Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 29 Mar 2017, 03:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
compaq evo no pcmcia?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
specialpuppy

Joined: 05 Mar 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun 05 Mar 2017, 11:30    Post subject:  compaq evo no pcmcia?
Subject description: need drivers i think
 

hello, new pup here. I loaded slacko 6.3.0 on my OLD laptop and am wondering how to get it to recognise the wifi port? my ethernet works fine just no wifi. HELP Confused

steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2413
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 05 Mar 2017, 21:51    Post subject:  

Hi, specialpuppy.

Mmm. I take it you're using a CardBus wireless adapter, running from the PCMCIA slot, yes?

PCMCIA stuff is pretty old by now.....yet it still works very well. I use one of these:-

https://www.amazon.com/Netgear-WPN511NA-CARDBUS-ADAPTER-802-11G/dp/B0009PTGBA%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAILSHYYTFIVPWUY6Q%26tag%3Dduckduckgo-d-20%26linkCode%3Dxm2%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3DB0009PTGBA

.....in a 14-yr old Dell Inspiron laptop:-





.....and it's absolutely stable. The driver for this particular model's chipset has been supported by the Linux kernel for a looong time. That's the crux of the problem, really; does the kernel of your Puppy support the chipset of your wireless adapter?

I only bought this one a little over a year ago; the laptop is original, and after multiple upgrades still hums along sweetly. I wanted a 'period' adapter that would have been on the market at the time the Dell itself was new.

It works perfectly.

One problem that you come to realise with running Linux is this, in a nutshell; most drivers (the kernel is almost entirely nothing but drivers (better than 90%), which is why you never, or only rarely, need to install them) have to be 'reverse-engineered' from their Windows counterparts. Which takes time. It's no use wanting to use brand-new stuff, even with a brand-new Linux kernel.....driver support for it won't yet have been added.

So it makes sense, when buying hardware, to dig a little, and find out about driver support at the time of shopping for it. You're generally OK with PCMCIA/CardBus stuff, since the tech is 'old-hat' now. However, there are some wireless chipset manufacturers whose stuff has always been a PITA to work with in Linux. One of these is Broadcom.

It will help immensely to know what make/model of PCMCIA card we're talking about here. It will allow us to 'dig' a little, and find out what the state of play is with the chipset. You must understand, the more details you can give us, the greater the likelihood we can help. We're not too good with a crystal ball!! Laughing

Machine specs would also be good, too; make, model, CPU, RAM, HDD, graphics card (if any), etc.

BTW:- You would have been better posting this in the beginners forum; this one is mainly for Puppy-specific system & hardware/firmware development threads. The 'PCMCIA' descriptor has been there ever since the Forum was first set up back in 2005.....

It would have been 'cutting-edge'.....at that time! Smile


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
specialpuppy

Joined: 05 Mar 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 08 Mar 2017, 19:34    Post subject:  

Hello Mike, sorry for not getting back sooner. well to shed light on this both my encore electronics 54mbps 802.11g and my Linksys 2.4ghz 802.11g do not work. its like the port is dead no power lights on either. I personally dont think it is the cards but something not turned on.
Compaq evon620c
intel pentium M 1600mhz

Thanks Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2413
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 08 Mar 2017, 20:32    Post subject:  

Hi, Steve.

Mm. Okay. Without an actual model no. for either wireless card, I'm going to take an educated guess here:-

Is the Linksys one of these?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-WPC54G-Linksys-Cisco-Wireless-G-Notebook-Laptop-PC-Card-2-4-GHz-WiFi-Adapter-/112327360642?hash=item1a273b8082:g:xqIAAOSw1DtXKI2d

...or one of these?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Linksys-Wireless-PC-Card-For-Notebooks-WPC11-Ver-3-Laptop-Wifi-PCMCIA-/302225964243?hash=item465e123cd3:g:XaAAAOSwfVpYpOhM

As for the Encore Electronic card, could it be one of these?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Encore-Electronics-802-11g-Wireless-PC-Card-Adapter-ENPWI-G2-/282019124652?hash=item41a9a655ac:g:qXQAAOSwiYFXIO5f

I need confirmation on these (if at all possible), as it's pointless trying to determine the relevant chipsets without having anything definite to work from. Having determined the chipsets, we can then use the Wikidevi site to narrow down the probable Linux kernel drivers for the same....okay?

I'll leave that one with you.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
specialpuppy

Joined: 05 Mar 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 08 Mar 2017, 22:35    Post subject:  

hey Mike yes first and last are what i have. so... now what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4480
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar 2017, 01:00    Post subject:  

When you boot go into the bios setup (F1, F2, F8, F11 or maybe even esc depending on model??) and look for options relating to pcmcia. I seem to recall options like "legacy" and also "ToPic" or something similar. See what it lets you change and give all options a try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2413
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar 2017, 08:21    Post subject:  

Hi again, specialpuppy. Now, then...

The Linksys adapter apparently came in several different versions.....each of which used a different chipset! It's about what I expected; there was a lot of chopping & changing of components with manufacturers, at the time when these were on the market originally. Plus, as expected, there were many 'generic' manufacturers who sold their products on to bigger firms, who in their turn simply re-badged them as their own product.

Is your card a WPC54GR, a WPC54GX, or a WPC54GS (with a specific revison/version number.....anywhere from v1.0 to v7.0)?

This revision/version number is very important, as it appears Linksys were, at that time, using no fewer than 9 or 10 different chipsets!!! Every one of which will want a different driver..... Rolling Eyes If it's a v2, a v4, or a v5, you are going to be out of luck, I'm afraid. I'm really hoping it's a v7; the 'ath5k' driver is what powers my own card, and that's been supported for years.

If it's a v1.0, v1.1, v1.2, v3.0, or a v3.1, then it's a Broadcom chipset. They're a PITA to work with, but it is 'do-able'.....it'll be the 'b43', or 'b43 legacy' driver.

If it's a GR, it'll be a Ralink chipset. If it's a GX, you are going to be totally out of luck.....I've never even heard of the 'Airgo' chipset.....and Wikidevi states that it simply doesn't exist. Period.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

As for the Encore Electronics card, I can't even find a Wikidevi listing for that particular beast, so it's entirely possible that nobody's ever attempted to use it under Linux. More likely it's a re-badged 'generic' card.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

If you plug either of them in, boot into Puppy on that machine, then bring up a terminal and enter

Code:
lspci


.....and hit the 'Enter' button, it should bring up a list of recognised PCI devices. Can you copy that list & paste it into your next post, please? It will help enormously with getting a specific ID. That, and the version number, of course..!


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2413
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar 2017, 08:36    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
When you boot go into the bios setup (F1, F2, F8, F11 or maybe even esc depending on model??) and look for options relating to pcmcia. I seem to recall options like "legacy" and also "ToPic" or something similar. See what it lets you change and give all options a try.


Hey, greengeek.

Mm. Y'know, I've never even heard of the option for PCMCIA being in the BIOS. Certainly it doesn't exist in my own Dell, despite having the slot and bus for it built-in.....

Is this summat you've come across yourself, or is this an educated guess? Laughing

Anything's possible, I suppose...


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
specialpuppy

Joined: 05 Mar 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 11 Mar 2017, 15:58    Post subject:  

Hey Mike probably a dumb question but I do have the linsys install cd.i also installed ndiswrapper, dont know how to use it but...
I did what you said but when i try to copy and paste. no luck.from what i have found my cards are NOT supported. but maybe if I could just load the CD?

Thanks Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
specialpuppy

Joined: 05 Mar 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 11 Mar 2017, 16:00    Post subject:  

oh yea i tryed going into BIOS and changing options. No LUCK Crying or Very sad
Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2413
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 11 Mar 2017, 20:19    Post subject:  

Hi, Steve.

Mm. Well, if you want to use a CardBus wireless adapter (and it's not a bad idea, since it does leave your USB ports totally free), and you don't mind perhaps forking out a small amount of dosh for a new one, I can recommend a couple that are guaranteed to work.

This one:-

https://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-WPN511-RangeMax-Wireless-802-11G/dp/B0007YQO2M%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAILSHYYTFIVPWUY6Q%26tag%3Dduckduckgo-d-20%26linkCode%3Dxm2%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3DB0007YQO2M

...and this one:-

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NETGEAR-108-Mbps-Wireless-PC-Card-32-bit-CardBus-Adapter-WG511T-/232248310971?hash=item361313fcbb%3Ag%3AkqsAAOSw4CFYo0xX

These two are only examples; you can find these all over the place on eBay & Amazon. I only picked these two out at random, for illustration purposes.....but they will not 'break the bank'.

Both of these use the Atheros AR5005GS chipset, which runs via the 'ath5k' driver.....and that's been supported by the Linux kernel since time out of mind. It might be easier to do it this way; most of these cards are easily available quite cheaply nowadays, since it's pretty old technology.....and it'll definitely be simpler than trying to get your cards running using the Windows driver under ndiswrapper. I can't advise on that, since it's not something I've ever attempted to do, I'm afraid.

More & more manufacturers are beginning to support their products with Linux drivers nowadays.....but this technology dates back around a decade, when the situation was very different. For these, it's definitely easier in the long run to do your research and make certain that what you're buying will actually work, before you part with your cash..! Smile

Up to you, of course.....it's only a suggestion. Let us know what you want to do.

--------------------------

RE:- Copy/pasting from the terminal. Sorry, I should have explained this bit.....and it's useful to know for future reference, anyway.

Pup's terminal is often referred to as a bit 'dozy'; the copy/paste operation is distinctly odd, till you get used to it! To copy, simply highlight the section you want to copy; don't do anything else. To paste, you need to click your middle mouse button (usually clicking your scroll wheel does it.....or if using a lappie, clicking on both left & right buttons at the same time).

Hope that helps.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4480
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 12 Mar 2017, 02:57    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
I've never even heard of the option for PCMCIA being in the BIOS. Certainly it doesn't exist in my own Dell, despite having the slot and bus for it built-in.....

Is this summat you've come across yourself, or is this an educated guess?
Yep, I have seen it a lot in my systems. For some reason I seem to gravitate towards Toshiba lappies, so maybe it's a brand thing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
specialpuppy

Joined: 05 Mar 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon 20 Mar 2017, 15:10    Post subject:  

Hello Mike I'm back. I got the netgear card you recomended and with a little bit of work i did get it installed. However, my WIFI icon is green but still can't connect??? ready for orders Sir Smile

Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2413
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 20 Mar 2017, 20:41    Post subject:  

Hi, Steve.

Thought you'd gone AWOL on us. Nice to see you back.....

You're running Slacko 6.3.0, yes? And you say your wireless icon is green?

Have you actually run the Connection Wizard yet? (Menu->Setup->Internet Connection Wizard) You should get three choices; Simple Network Setup (SNS for short), Frisbee (specifically for wireless, although I've never been able to make it work), and 'Dougal's' Network Wizard.

You'll need to 'scan' for your router's SSID. In SNS, it'll be entered automatically, and you'll just need to enter your router's password. In 'Dougal's', you'll need to add your password, followed by first 'saving' the profile, and then 'loading' it.

'Dougal's' gives you the greatest degree of control, but SNS is definitely the easiest to use.

After you've done that, you'll need to run the firewall setup again; it's a well-documented 'bug' in getting a network connection 'up-and-running' in Slacko 6.3.0.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4480
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 21 Mar 2017, 03:25    Post subject:  

specialpuppy wrote:
Hello Mike I'm back. I got the netgear card you recomended and with a little bit of work i did get it installed. However, my WIFI icon is green but still can't connect???
Do you mean you can't connect to the router or you can't connect to the internet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0865s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]