to replace it-IT with $LANG but it is not working because $LANG=it_IT and mozilla does not start. In this way we have translated all the suite, also email and contacts. Now it remains calendar but I don't know if it is mozilla suite part.

Antonio

_________________
Bye
Slapshot
EduPup 2.0 at
http://www.pieroni.biz/edupup
http://www.giovelug.org
http://puppylinux.ca/tpp/edupup/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 13:21    Post subject:  

maybe it_IT ?

So _ instead -.

German locales are usually called
de_DE or
de_CH

And do not use "$" in an assignment.
Not:
$LANG=
but:
LANG=


Syntax usually is:
export LANG=de_DE


Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
slapshot


Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 270
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 13:50    Post subject:  

Well, from a terminal locale command give me all the correct results I believe. $LANG is it_IT, just like your german localization. The problem is that mozilla-bin wants it-IT and not it_IT. I was trying to generalize the script but until now I didn't find any solution. Try with your locale, maybe for de is different.
_________________
Bye
Slapshot
EduPup 2.0 at
http://www.pieroni.biz/edupup
http://www.giovelug.org
http://puppylinux.ca/tpp/edupup/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 986
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Sat 20 Jan 2007, 20:56    Post subject:  

slapshot wrote:
Now, it remains to manage this solution into the puppy defaultbrowser and mozstart scripts but I'm having some difficulties, well I'm not so evolved yet Wink.


I have no problems Wink follow these instructions:
    - Install a langpack(e.g. es-ES): http://www.mozilla.org/projects/seamonkey/releases/1.0.6.html
    - For es-ES run this command: seamonkey -UILocale es-ES
    (ignore the warnings)
    - Now start seamonkey with: 'mozstart' or click the Internet icon on the desktop.

That's all, you don't need to change the system language or edit any script, and you'll have seamonkey COMPLETLY translated. To restore the english version type: seamonkey -UILocale en-US
Tested in Puppy-1.09CE, Puppy-2.13(frugal install and RAM mode)

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slapshot


Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 270
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jan 2007, 11:11    Post subject:  

Thanks wow,

I will try as soon as possible your solution. Mine was modyfing mozstart script in this way:
Code:
if [ $? -eq 0 ];then #=0 if found.
 exec /usr/lib/mozilla/mozilla-bin -remote "openURL($COMTAIL,new-tab)" -UILocale it-IT -contentLocale IT
else
 exec /usr/lib/mozilla/mozilla-bin $COMTAIL -UILocale it-IT -contentLocale IT
fi


I was trying to generalize but $LANG variable contains it_IT and not it-IT and Seamonkey seems to do nothing to start.
In this way, when you change your locale don't have to run any command or modify the script as I made but, simply, running again your Seamonkey suite program to have it translated.

_________________
Bye
Slapshot
EduPup 2.0 at
http://www.pieroni.biz/edupup
http://www.giovelug.org
http://puppylinux.ca/tpp/edupup/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
yiakan

Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2007, 15:04    Post subject:  

what about using sed command to get needed string
I tried with ja_JP.UTF-8 locale and got ja-JP with following command
Code:
echo $LANG | sed -e 's/_/-/g' | sed -e 's/\..*//g'


and got just JP with following
Code:
echo $LANG | sed -e 's/^...//g' | sed -e 's/\..*//g'


This is the first time I script with sed, so it might have error or inefficiency.
Please try it yourself and test what happens in your locale first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
brad_chuck

Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 284
Location: Appalachian Mountains

PostPosted: Sat 03 Mar 2007, 06:39    Post subject:  

1.0.8 is in the next Puppy. Did not know if you where aware.

http://puppyos.net/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Skipper

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 20:41    Post subject:    

wow wrote:
I have no problems Wink follow these instructions:

- Install a langpack(e.g. es-ES): http://www.mozilla.org/projects/seamonkey/releases/1.0.6.html
- For es-ES run this command: seamonkey -UILocale es-ES
(ignore the warnings)
- Now start seamonkey with: 'mozstart' or click the Internet icon on the desktop.


That's all, you don't need to change the system language or edit any script, and you'll have seamonkey COMPLETLY translated.


THIS WORKS. Forget the strange solutions.
You can change the version number, instead of 1.0.6, for your Seamonkey (see in Help, About Seamonkey.)
And, obviously, the same for "es-ES", with your language code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Localization Project
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0712s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]