Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 19 Sep 2017, 13:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to move Puppy frugal install to a new computer? (SOLVED)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
sarakay

Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon 20 Mar 2017, 12:50    Post subject:  How to move Puppy frugal install to a new computer? (SOLVED)  

Hi, I've been using Puppy for years but have a beginner question.

I have a Puppy frugal install of Tahrpup running well on a Thinkpad T61. I've bought a new-to-me Thinkpad T420. Will be installing a new SSD in the T420.

Can I do a frugal Tahrpup install on the new laptop, then move the savefolder over to it and just tweak the settings?

I'm also running VirtualBox from an sfs on the old computer. After copying the sfs to new new computer, can I move my virtual XP machine or will it have to be reinstalled?

Thanks!

Last edited by sarakay on Fri 24 Mar 2017, 15:56; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1493
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Mon 20 Mar 2017, 17:12    Post subject:  

I suspect you will need to create a new savefile for the new machine, however, try, it won't hurt

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9258
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Mar 2017, 17:33    Post subject:  

The difference in hardware may give you problems.
Really depends on how different they are.
Video driver setup and network are usually the big issues.

Only way to really know what will happen is just do it.

Same for the VirtualBox sfs and the virtual XP machine.
Hardware differences will be the issues how well it corrects to at least get it running.

Check all setup and config settings.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2174
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 20 Mar 2017, 22:20    Post subject:  

Could work but you may have bootup problems because of different hardware setup. You will probably have to run xorgwizard at bootup. If you can't get it to boot, it may be worth a try to delete the /etc directory in the savefolder first before booting. Your savefolder must be on a linux partition on your new machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1158
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Mar 2017, 22:33    Post subject:  

JMHO

I would consider booting off the CD/DVD rather than migrate. Save your important stuff on a USB stick (the newer the better) including browser bookmarks.

Regards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sarakay

Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue 21 Mar 2017, 14:18    Post subject:  

OP here. Thanks folks, it doesn't seem to be looking good for just moving the save folder, does it? Thought I would do it to save time, but it might take more time to tweak it and solve problems than it would to just reinstall everything.

Side note: new-to-me laptop has Win10 preinstalled. Can't wait to get rid of it!

Take care,
Sara
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 2875
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Wed 22 Mar 2017, 07:42    Post subject:  

I have done something similar several times in the past and Puppy seemed to cope quite well.
_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1897
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Wed 22 Mar 2017, 09:18    Post subject:  

Same experience as Burn_it. Usually works. Worth trying. Worse case scenario, it doesn't and you have to start from scratch, having wasted a couple of minutes.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 394
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Wed 22 Mar 2017, 09:36    Post subject:  

I just move the save file /folder to the new install....works 99% of the time for me. It matters it seems, what format the drive with the original copy of the savefile is, and that the new drive the save file is being moved to matches.
Other than that I think just moving the save file will work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 857
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed 22 Mar 2017, 10:06    Post subject:  

I move frugal installs between several quite different hardware setups often. Pretty much exclusively on the 'newer' pups in my signature. I clean/edit and filecheck the savefile before moving as follows (make a copy, rename it and mount it to edit, unmount and filecheck it).
Delete the following files:
/~/.flsynclient #avoids problems with different screen & touchpad resolution and capabilities
/etc/asound.state # avoids problems with different sound cards
/etc/udev/rules.d/70-libmtp.rules #avoids IO port renumbering
/etc/X11/xorg.conf #overall config, autogenerated in newer pups
/etc/pwf/pwf.conf #I use PWF 4.1 for connections, Re-setup of Frisbee etc. will usually be necessary as port naming often changes

Going from memory here but I don't think I've left any out. Without this minor cleanup lockups are common. With it, seldom to never on my machines. Lots faster for me than generating new savefiles with my setup on each class of machine I use.

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy X-slacko 4.3 and X-tahr 2.0 for my users; LxPupSc and LxPupXenial for me. All good pups indeed, and all running browsers, office etc. solely from SFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 394
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Wed 22 Mar 2017, 11:22    Post subject:  

Hey @Marv Thanks for this information...very valuable stuff!
totally helpful....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2920
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 22 Mar 2017, 12:15    Post subject:  

Can't see a problem with that at all. As Burn_IT & mikeslr have said, shouldn't give any issues. If I'm going to 'migrate' between machines, I simply copy the entire partition the Puppy 'frugal' sits in.....not just the save-file/folder.

I've done this many times, and 99 times out 100 it goes OK. If this works going from an AMD 64-bit dual-core set-up on an old Compaq desktop to an Intel, 32-bit single-core setup on an even older Dell laptop, I don't think you'll have a problem; your two machines are far more closely-related than my own two.

In any case, Pup will auto-detect the hardware before it loads the kernel modules, so you're pretty much certain to have the right hardware config.

Just my tuppence-worth, from my own experience.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Wed 22 Mar 2017, 20:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sarakay

Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed 22 Mar 2017, 20:27    Post subject:  

OP here. You guys are giving me hope. I'm going to try it. The SSD is already in the new laptop, formatted ext3 just like the drive where puppy is currently installed. The new laptop has a second HDD caddy, so I will remove the HDD from the old laptop, put it in the new one's second HDD caddy, and just copy everything over to the SSD via Tahrpup running off a USB drive. We'll see how it goes. Thanks!

EDIT: It worked! Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1175s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0108s) ][ GZIP on ]