Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 18 Sep 2019, 13:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Other Distros
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 156 of 196 [2931 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 154, 155, 156, 157, 158, ..., 194, 195, 196 Next
Author Message
Pete


Joined: 02 Mar 2014
Posts: 675

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2016, 06:16    Post subject:  

@Billtoo

Is one of those graphs your pulse rate whilst riding the roller coaster?
You look petrified. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2016, 06:24    Post subject: Other Distros  

01micko wrote:
@Billtoo

I have downloaded it (via torrent as mirrors in Australia haven't propagated yet) and will install soon.. but at the moment I am busily building the next slacko alpha based on 14.2 (64 for the moment).


Great news, looking forward to that. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2016, 06:31    Post subject:  

Pete wrote:
@Billtoo

Is one of those graphs your pulse rate whilst riding the roller coaster?
You look petrified. Laughing


There's no way that I'd ever get on that ride! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1561

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2016, 13:18    Post subject: Re: Other Distros  

Billtoo wrote:
01micko wrote:
@Billtoo

I have downloaded it (via torrent as mirrors in Australia haven't propagated yet) and will install soon.. but at the moment I am busily building the next slacko alpha based on 14.2 (64 for the moment).


Great news, looking forward to that. Smile

Looking forward as well. Does slackware 14.2 still use gtk-2?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2016, 15:44    Post subject: Re: Other Distros  

Sailor Enceladus wrote:

Looking forward as well. Does slackware 14.2 still use gtk-2?


Yes, there is a gtk2 and a gtk3 folder in /usr/lib64.
It compiled Gtktetris for me.
gtktetris.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   64.35 KB
 Viewed   891 Time(s)

gtktetris.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8707
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2016, 18:05    Post subject: Re: Other Distros  

Billtoo wrote:
01micko wrote:
@Billtoo

I have downloaded it (via torrent as mirrors in Australia haven't propagated yet) and will install soon.. but at the moment I am busily building the next slacko alpha based on 14.2 (64 for the moment).


Great news, looking forward to that. Smile


Booted to desktop on second go. Lots of older (slacko) packages don't work due to newer libraries so I'm busy recompiling them. Mtpaint is one so I couldn't scale the screenshot!
Screenshot.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot.jpg 
Filesize  240.03 KB 
Downloaded  248 Time(s) 

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2016, 17:22    Post subject:  

Latest Porteus for modern PCs (2005+), here. Fast, real fast.

Latest Slackware for modern PCs, download is here.

Earlier versions of Slackware for older PCs are still operational and supported. Still works great.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2109

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jul 2016, 19:38    Post subject:  

I've installed Mint 18 (Cinnamon) and Slackware 14.2. Mint looks OK so far but networking still doesn't work in Slackware (on my system anyway).

Oh well, too late in the evening to try and fix it now.

_________________
Packard Bell iMedia 6020 (AMD Athlon 3800+, 4 GB of RAM, 250 GB hard drive) running Sparky 2019.08 (current), Absolute 64, Mint Debian 3.0, Siduction 18.3.0, VLocity 7.2, Puppy Fatdog 8.0.2 and Pardus 17.5 Deepin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3439

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2016, 15:05    Post subject: Debian Jessie KDE frugal  

Assuming you frugal boot using something like grub4dos then ....

Grab a ISO via the Debian Live web site (I clicked on the i386 CD/DVD/USB link around two thirds of the way down that page and opted to grab the KDE version debian-live-8.5.0-i386-kde-desktop.iso )

Open that ISO with ROX or Thunar (or whatever filemanager) and copy the "live" folder over onto your hard disk, perhaps into a new directory called DEB (I created mine on the first HDD 4th partition (sda4) which is numbered hd0,3 in grub4dos terms

Edit your grub4dos menu.lst to include a entry that points to that - mine is shown below, and if you want persistence (changes saved across reboot) then set up a save partition for that (I believe there are ways to use a save folder or save file as alternatives (but I don't know how to do that myself- I'm just outlining the way I did it here).

Code:
# menu.lst
color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
timeout 1
default 0

title DebianLive686 PERSISTENCE
#find --set-root /DEB/live/vmlinuz2
root (hd0,3)
kernel /DEB/live/vmlinuz2 boot=live config persistence quickreboot noprompt showmounts live-media-path=/DEB/live/ config
initrd /DEB/live/initrd2.img

I created sda2 as a new ext3 formatted partition to act as the save (persistence) partition. You have to use gparted or whatever to give that partition a LABEL of "persistence". Create a file called persistence.conf in the root of that partition and edit it to contain just a single line of :

/ union

(there must be a new line after that)

Reboot and you're away. Booting into Debian Jessie KDE and where all changes will be preserved in that persistence partition.

After I'd updated and installed/changed things to how I liked it, I booted a puppy (well DebianDog Jessie actually) and created a sfs (squashfs) of the persistence partition and then merged that changes.squashfs as I called it with the main filesystem.squashfs ... to create a new filesystem.squashfs (that normally sits in the /DEB/live folder) to boot from - that contained all of the original filesystem along with the changes I'd made in a single SFS. Which meant that the persistence partition (like a save folder) could be emptied of everything except the persistence.conf file.

These are the notes I copied off the web to do that (filenames are different, but provides the basis of how to merge two sfs's into one single sfs).

Code:
Lets assume we have a directory on the hard drive where we’ve copied the casper/filesystem.squashfs file on the USB as fs.ro and the casper-rw file as fs.rw. First we mount the aufs by layering these:

mkdir -p tmp-ro tmp-rw tmp-aufs
sudo mount -o loop fs.ro tmp-ro/
sudo mount -o loop fs.rw tmp-rw/
sudo mount -t aufs -o br:tmp-rw:tmp-ro none tmp-aufs/

Now tmp-ro shows the squashfs, tmp-rw shows the changes stored in caster-rw and tmp-aufs shows the layered filesystem as the live OS would see it.

Next we can generate the new squashfs using mksquashfs (from squashfs-tools):

sudo mksquashfs tmp-aufs/ filesystem.squashfs

KDE is pretty heavy on the compositing/animation type effects, and also has a number of neat features that I've discovered so far, such as when you edit the panel you can resize it via dragging. You can drag icons from the likes of /usr/share/applications onto the desktop and then if you right click the desktop and select 'Unlock Widgets' you can then hover over a icon until a vertical bar pops up then grab/drag that bar to move the icon around, and there's even a drag to scale up or down the icon size (each icon can be sized independently of each other). Once finished moving things around right click the desktop and select the 'Lock Widgets' option.

A neat thing with Debian is you get security updates through quickly, and the repository is extensive, albeit stable versions that aren't the latest versions.

My 64 bit PC blew up some months back and whilst I have a new (to me) 64 bit PC gathering dust, I've been using a old single core Celeron 32 bit machine with 2GB of ram as a temporary measure. The above is all running fine on that older hardware ... KDE just isn't as resource heavy beast as it perhaps once was, at least not that I've noticed. Booting a liveCD type ISO boot, but with the files on HDD ... and it runs very well IMO. Took me a while to get to the above stage, so thought I'd share my experiences/observations here to make it easier for others. Don't blame me if you corrupt/crash your system (always remember to make backups first).

PS ... MasterPDFEditor and Skype aren't in the Debian respository, for Skype I just installed it as per how I posted here for DebianDog Jessie Skype For masterpdfeditor I just downloaded and installed from their web site directly. It did take a bit of fiddling around to get sound to work correctly for me. The trick was to install pavucontrol from the repository (via synaptic) and then reboot/run that and set the channels as being shared. Now I can hear both a youtube playing whilst talking on skype (other party doesn't however hear both, only your voice).
snapshot2.png
 Description   Moving and resizing a desktop icon
 Filesize   146.32 KB
 Viewed   539 Time(s)

snapshot2.png

snapshot1.png
 Description   Adjusting the panel height via panel options and dragging
 Filesize   129.31 KB
 Viewed   571 Time(s)

snapshot1.png


Last edited by rufwoof on Sun 10 Jul 2016, 18:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3439

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2016, 16:54    Post subject: Debian Jessie KDE  

Provided the desktop is in focus you can type and up pops a search/list at the top centre of screen. For example galcu .... looking to run galculator and it will suggest that as one of the options available ..... a form of quick launch.

Lots of widgets in KDE. Bouncing ball (soon becomes annoying - and trying to catch it to get rid of it ... Sad ), eyes that track the mouse around the screen (which goes way back in time), and widget resize/move also include a rotation option
snapshot1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   170.11 KB
 Viewed   539 Time(s)

snapshot1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 14306
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2016, 17:52    Post subject:  

rufwoof?

You're a genius! Very Happy

I've been looking forever for the info in your last two posts!

Many, many thanks!

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3439

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2016, 17:57    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
rufwoof?

You're a genius! Very Happy

I've been looking forever for the info in your last two posts!

Many, many thanks!

The cube desktop rotation is a nice feature. Best to look up a how to on youtube however whilst relatively easy to setup its a lot easier to be shown than to textually describe.
snapshot1.png
 Description   KDE desktop cube
 Filesize   115.6 KB
 Viewed   517 Time(s)

snapshot1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3439

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2016, 05:37    Post subject: Re: Debian Jessie KDE frugal  

To extend upon what I posted earlier, here's how you can set up a save file instead of having to use a partition for saves

In the earlier text as quoted below I created a folder called DEB on sda4 for the debian kde system to run in. For me the best place was to create a save file also on sda4 - the save file needs to have the filename "persistence" for debian to automatically pick that up and needs to be in the root folder of that partition. That save file can actually be on any partition, but must be in the root directory.

First create a save file of whatever size you prefer, I opted for 4GB i.e. a count of 4096 in the following dd command

cd /mnt/sda4
dd if=/dev/zero of=/mnt/sda4/persistence bs=1M count=4096

then format that file as a filesystem

mkfs.ext3 /mnt/sda4/persistence

Now we have to attach that as a loop file to a free loop, first I tried

losetup /dev/loop0 persistence

.. but that failed (already used) so next I tried

losetup /dev/loop1 persistence

.. and that worked. i.e. loop1 was obviously free. You might have to keep going until you find a free loop (if so then the code below should be changed to reflect whichever loop number was actually used).

So now we can mount that filesystem, and then create the persistence.conf file within that that Debian needs :

mkdir -p t
mount -t ext3 /dev/loop1 t/
cd t
echo / union >persistence.conf
echo >>persistence.conf
cd ..
umount /dev/loop1

I got rid of the persistence partition that I was using in the earlier example (text below), rebooted and its all now using that 4GB save file.

rufwoof wrote:
Assuming you frugal boot using something like grub4dos then ....

Grab a ISO via the Debian Live web site (I clicked on the i386 CD/DVD/USB link around two thirds of the way down that page and opted to grab the KDE version debian-live-8.5.0-i386-kde-desktop.iso )

Open that ISO with ROX or Thunar (or whatever filemanager) and copy the "live" folder over onto your hard disk, perhaps into a new directory called DEB (I created mine on the first HDD 4th partition (sda4) which is numbered hd0,3 in grub4dos terms

Edit your grub4dos menu.lst to include a entry that points to that - mine is shown below, and if you want persistence (changes saved across reboot) then set up a save partition for that (I believe there are ways to use a save folder or save file as alternatives (but I don't know how to do that myself- I'm just outlining the way I did it here).

Code:
# menu.lst
color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
timeout 1
default 0

title DebianLive686 PERSISTENCE
#find --set-root /DEB/live/vmlinuz2
root (hd0,3)
kernel /DEB/live/vmlinuz2 boot=live config persistence quickreboot noprompt showmounts live-media-path=/DEB/live/ config
initrd /DEB/live/initrd2.img

I created sda2 as a new ext3 formatted partition to act as the save (persistence) partition. You have to use gparted or whatever to give that partition a LABEL of "persistence". Create a file called persistence.conf in the root of that partition and edit it to contain just a single line of :

/ union

(there must be a new line after that)

Reboot and you're away. Booting into Debian Jessie KDE and where all changes will be preserved in that persistence partition.

After I'd updated and installed/changed things to how I liked it, I booted a puppy (well DebianDog Jessie actually) and created a sfs (squashfs) of the persistence partition and then merged that changes.squashfs as I called it with the main filesystem.squashfs ... to create a new filesystem.squashfs (that normally sits in the /DEB/live folder) to boot from - that contained all of the original filesystem along with the changes I'd made in a single SFS. Which meant that the persistence partition (like a save folder) could be emptied of everything except the persistence.conf file.

These are the notes I copied off the web to do that (filenames are different, but provides the basis of how to merge two sfs's into one single sfs).

Code:
Lets assume we have a directory on the hard drive where we’ve copied the casper/filesystem.squashfs file on the USB as fs.ro and the casper-rw file as fs.rw. First we mount the aufs by layering these:

mkdir -p tmp-ro tmp-rw tmp-aufs
sudo mount -o loop fs.ro tmp-ro/
sudo mount -o loop fs.rw tmp-rw/
sudo mount -t aufs -o br:tmp-rw:tmp-ro none tmp-aufs/

Now tmp-ro shows the squashfs, tmp-rw shows the changes stored in caster-rw and tmp-aufs shows the layered filesystem as the live OS would see it.

Next we can generate the new squashfs using mksquashfs (from squashfs-tools):

sudo mksquashfs tmp-aufs/ filesystem.squashfs

KDE is pretty heavy on the compositing/animation type effects, and also has a number of neat features that I've discovered so far, such as when you edit the panel you can resize it via dragging. You can drag icons from the likes of /usr/share/applications onto the desktop and then if you right click the desktop and select 'Unlock Widgets' you can then hover over a icon until a vertical bar pops up then grab/drag that bar to move the icon around, and there's even a drag to scale up or down the icon size (each icon can be sized independently of each other). Once finished moving things around right click the desktop and select the 'Lock Widgets' option.

A neat thing with Debian is you get security updates through quickly, and the repository is extensive, albeit stable versions that aren't the latest versions.

My 64 bit PC blew up some months back and whilst I have a new (to me) 64 bit PC gathering dust, I've been using a old single core Celeron 32 bit machine with 2GB of ram as a temporary measure. The above is all running fine on that older hardware ... KDE just isn't as resource heavy beast as it perhaps once was, at least not that I've noticed. Booting a liveCD type ISO boot, but with the files on HDD ... and it runs very well IMO. Took me a while to get to the above stage, so thought I'd share my experiences/observations here to make it easier for others. Don't blame me if you corrupt/crash your system (always remember to make backups first).

PS ... MasterPDFEditor and Skype aren't in the Debian respository, for Skype I just installed it as per how I posted here for DebianDog Jessie Skype For masterpdfeditor I just downloaded and installed from their web site directly. It did take a bit of fiddling around to get sound to work correctly for me. The trick was to install pavucontrol from the repository (via synaptic) and then reboot/run that and set the channels as being shared. Now I can hear both a youtube playing whilst talking on skype (other party doesn't however hear both, only your voice).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wyzguy

Joined: 13 Oct 2012
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jul 2016, 06:29    Post subject:  

rufwoof,

To find a free loop device, try the following:
fgrep "" /sys/class/block/loop*/size | grep "size:0$"
cat /proc/partitions | grep loop ------ shows the used loop devices.

wyzguy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3439

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jul 2016, 12:20    Post subject:  

wyzguy wrote:
rufwoof,

To find a free loop device, try the following:
fgrep "" /sys/class/block/loop*/size | grep "size:0$"
cat /proc/partitions | grep loop ------ shows the used loop devices.

wyzguy

Thanks

#!/bin/bash
FL=`losetup -f`
echo $FL

also works well Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 156 of 196 [2931 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 154, 155, 156, 157, 158, ..., 194, 195, 196 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.4177s ][ Queries: 13 (0.3496s) ][ GZIP on ]