(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 27 Sep 2020, 22:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
tahrpup 6.0.5 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 108 of 120 [1788 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, ..., 118, 119, 120 Next
Author Message
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 2111
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2017, 03:49    Post subject: No Save Icon - Solved  

bigpup wrote:

Look on the flash drive for the file syslinux.cfg. If it contains the clause "pmedia=cd" or something else, change it to "pmedia=usbflash".

Any help?


Yes....interesting,,,,,LinuxLive Creator made the syslinux file with "pmedia=usb"
changing it to "pmedia-usbflash" solved the problem.
Thanks very much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 908
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2017, 08:43    Post subject:
Subject description: Intel network tests
 

sheldonisaac wrote:
666philb (in part) wrote:

i've uploaded a new 6.0.6 iso, can you boot live and test to see if your ethernet automatically works with this one.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/test/tahrpup/tahr-6.0.6-uefi.iso
cheers

Thank you, I'm almost sure it did, will check tomorrow and update this.

Yes, booting with the below line did make an ethernet connection.
Code:
Kernel command line: psubdir=t215 pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck,ram

Thanks again,
Sheldon

00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82577LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 05)

e1000e 154883 0

_________________
Dell E6410: BusterPup, BionicPup64, Xenial, etc
Intel DQ35JOE, Dell Vostro 430
Dell Inspiron, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkingmad

Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb 2017, 07:05    Post subject:
Subject description: Intel network
 

Hello Phil

you asked a few posts ago
Quote:
hi Barkingmad & sheldonisaac,

i've uploaded a new 6.0.6 iso, can you boot live and test to see if your ethernet automatically works with this one.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/test/tahrpup/tahr-6.0.6-uefi.iso
cheers


I've just tried your new ISO ad network just works straight off as Puppies always have before on this computer.

BTW. Thanks for the update of Palemoon to the latest release as well. I was wandering whether it is "safe" to use Palemoon's own updater?

Thanks again
Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 2111
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 06:49    Post subject: pwidgets  

Tahr 6.0.6 32 bit running as bootabable USB.

Pwidgets does not install/run ... Is this a known problem, or have I done something to offend the Linux Ghods?

Any help appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 2007
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 07:11    Post subject:  

Cups not running .........as in Tahrpup 6.0.5......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 2022
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 08:41    Post subject:  

backi wrote:
Cups not running .........as in Tahrpup 6.0.5......


Cups works for me. Do you install something which breaks cups? Try in a live without any program.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 2007
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 12:53    Post subject:  

Hi watchdog !

You are right .........booted with pfix=ram .......does help ....
Before i used my old savefile .....i think have to start a new one .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ledster

Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 88
Location: Devon, England

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 13:17    Post subject:  

Just been trying 6.0.6 32 bit on my toshiba L350 laptop (dual core pentium, 4 gigs memory) with great success. Nothing I have tried has failed yet. However, a check with hardinfo shows it is only seeing 3 gigs of memory, which I assume means this is a non PAE compile. In contrast 6.0.5 32 bit sees all 4 gigs. Is it possible to activate PAE without recompiling the kernel (which is way above my pay grade!)? If not, any chance of a PAE version being produced?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3635
Location: wales ... by the sea

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 14:20    Post subject:  

Ledster wrote:
Just been trying 6.0.6 32 bit on my toshiba L350 laptop (dual core pentium, 4 gigs memory) with great success. Nothing I have tried has failed yet. However, a check with hardinfo shows it is only seeing 3 gigs of memory, which I assume means this is a non PAE compile. In contrast 6.0.5 32 bit sees all 4 gigs. Is it possible to activate PAE without recompiling the kernel (which is way above my pay grade!)? If not, any chance of a PAE version being produced?


hi Ledster,

the 32bit version is noPAE only and i won't be making a PAE version. if your computer is 64bit use the 64bit tahrpup as performance is much better than using 32bit PAE.

you could use one of tahrpups older kernels if you really want PAE.... click on changing kernels in quickpet

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 16:52    Post subject:  

666philb,

You need to make an announcement on Distrowatch about Tahrpup is now at version 6.0.6.
They show only Tahrpup 6.0 and it makes it look like Tahrpup is 2.5 years old.

Slacko looks like the latest version of Puppy and we know better.
Slacko just uses bigger numbers Shocked Rolling Eyes Laughing

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1566

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 17:20    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Slacko looks like the latest version of Puppy and we know better.
Slacko just uses bigger numbers Shocked Rolling Eyes Laughing

Xenialpup is 7.04 and 7.0.7 though, and Slacko beta is only 6.9.6.4. Where did 7.0.6 and 7.0.5 go anyway? Laughing Laughing Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 2111
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2017, 13:41    Post subject: Pupsave Backup  

Running tahr 6.0.6 (Do we need a new thread?) as bootable USB (Moded 13).
When I click on the pupsave backup, tahr makes a save file then asks if I want a compressed backup. The Popup telling me it is creating a save file never disappears...so I have to look in /mnt/home to see if the backup file is there.

Fix please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ledster

Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 88
Location: Devon, England

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2017, 18:02    Post subject:  

Hi 666philb

Many thanks for your quick reply.
Tried the change kernel with my current save file - worked, but a bit messy. So tried again with no save file (ie a clean start) using your 3.14.11_PAE kernel. Worked great with 4 gigs showing. Installed my favourite programs - no problems.
Sometime in the near future I MUST try 6.0.6 64 bit.
Thanks for all your efforts.

One small point, the change kernels link in quickpet does not work

Quickpet link
http://ftp.nluug.nl/ibiblio/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-tahr/kernels/

This one works:
http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/puppy-tahr/kernels/

Cheers

Ledster
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chillinfart

Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb 2017, 05:55    Post subject:  

Two questions.

- I have an Intel centrino, which doesn't support PAE. New 6.0.6 still support this CPU?
- Kernel Issues with Pupdial at 6.0.5. Doesn't connect due to lack of support of PPP filtering. Also, dialer doesn't let the authentication fields empty. My ISP doesn't use passwords to connect (Bitel/Viettel, 3G provider).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1748

PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb 2017, 16:19    Post subject:  

@666philb

I've now rebuilt the 32-bit version of the nvidia 304.134 driver from scratch in a new installation. I downloaded the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-304.134.run file myself directly from nvidia, and specified this on the command line. It verified archive integrity before compiling.

I've also extracted the contents of the resulting .pet. The files match the contents of a successfully running system.

This is a very old driver for a low-powered chip set, compared to anything on the market today. The .run file contains binary data coded in base64 as printable characters, and is 41,201,159 bytes large. This should result in a smaller binary driver, which weighs in at 30,723,572 bytes.

This is the version I have uploaded to my directory at smokey01, along with md5sums. I did not try to build the sfs.

So far, I have only done the driver for the 32-bit version, because I am actually using the 64-bit system for some work. I'll create another clean installation and compile on it. This will go in my tahr64 directory when it is finished.

I still have no idea where the tiny version of the pet came from. It should be roughly around the same size. This was not just lost in transfer, I have a file that size here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 108 of 120 [1788 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, ..., 118, 119, 120 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0677s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0138s) ][ GZIP on ]