Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 18 Nov 2017, 12:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Using AppImages in Puppy...
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [52 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 02 Apr 2017, 11:01    Post subject:  

"Updated" does indeed flip those listings. Do we care? Wink No.
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9503
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 02 Apr 2017, 21:07    Post subject:  

Anyone got an idea on how to get around this "will not run, if you are running as root" thing?
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chapchap70

Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Posts: 205
Location: The Island Of Long (NY, USA)

PostPosted: Sun 02 Apr 2017, 23:15    Post subject:  

Try this in a terminal

Code:
su - spot


then start the program from there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
riedzig

Joined: 01 Oct 2015
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon 03 Apr 2017, 00:43    Post subject:  

Many more appimages that start in Xenialpup64 7.0.7 (not tested all their functions):

Atom
AzPainter
Calibre
Digikam (only 5.3.0)
EncryptPad
FBReader
FlowBlade
Hugin (only 2.0)
Ipe
IrScrutinizer
Kdenlive
Marble
MrWriter
Okular (starts with a blank page when used as "open with" or "run action")
Skanlite
XnView
Xara Xtreme
SublimeText
Peruse
Avidemux
Openshot
Natron
MediaInfo
Leafpad
Krita
KeePassXC
Kate
Inkscape
FontForge
Darktable
BlueGriffon
BlueFish
Ktube
SerPlayer
MuseScore (only randomly selected nightlies)
PhotoFlow
QCTools
Peek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3134
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 03 Apr 2017, 05:06    Post subject:  

Mmm. That's good to know. Especially that Pup's slightly unusual implementation of many Linux 'standards' doesn't prevent stuff like this from working correctly.

Nice one.

I did try FlowBlade in Tahr64 605, but it claimed the glibc was too old..! (It's 2.19; FB only wants 2.15, fer Chrissakes.....)


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Marley

Joined: 26 Sep 2014
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 00:36    Post subject:  

Hi,
I just tried out an appimage for Synfig 1.2 using precise 5.7.1 - it didn't work.

When I tried from the console (urxvt) there were so many error messages I couldn't read the first ones because they disappeared as the error messages scrolled upwards!

Eventually with the help of screeny I managed to see that the first error message was that lbconfig could not be found

Could that first problem lead to all the rest? Why can't I run lbconfig but only get told 'command not found'?

Otherwise I tried subsurface appimage that I believe was offered on that main page for appimage (not the one that has all the packages available) - and that worked fine though I have no need for the program as I don't dive Rolling Eyes

If something is packaged as an appimage only is it then going to be impossible to get it to work on puppy if it won't work with the appimage because it being an image sort of makes it not able to be changed at all, right? I suppose then unless you can get ahold of the binaries you can't really use the program if that's the only way it's packaged? Is that right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3134
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 09 Apr 2017, 16:16    Post subject:  

Evening, all. An 'update' for you...

For anybody who might be looking to break away from Skype's stranglehold, there's a new one you might be interested in. I know there's a few others, like Ekiga, Linphone, et al.....but, like Skype, this one not only does VOIP stuff but also the usual messaging chat as well.

It's called Wire. It's in the AppImage listings mentioned at the start of this thread, but, as with everything on that site, it's 64-bit only. However, there is a 32-bit AppImage available. If you go to Wire's own 'get the app' page:-

https://wire.com/en/download/

.....and scroll down, the Linux d/loads are at the bottom right of the page. If you click on the dropdown, underneath where it says 'Get Source Code' below the penguin, you'll see a listing for 'AppImage 32-bit'. Click on this, and it'll open your 'Downloads' dialogue box, ready to save it.

It's in the same style as the 'Telegram' instant messaging app which I've also been playing about with in recent months.....very sparse, and 'modern'-looking. It does, however, work nicely, firing up without hesitation in every Pup I've tried it in, 32- and 64-bit alike. And because it's cloud-based, as soon as you've created an account & set it all up in your first Pup, everything's 'ready-to-go' when you fire it up in subsequent Pups. Plus, it's totally cross-platform.

Astonishingly, too, it detected the webcam correctly, and not only set-up the webcam's mike by default, but also gives you the option of which mike input to use, too. Handy for me, since I prefer using a headset/mic combo if I'm Skyping.

I roped my sister into playing guinea pig earlier on today from her Win 7 lappie.....and she, too, was pleasantly surprised at how good it was.

This one's recommended. Very Happy


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9503
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 10 Apr 2017, 02:25    Post subject:  

Marley wrote:
Hi,
I just tried out an appimage for Synfig 1.2 using precise 5.7.1 - it didn't work.


I got it to work OK in Xenialpup 7.0.8.1

Got it from here:
https://www.fosshub.com/Synfig.html
Make sure you get the 32bit AppImage

Like any Linux program.
They require specific dependency files/programs to be in the Linux OPS.
Precise 5.7.1 may have them, but they are too old.
The Synfig website is not providing the info on what is needed in the Linux OPS as support.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2005
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Thu 13 Apr 2017, 12:30    Post subject: AppImages for 32-bit Operating Systems  

Hi All,

There are AppImages for 32-bit Operating Systems. For example, digikam, https://download.kde.org/stable/digikam/ where the 32-bit AppImages include the identifier i386.

But they are few and far between. The best way to find one, if it exists, may be to do a web-search using the terms "appimage 32 bit NAME_OF_APPLICATION".

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marley

Joined: 26 Sep 2014
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu 13 Apr 2017, 21:26    Post subject:  

Quote:
I got it to work OK in Xenialpup 7.0.8.1

Got it from here:
https://www.fosshub.com/Synfig.html
Make sure you get the 32bit AppImage

Like any Linux program.
They require specific dependency files/programs to be in the Linux OPS.

Precise 5.7.1 may have them, but they are too old.
The Synfig website is not providing the info on what is needed in the Linux OPS as support.


Thanks bigpup.

I have the 32bit but I might download again just in case there's a glitch in my file.

I posted the problem over on synfig too - they asked to see my error messages which were numerous beyond belief - pages and pages - old dependencies make sense. Maybe I'll ask synfig if they can be listed. Is it possible to update old dependency files if you know what they are? I've added dependencies but that's when they're totally missing -can you update them too? Or would I have to switch puppies . . . which brings me to the final quesiton -

Thanks for the heads up on Xenialpup working with the synfig appimage Does Xenialpup come in English - i've only found pictures of Xenial with icons with what I think is Japanese writing underthem.

Also, is it like other pups - can I run it from a live cd?

Oh, and last but possibly most important Very Happy why does Xenialpup look like a SQUIRREL??!! What happened??!! Shocked Twisted Evil Laughing

Thanks for the input Very Happy
xenialpup.png
 Description   
 Filesize   43.46 KB
 Viewed   374 Time(s)

xenialpup.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9503
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Apr 2017, 08:02    Post subject:  

English Xenialpup

Get the iso from the official repository.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/test/xenialpup/

Quote:
Also, is it like other pups - can I run it from a live cd?

It is just like any other official Puppy.

Quote:
Is it possible to update old dependency files if you know what they are? I've added dependencies but that's when they're totally missing -can you update them too?

Basically replacing them with newer versions will update them.

That is basically what happens if you download a program using PPM (Puppy package manager) and it also downloads needed dependencies for the program.
Those are usually files that Puppy does not have or newer versions of files it does have.

However, overall it is better to just move to using a newer version of Puppy when newer versions of core files are needed.
Those newer versions may also need other updated core programs.

Quote:
why does Xenialpup look like a SQUIRREL??!!

Ask Xenialpup developer!
I think he is loosing the Puppy them idea with that desktop background Laughing

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1340
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Fri 14 Apr 2017, 08:42    Post subject:  

Hi !
Fredx181 from Xenial Dog did another script for creating portable apps and Applmages .

"Already a while back I have put together an app for creating portable image : 'create-portable' 32-bit only.
Some of the code I took from "AppImageAssistant" by Simon Peter (probono), known from http://portablelinuxapps.org
Didn't share yet because I didn't take the time yet to test on different puppies (works ok for me on 32-bit DebianDog and XenialDog) (maybe I'll open new thread later in Additional Software after more testing)
So since you mentioned about portable-apps you may be interested in this.

Assumed is that you have prepared already the "app-root" directory, this can be an directory from extracted SFS, .deb or .pet file or just manually put together directory structure with inside e.g. usr/bin usr/share etc... Extracted SFS probably has the best chance to make the portable app work properly (e.g. created with apt2sfs).
The application will create 'AppRun' script in this "app-root" directory and create the portable-image.
There are 2 modes to choose from: "Chroot Mode" and "Portablelinuxapps Mode"
The Chroot Mode is the best IMO because it doesn't depend on relative paths (works pretty much the same as loading an SFS, (overlay)), but may be a bit slower (starting the app) because of more complex code.
Also there's choice (checkbox) for to create self-extracting-script instead portable-image
For more info, click on Info button "

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/wzixvammcygk8b0/create-portable.tar.gz
Extract create-portable.tar.gz and run 'create-portable

Here it is also for 64-bit, appimage: "create-portable64" :
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/xxz9na3qh8optnr/create-portable64.tar.gz
Topic discussed here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106696&start=510
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2005
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Fri 14 Apr 2017, 19:40    Post subject:  

Quote:
why does Xenialpup look like a SQUIRREL??!!

I'm not the developer. But, our Puppies which are woofed from the binaries of Ubuntu versions have traditionally been given a name drawn from of the Ubuntu version whose binaries were used. In this case, it was Ubuntu Xenial Xerus.

Ubuntu seems to have succumbed to the charm of our Puppies. Shocked While "xenial" is from Greek, and has to do with hospitality and the proper relationship between host and guest, Xerus is the species name of an African ground squirrel. You may be more familiar with another member of the genus to which Xerus belongs and which also lives in family colonies: The Meerkat. Oddly, the young of meerkat are called Pups. So, it isn't much of a stretch to also call the young of the Xerus "Pups". Laughing

Xenialpup: an hospitable small version of Xerus.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1340
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Mon 24 Apr 2017, 03:48    Post subject:  

Hi !
To keep this topic alive ........find it really important .

What about " Nix " Packages .....anyone ever tried it ?
Have a look here :
https://nixos.org/nix/

https://distrowatch.com/weekly.php?issue=20170424#tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ahoppin

Joined: 16 May 2011
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Thu 27 Apr 2017, 01:51    Post subject:  

> Try this in a terminal
>
> Code:
> su - spot
>
> then start the program from there.

You can also create a desktop icon to run it this way (assuming you're going to leave the program on your disk).

First open geany or your favorite text editor. Create a shell script in /usr/local/bin with the following contents:

#!/bin/sh
su -c /path/to/your/root-averse-program spot

Save the file. For (say) vlc you might name it something like vlc-spot.

Open your file manager (ROX or whatever you use) and navigate to /usr/local/bin. Right click on the file name and set the execute flag on permissions. Alternatively, you can open a console window and type

chmod ugo+x /usr/local/bin/vlc-spot

From the file manager, drag the file vlc-spot onto the desktop to create an icon.

Now you can start your program as non-root from that desktop icon.

If you want a nicer or more descriptive icon for it, open /usr/share/icons and click on files until you find something you like. If you don't like anything there, try the various directories under /usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48.

When you find an icon you like, right-click on the desktop icon for your new program. Select file 'vlc-spot', then Set Icon. Drag the filename of whatever icon you like onto the blank that results. Done.

It sounds kind of complicated, but it's really not. It takes just a minute or so once you've done it a time or two.

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [52 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0708s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]