Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 21 Jul 2018, 18:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Current Browsers for Puppy Linux Developers and Users
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [53 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2476
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2017, 12:45    Post subject: Light =Firefox light  

Hi All,

Just wanted to alert you to Geoffrey's discovery, a lean version of firefox. Some discussion starts here:http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=939691#939691

Googling lead me here for the 64-bit rpm, https://sourceforge.net/projects/lightfirefox/, and here for the 32-bit rpm, https://sourceforge.net/projects/lightfirefox/files/47/201606092049_gcc232/. Do your own search for latest publications. Menu>Utilities>UExtract will decompress the rpms providing you with a folder you can move anywhere and rename (as in remove version number etc).

Haven't played much, but it appears that light can use some of firefox's addons, and has a couple of its own.

To open the 64bit version, browse to [light-folder]/usr/local/lib/light/ and click one of the binaries named light and light-bin. I'm not sure what the difference between those are.

The attached pet for light(64-bit) will create a menu entry. It calls the binary simply named light. But you'll have to edit the bash script at /root/my-applications/bin so that the path actually points to where ever your light bin file is located.

I thought the icon for light was too non-descript; so stole another.

Edit: I've tried the 32-bit version in 32-bit Tahrpups, Xenialpups and Carolina Vanguard. Worked fine for the former two. Would not open in Carolina, reporting that a libatomic.so.1 was not found. I found an rpm which had it and packaged it as a pet. Installed into Vanguard fixed the problem. I'm posting from it/them, now. I really like this browser. I've attached the pet.

As you may know, Carolina Vanguard was battleshooter's remaster that included newer graphics libraries. Carolina, itself, was based on Saluki, which was a remaster of Racy; and Racy was Barry K's Puppy, companion to Wary, the two differing primarily in the kernel employed. Whether Light (with or without) the missing pet will function on any of Vanguard's forebears is unknown. Worth a trial-run, however.

Further discussion here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=939728#939728

mikesLr
lib4Light4Carolina.pet
Description  lib required to run Light(firefox) under Carolina Vanguard
pet

 Download 
Filename  lib4Light4Carolina.pet 
Filesize  8.65 KB 
Downloaded  172 Time(s) 
light64_external.pet
Description  Creates Menu listing for 64-bit Light Webbrowser. But see paragraph about where you've located the light folder
pet

 Download 
Filename  light64_external.pet 
Filesize  28.83 KB 
Downloaded  156 Time(s) 

Last edited by mikeslr on Sat 18 Feb 2017, 19:47; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jan 2017, 04:10    Post subject: 32bits version tested with Pupjibaro Jessie Synaptic..  

32bits version tested with Pupjibaro Jessie Synaptic.. No trouble with it. To keep for rescue for Puppies delivered without a browser or with elinks, for instance.
See Musher0 topic about it. Light 49 test by josejp2424, the Pupjibaro Jessie developer feed back.

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Wed 29 Mar 2017, 05:24    Post subject: Lib atomic, that is what i am looking for...  

Lib atomic, that is what i am looking for...
Version GTK2 32 bits should be worth a try in Slim X-slacko by mistfire.
I am also curious to try rpm packages. No dev thought about a Puppy Fedora ? another way to go the same place..

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3921
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 29 Mar 2017, 18:38    Post subject:  

Hi, Pelo.

If you need libatomic, you can find it here, at my MediaFire a/c:-

http://www.mediafire.com/file/dqjez1q1144adad/libatomic-so.1.pet

Hope that helps!


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Thu 30 Mar 2017, 12:32    Post subject: lib atomic  

Mike Walsh i will try with your pet ! Merci
_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue 20 Mar 2018, 20:49    Post subject:  Is there any way to eliminate thumbnails saved in cache?  

Is there any way to eliminate thumbnails saved in cache in some of the browsers? Just curious.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1602
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Mar 2018, 21:11    Post subject:  

In FireFox there is this entry in about:config

browser.pagethumbnails.capturing_disabled

Set this to TRUE

PaleMoon and SeaMonkey sould be similar if not the same.

Regards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913

Some people need to reimagine their thinking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 3105
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2018, 07:35    Post subject:  

I find wrong that the browsers needing frequent upgrades like seamonkey or firefox are included in the main distribution's sfs. some puppy's uses a second sfs (zdrv). it would be better to do the same with the browsers, add a "standard_browser.sfs" in each iso so that users can update themself (or find in the forum) an/that supplementary sfs and enjoy so an actual system concerning browser security!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1602
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2018, 08:25    Post subject:  

Define "Standard Browser"

I've been running FF27 for over 3 years. Some folks run older browsers even longer. You might have an 'internet addiction' problem.

_________________
Linux user #498913

Some people need to reimagine their thinking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 3105
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2018, 10:54    Post subject:  

Hi 8Geee

standard_browser is the name used to link in the main.sfs, is a target name

and each file supplying an operable complete standard browser with his good specific environment (can be used by different puppy's) is an adequate "standard_browser.sfs" completing the puppy's awaiting to meet such a file because no browser in it's main sfs file Wink . and this browser found in the "standard_browser.sfs" become the place "defaultbrowser" in /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser

the main file of the puppy doesn't know which one it will meet in the standard_browser.sfs but know only if it meet that file, if that file is really present in the easy or the frugal installation: it has to contain the standard browser decided by the creator of the iso or, later, the administrator of the system (if he decides to change later the first equipment because of the updating / upgrating of the browser or some plugins).

and it can be each browser decided by that creator or administrator: he, the creator or administrator, has to solve all the problem of adaptation between both!

other supplementary browsers can eventually be installed parallel but they don't get the functions confered to the standard browser. they only appear in the menu.

as the main used browser in official puppy's is seamonkey, that package "standard_browser.sfs" gets also the fonctions "defaultmail", "defaulthtmlviewer", "defaulthtmleditor" and "defaultaddressbook" (possibly also a "default-irc-client", but would be new at /usr/local/bin!).

how is answering after invocation of one of above links is matter of the creator or administrator!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3393
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2018, 11:03    Post subject:  

oui wrote:
I find wrong that the browsers needing frequent upgrades like seamonkey or firefox are included in the main distribution's sfs. some puppy's uses a second sfs (zdrv). it would be better to do the same with the browsers, add a "standard_browser.sfs" in each iso so that users can update themself (or find in the forum) an/that supplementary sfs and enjoy so an actual system concerning browser security!

All my builds do exactly that....

For LxPupSc, LxPupSc64 and Upup-Artful-Aardvark and Upup-Bionic-Beaver

Light is the browser in the adrv which can be replaced by Chromium, Firefox, FirefoxESR, Palemoon, Seamonkey, Slimjet, Vivaldi, Min etc.

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2018, 12:44    Post subject:  

8Geee wrote:
In FireFox there is this entry in about:config

browser.pagethumbnails.capturing_disabled

Set this to TRUE

PaleMoon and SeaMonkey sould be similar if not the same.

Regards
8Geee


Which one of the words I need to change in
'browser.pagethumbnails.capturing_disabled'

Great! Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hamoudoudou


Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 1318
Location: rabat

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2018, 06:56    Post subject: Light 47 For a Slacko  

seamonkey, palemoon ... no trouble with them.. But QtWeb no.. i need better.. i am searching for Light 47 For a Slacko remasterized by Hungariand dev (Slegopen)
Light 48 and 49 ask GTK 3 which is too much.
That is just to try LIGHT with a Puppy Slacko . Sure i will not loose my time searching, i saw the answer in the forum.. Searching..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2018, 15:30    Post subject:  

hamoudoudou,

Are u talking about my question or else? I couldn't find this folder
about:config anyway

so I'm still stuck with it (the solution) ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
a_salty_dogg


Joined: 15 Dec 2013
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2018, 19:15    Post subject:  

@kuman11

Open your browser and in the url bar of an empty tab type "about:config" (without the quotation marks but make sure to include the colon between about and config) and hit return.

The first time you do this, you'll be presented with a warning saying something like you'll promise to be careful; just click "OK".

Then in the next window which opens type or paste into the white search bar at the top "browser.pagethumbnails.capturing_disabled" (again without the quotation marks).
This should locate that config line for you which is the one you need to edit,
If its value is showing as "false", double clicking your cursor anywhere on the line will change that value to "true".

Then close the tab, close and restart the browser, and you should be sorted.

Note this line appears in both Firefox & Light browsers' config settings but doesn't seem to exist in Palemoon, so don't bother if you're using that.

Please do be careful whenever you're working in "about:config" and never edit anything you're not totally sure about. There will be no confirmation dialogue boxes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [53 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0668s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0153s) ][ GZIP on ]