Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 28 Jun 2017, 00:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Tahr 64 bit 6.0.6
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 292
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 May 2017, 20:12    Post subject:  Tahr 64 bit 6.0.6  

I'm running from a USB drive. Every time I add an fstab config it gets wiped out by the default one on reboot. Only way I found to fix it is to create an sfs with just fstab in it to load at startup.

Next issue is that fstab config is not loaded at boot like it should be. To fix this I added a script in the startup folder to "mount -a" which fixes the issue.

Third is that any directory I add in the "mnt" directory is gone at reboot. I added the dirs I wanted into my sfs to fix the fstab issue, and that fixed that too.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1164

PostPosted: Sat 06 May 2017, 18:30    Post subject:  

Can you refresh my memory on what fstab is supposed to do, and what you're trying to customize with it? If I remember right, it has something with full installs? gyrog has been working on patching some things with full installs lately, so maybe the next version of tahr will be able to accomplish what you want better? Smile Does Tahrpup 6.0.5 (before his new init) behave correctly?

https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/commits/testing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 292
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 08 May 2017, 09:56    Post subject:  

Hmm. I just did a fresh install of 6.0.6 with the xenial 4.9.x kernel, and fstab now gets preserved.

It's for mounting things. I use it to mount my 4 HDDs and set them up with mhddfs at boot, to do a RAID 1 type deal to use for my NAS.

I still have my sfs with the "/mnt/XXXX" folders for my HDDs, because any dir in /mnt still gets wiped out on reboot, and I still have the "mount -a" command in the startup script.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1360
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 13 May 2017, 18:03    Post subject:  

sketchman wrote:
I still have my sfs with the "/mnt/XXXX" folders for my HDDs, because any dir in /mnt still gets wiped out on reboot, and I still have the "mount -a" command in the startup script.
I just created directory "/mnt/xxx" in tahr64 6.0.6 and tahr 6.0.6.
This directory survived a reboot in both puppies.
Both are frugal installs running in pupmode=12, on ext4 partition.

Note: I've never got "/etc/fstab" to work in puppies. Which is a little strange, since there is a "mount -a" command in "/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit" that is always executed.
I've always used a little script in "/etc/init.d" to mount on startup, and umount on shutdown, any extra partitions.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1360
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 13 May 2017, 18:21    Post subject:  

Is it a frugal install?
Do you have a "pmedia=usbflash" boot parameter?
This would mean that you are running in "pupmode=13" and depend on the "snapmergepuppy" script to "save" files from RAM to your savefolder. (You can check PUPMODE in "/etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE".)
I just had a look at "snapmergepuppy" and it deliberately omits "/mnt/*" from the "save".
If the boot parameter is changed to "pmedia=usbhd", then you would be running in "pupmode=12" with all writes being written directly to your savefolder, with no dependence on "snapmergepuppy".

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0598s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]