Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 May 2019, 11:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
XenialDog (Ubuntu 16.04 'Xenial Xerus' LTS, 32-bit)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 68 [1019 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 66, 67, 68 Next
Author Message
Lassar

Joined: 08 Jul 2014
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2016, 19:03    Post subject:  

How do I get XenialDog to manually connect to a static ip address.

I tried the set network connection, and it simply does not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3918
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2016, 14:50    Post subject:  

Lassar wrote:
How do I get XenialDog to manually connect to a static ip address.

I tried the set network connection, and it simply does not work.


Sorry, Lassar, I have very little knowledge about that.
It might be the same way as in Ubuntu.
Maybe explain more about exactly what you tried or found by googling, then hopefully someone else can help.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
The Flying Cat

Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon 17 Oct 2016, 05:35    Post subject:  

Well... wicd gui has option for using static ip.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lassar

Joined: 08 Jul 2014
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Mon 17 Oct 2016, 06:52    Post subject:  

Did some more research.

Turns out that Frisbee had problems with static ip address's.

It was supposed to be fixed. I tried installing the latest version.

No luck with getting a static address to work with Frisbee.


I finally figured out, how to do it manually by editing a couple of files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1941
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Oct 2016, 09:59    Post subject:  

Quote:
Turns out that Frisbee had problems with static ip address's.

It was supposed to be fixed. I tried installing the latest version.
Thanks for mentioning that. Please tell us how you worked around the problem, so that I can use that information to fix frisbee. Better yet, please post that to the frisbee thread, which I monitor.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=898555#898555
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lassar

Joined: 08 Jul 2014
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Tue 18 Oct 2016, 15:27    Post subject:  

Funny thing is Frisbee works very good in tahrpup 64 6.05.

I edited the file /etc/network/interfaces

Replace xx.xxx.xx.xxx with your static ip connections
address is your ip address


#-----------------------------------------------
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address xx.xxx.xx.xxx
netmask xx.xxx.xx.xxx
gateway xx.xxx.xx.xxx
dns-nameservers xx.xxx.xx.xxx xx.xxx.xx.xxx
#------------------------------------------------


edit resolv.conf

replace the nameserver dns ip's with your dns server ip's


--------------------------------------
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4
--------------------------------------

in your terminal type

sudo chattr -i /etc/resolv.conf
sudo ifdown -a
sudo ifup -a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Mon 24 Oct 2016, 12:58    Post subject: Debian package management  

dancytron wrote:
While quirky and puppy use Ubuntu and/or slackware files, they don't use the Ubuntu/Debian package management system. They use Puppy's own package management, which sorry to say, is not as good.

Debian package management was the reason why i tried DebianDOG. And it Works really well.
Due lack of devs both at Ubuntu and at Puppy, Debian packages are no longer compiled or should be compiled by users. As most users are not Linux experts, as me, DebianDog offers an escape.
XenialDog had my preference compared to DebianDOG and MintPUP... Only because i was successful in installing everything (that i need).
If wireless would have been not active, i would have given up. For me it's a no-go item.

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
The Flying Cat

Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon 24 Oct 2016, 13:42    Post subject:  

Tried to change boot kernels (kernel upgrade) with shiny new scripts for DD.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=929740#929740

First roadblock is that "--force-yes" is deprecated and "--allow" is to be used. Used "--allow-change-held-packages". Seems like worked. Second roadblock is that kernel is unupgradable, always "already newest". Looks like kernel upgrade packages is different) Changed "install linux-image-$(uname -r)" to "install linux-image-generic" just to see what will happen. Upgrade happened) Script actually finished but there is some missing files for script and outputted initrd and vmlinuz just dummies (few bytes each).

Posting this in case possibility of such script for XD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3918
Location: holland

PostPosted: Mon 24 Oct 2016, 15:26    Post subject:  

The Flying Cat wrote:
Tried to change boot kernels (kernel upgrade) with shiny new scripts for DD.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=929740#929740

First roadblock is that "--force-yes" is deprecated and "--allow" is to be used. Used "--allow-change-held-packages". Seems like worked. Second roadblock is that kernel is unupgradable, always "already newest". Looks like kernel upgrade packages is different) Changed "install linux-image-$(uname -r)" to "install linux-image-generic" just to see what will happen. Upgrade happened) Script actually finished but there is some missing files for script and outputted initrd and vmlinuz just dummies (few bytes each).

Posting this in case possibility of such script for XD.


Hi Flying Cat,

Yes, here you can clearly see how different Ubuntu is from Debian.
The upgrade-kernel script needs almost a complete rewrite to make it work in XenialDog.
I'm planning to work on similar script for XD soon.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
The Flying Cat

Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Tue 25 Oct 2016, 08:33    Post subject:  

Thank you))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3918
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 25 Oct 2016, 12:09    Post subject:  

Here's attached 'upgrade-kernel' script specially for XenialDog.
Following up from here (for DebianDog) :
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=929740#929740

Probably I'll make some improvements later, e.g. more error checking, but it works OK from what I tested.

EDIT: removed the attachment, made into a package now, install:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install upgrade-kernel

Or install from Synaptic

See here for the improvements made:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=930244#930244

Fred
xendog-20161025173338_679x322.jpg
 Description   Upgraded to latest Ubuntu kernel version
 Filesize   24.11 KB
 Viewed   721 Time(s)

xendog-20161025173338_679x322.jpg


_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak

Last edited by fredx181 on Thu 27 Oct 2016, 10:30; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
roadkill13

Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 152
Location: United States

PostPosted: Tue 25 Oct 2016, 18:00    Post subject: Unable to download ISO  

Download not happening this evening. Multiple attempts fail with "Network Error" after initially downloading a 60 to 130 mb. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
The Flying Cat

Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2016, 10:53    Post subject:  

Just tested 'upgrade-kernel' script. Work as intended and on 16.10 also (4.8 kernel yay)). But I have a few notes ^_^'

It actually required to have both 'initrd.lz' and 'initrd.xz' (I had only '.xz' on testing flashdrive) or there will be mistakes and 'initrd.lz' and 'initrd.xz' will be outputted as dummies, only new 'vmlinuz' would be ok.

While it unpins old kernel, script doesn't pins new kernel packages. I manually pinned them in synaptic just in case.

Working directory for kernel repacking is created on a storage where 'initrd' and 'vmlinuz' resides. Which is understandable but in case of using flash drive it is somewhat slow and destructive. I guess option to use '/tmp' would be appreciated)

And I suggest including this script in the iso on the next iso update:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3918
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2016, 10:25    Post subject:  

The Flying Cat wrote:
Just tested 'upgrade-kernel' script. Work as intended and on 16.10 also (4.8 kernel yay)). But I have a few notes ^_^'

It actually required to have both 'initrd.lz' and 'initrd.xz' (I had only '.xz' on testing flashdrive) or there will be mistakes and 'initrd.lz' and 'initrd.xz' will be outputted as dummies, only new 'vmlinuz' would be ok.

While it unpins old kernel, script doesn't pins new kernel packages. I manually pinned them in synaptic just in case.

Working directory for kernel repacking is created on a storage where 'initrd' and 'vmlinuz' resides. Which is understandable but in case of using flash drive it is somewhat slow and destructive. I guess option to use '/tmp' would be appreciated)

And I suggest including this script in the iso on the next iso update:)


Thanks, good suggestions, modified the script using /tmp/init-work and fixed the case if only one of the initrd's is located.

The pinning at the end should be ok now, pinned "linux-image-generic"
And added a lot more error checking (and e.g. restore from backups created if something went wrong).
Made it into a package now, install:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install upgrade-kernel

Run from Menu > System > Upgrade Kernel

Upgrading to the latest kernel will fix the Dirty COW bug, see also rufwoof's topic about it here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=108674

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
The Flying Cat

Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2016, 14:39    Post subject:  

Wow! Thank you for heads up about vulnerability!
And thank you for amazing kernel upgrader:D It's almost perfect! Well, I mean somebody someday could request GUI or something like that. But! Now it's great! It is simple, fast and very easy to use, even for a casual like myself)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 68 [1019 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 66, 67, 68 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0544s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]