Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Aug 2017, 21:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
How to use dialup modem? (Solved)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
zippy12

Joined: 13 Jul 2016
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul 2016, 18:36    Post subject: More info
Subject description: Your offer
 

Retain.
My Intel modem is a 573 and its not being found by Wary.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul 2016, 18:45    Post subject:  

zippy, I feel compelled to remind you that this forum is a place where you are asking for help.

Sending very rude PMs to members here will not get you that.

I won't post what you wrote -- it's a PM, it's not meant for that -- but I will say that continuing to be rude to me -- or being rude to anyone else -- has an approximately 100% chance of getting you reported to our resident moderator, with a recommendation to move you along to somewhere more suitable to your temperament.

If you can't be nice to people, you probably shouldn't be here...

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5468
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2016, 12:44    Post subject:  

zippy, it's not necessary in many/most instances to send personal messages to us. Your PM's of thanks to me are not necessary, and don't advance the forum's informational content.

I think that what starhawk has been trying to say, albeit a little undiplomatically, is that you could consider not limiting your internet connectivity options to landline dialup.
Even if you DO wish to stick with dialup, rerwin has suggested that there are more Linux-friendly modems available than Dell/Intel internal models. My personal choice would be the USRobotics 56K V.92 Message Modem - an external full hardware-modem which plugs into a serial port.

Notwithstanding, I will offer some suggestions/solutions based on your existing hardware.

zippy12 wrote:
My Intel modem is a 573

I'm guessing what you really have is Intel 537, and the following assumes this to be the case; some years ago Intel provided proprietary driver source code for the 536 & 537 modems, but it's difficult to compile these drivers against modern Linux kernels.
And I see now that Wary's extensive modem support DOES NOT extend to these Intel 536/537 drivers, which certainly explains why Wary does not detect your modem.

zippy12 wrote:
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

rerwin's last post is your best option, let me recap;
the most recent Puppy versions with the 536/537 drivers available appear to be
- Puppy 4.3.1 (the "SCSI-Intel-modems" version)
- LupuSuper2-5.2.8.7
- Precise-5.7.1-retro

But I just checked now, and it appears to me that LupuSuper and Precise-retro do contain the 536/537 utilities, but NOT the actual drivers.
rerwin, can you please clarify? Do the drivers need to be downloaded separately?

zippy, if you're keen to proceed without waiting for rerwin to reply, you can certainly go ahead and try Puppy 4.3.1 - it definitely contains the 537 driver. You must use this version -
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/puppy-4.3.1/special-puppies/pup-431-k2.6.21.7-scsi-intel_modems.iso
Once booted to this CD, go to -
Menu > Network > PupDial modem dialup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zippy12

Joined: 13 Jul 2016
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2016, 16:42    Post subject: Modem
Subject description: Update
 

I discovered that I misread my Intel PCI modem as being a 573 , but its actually a 537.
Nonetheless , I found a USB modem in my parts that I've had for YEARS , hooked it up , booted Wary Puppy and was on the internet at a good speed , in just a few minutes..
Thanks for all the good suggestions.
I might go back to Ubuntu though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2016, 18:13    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
albeit a little undiplomatically


I asked two questions, and I would like to think I was rather polite in each case.

The first response was oddly indignant. The second response was no-holds-barred rude and was followed by The Silent Treatment.

I don't think I'm the one being "undiplomatic" here, and I have to say, I resent that comment a little bit. Yes, I have Asperger's Syndrome, which is at root a communicative disorder. No, I don't talk about it much. I'm not proud of it. I don't wear it like a crutch, it's not made for that. Yes, it does disorder my communications so that I'm not well understood sometimes. This is especially true when the medium is text-based. There is so much more to communication than simple words.

But I do have my full wits about me, and I know when I'm being snubbed.

zippy is the one who is being immature, not me, and I rather think we all know it -- whether or not we say so "out loud".

So: zippy, I put to you a challenge. Respond, in a mature way, to my remaining question: what is it, to you, that is preferable about dialup?

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12588
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2016, 19:20    Post subject:  

Zippy, don't be so touchy. Smile

In case you don't already know, there are two ways to make a dialup modem:
    1. The hardware modem, which is purpose-built and can do nothing else.
    2. The software modem, aka winmodem, which, as far as I can figure it, is a program that generates all the required waveforms and feeds them tthrouh a fairly high-powered audio amplifier, the output of which is connected to the phone line.
The first computer I owned had a software modem that doubled as the speaker amplifier, and did a very good job of it. Your laptop obviously has a software modem in it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2016, 19:38    Post subject:  

Just wanted to add the note -- zippy, Flash is our resident moderator. You might want to be nicer to him than you have to me...

Just sayin'.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 1921
Location: Wisconsin USA

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2016, 20:47    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
I don't think I'm the one being "undiplomatic" here, and I have to say, I resent that comment a little bit. Yes, I have Asperger's Syndrome, which is at root a communicative disorder. No, I don't talk about it much. I'm not proud of it. I don't wear it like a crutch, it's not made for that. Yes, it does disorder my communications so that I'm not well understood sometimes. This is especially true when the medium is text-based. There is so much more to communication than simple words.


I have Asperger's Syndrome as well so I can understand what you're saying.

_________________
....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2016, 21:00    Post subject:  

I have to say, at least to me, you don't come off sounding like that -- a little headstrong and a lot opinionated... but I'm actually somewhat surprised to hear that you're also an "Aspy" (as a friend of mine in college, who worked with us folks, used to call us).

Nevertheless... my sympathies to you, sir. It sure as heck doesn't make life easier, I can say that...

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
purple379

Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2016, 22:00    Post subject: Dial Up is not always an option, it is a circumstance.  

I live in a small town surrounded by rural areas. Some of those rural areas are either Dial Up only, if one shells out for a hard line. Some of the rural area has the option of DSL from the local phone Co-op (a special monopoly granted because no carrier would invest in this area) Some of this DSL does not work very well, and also is really expensive for someone on limited income.

I also know from my experience, as a Social Security recipient, I used to live in a city which had broadband. I could get a hard line at a limited cost, and felt the cost of broadband internet was too much. Likewise my TV was limited to three channels on antenna, as cable TV was too much. I can recall trekking over every month to pay twelve dollars to keep my Dial Up internet working.

Yes, it is all right to ask why ones internet limited to Dial Up. What is the circumstance, just as a carrying on conversation. That being perhaps a means to advise someone how much better high speed Internet is, and how much more satisfying it is. Plus how they might be able to use high speed (McDonalds, public library)

It is like my brother told me when I was on Dial Up and asked why he paid so much more for high speed, "Once I experienced the difference, I will never go back to Dial Up. It also keeps the phone line open."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5468
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2016, 22:23    Post subject:  

purple379 wrote:
I misread my Intel PCI modem as being a 573 , but its actually a 537.

Yes, as I surmised in my previous post.

purple379 wrote:
I found a USB modem in my parts that I've had for YEARS , hooked it up , booted Wary Puppy and was on the internet at a good speed , in just a few minutes.

Great news. Yes, this illustrates what rerwin and I were suggesting; sure, you can jump through technical hoops to get a non-Linux-friendly device working, but often it's more practical just to swap to a different hardware device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zippy12

Joined: 13 Jul 2016
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jul 2016, 07:30    Post subject: Better news
Subject description: To you
 

Yes , issue solved...........thanks for useful replies.
I don't use internet very much ( I have other interests ), so why throw away money on high speed connection I don't need?.............I prefer to make more sound investments.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jul 2016, 10:59    Post subject:  

That... sort of makes sense.

Although, an argument could be made: you would spend far less time waiting for things to happen, with say DSL (even slow DSL) than with dialup.

But there are other ways of dealing with that.

To paraphrase another member of this forum -- happy modem trails Smile

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
purple379

Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jul 2016, 19:43    Post subject: Speed with dial up  

One last thing. I know with Windows, that if one has a broadband card, and one is not using it. It is best to disable the card in Windows, turn off auto hardware discovery at start up to prevent Windows from re installing the driver for the broadband, as Windows will constantly try to process the errors from the card, waiting for it come online. Killing overall computer response for every thing else.

A better choice is one is devoted to dial up, is to simply remove the card. I do not know how Linux deals with an un-used broadband card, or how to turn off the linux driver to such a card. I know my current MOBO has two NIC connections on the MOBO, which I can not remove.

There are always additional wrinkles to make things work faster.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0609s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]