Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 23:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Booted 1.0.4 CD and it modified my hard disk! (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Forthy1
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 10 Aug 2005, 19:05    Post_subject:  Booted 1.0.4 CD and it modified my hard disk! (Solved)  

Hi all, need some help!

I've just downloaded the puppy live CD image (v1.0.4), set my Pc to boot from the CD, and set it off.

It boots from the CD, does a load of white text ending with "done installing, standby for reboot" at which point it reboots and repeats the process!

Blatently this isn't supposed to happen, and it's also rewritten my bootloader AND copied it's contents to the HDD so that interestingly now that I've taken te Cd out and am booting from the harddisk the exact same thing happens!

What's the crack??
Back to top
Forthy
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 10 Aug 2005, 19:14    Post_subject:  

Hmmm

Ok now when I reboot from the hard disk it asks me to log-in! WTF is my username and password?

LMAO - aren't live CD's supposed to run off the CD? Isn't that the whole point?
Back to top
Bancobusto


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 168
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Wed 10 Aug 2005, 19:50    Post_subject:  

That is very very strange.... Where did you download the ISO from?

You are right, that's not normal. Puppy is not supposed to do those things. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11130
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 10 Aug 2005, 20:03    Post_subject: Re: Booted 1.0.4 CD and it modified my hard disk!  

Forthy wrote:
Hi all, need some help!

I've just downloaded the puppy live CD image (v1.0.4), set my Pc to boot from the CD, and set it off.

It boots from the CD, does a load of white text ending with "done installing, standby for reboot" at which point it reboots and repeats the process!

Blatently this isn't supposed to happen, and it's also rewritten my bootloader AND copied it's contents to the HDD so that interestingly now that I've taken te Cd out and am booting from the harddisk the exact same thing happens!

What's the crack??


I don't think so.

Forthy wrote:
Hmmm

Ok now when I reboot from the hard disk it asks me to log-in! WTF is my username and password?

LMAO - aren't live CD's supposed to run off the CD? Isn't that the whole point?


Respectfully, I think there is something you are not telling us. Something you omitted in your two posts. Nobody is going to figure this out, unless you fill in the blanks. The reason why is - Puppy doesn't work that way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Wed 10 Aug 2005, 20:15    Post_subject: Wont happen  

Am typing this so another user assures you that what you described does not happen with Puppy.
_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug 2005, 01:52    Post_subject:  

I have never seen Puppy do that to a drive either.

I've used Puppy 1.0.1 live CDs in WinME, and WinXP Home/SP1 systems.
I've used Puppy 1.0.2, 1.0.3 & 1.0.4 live CDs in WinME, WinXP Home&Pro/SP1&SP2, and Win2k systems.
I've used Puppy 1.0.1 live CDs on my dual boot WinME and Fedora box.

With Puppy 1.0.2, I replaced WinME on that dual boot box with Puppy.

I've used live CDs and USB thumb drives to boot from and it always does so without touching the hard drives (unless I explicitly told it otherwise).

Please, as Bruce requested, let us know each step you took that caused this to happen. Start with where you downloaded your copy of Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug 2005, 02:48    Post_subject:  

Did you use the md5sum to check if your downloaded iso was intact or corrupted.

Could you supply the specifications of your machine i.e. the make & model, how much RAM it has, the details of the hard drive, partitions and installed operating systems, video details, what peripherals are attached, CDROM, DVD and we will try to figure out WTF happened.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Forthy
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug 2005, 06:12    Post_subject:  

OK, first image I downloaded was from one of the reserve sites on the list (because the main ftp site was down), can't remember which one Sad .

Just downloaded the image again from the main ftp site, and everything is fine!

Playing away to my hearts content.

Dodgy file somwhere along the line then!

Thanks all Smile
Back to top
Forthy
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug 2005, 06:25    Post_subject:  

..and here's a post from the machine in question. Easy when you know how Wink
Back to top
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0606s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]