Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 12 Dec 2017, 04:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Xenialpup64 CE 7.5
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1031
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 05 May 2017, 10:04    Post subject: Xenialpup64
Subject description: Current (beta) version.
 

Hi Billtoo,

I must point out that your 2 tests above relate to xenialpup64 7.0.8.4 beta issued 31/03/17 but that
Phil issued 7.0.8.5 on 7th April. The thread title needs to be changed to reflect that.
image-8.png
 Description   
 Filesize   176.65 KB
 Viewed   1388 Time(s)

image-8.png


_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3292
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 05 May 2017, 10:15    Post subject: Re: Xenialpup64
Subject description: Current (beta) version.
 

ETP wrote:
Hi Billtoo,

I must point out that your 2 tests above relate to xenialpup64 7.0.8.4 beta issued 31/03/17 but that
Phil issued 7.0.8.5 on 7th April. The thread title needs to be changed to reflect that.


Hi ETP,

I built the 2 that I'm using in woof-CE a few days ago, the iso produced is 7.0.8.4.
It was a fresh install of woof-CE so I'd think it's the latest.

Beats me Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1355

PostPosted: Fri 05 May 2017, 10:20    Post subject: Re: Xenialpup64
Subject description: Current (beta) version.
 

ETP wrote:
Hi Billtoo,

I must point out that your 2 tests above relate to xenialpup64 7.0.8.4 beta issued 31/03/17 but that
Phil issued 7.0.8.5 on 7th April. The thread title needs to be changed to reflect that.



Hi ETP,

I posted about this a little over a week ago, asking about it. It was quite obvious that what Phil released on 7 APR was different than what I was getting doing the latest (w/ mos recent kernel) woof-CE builds early last week.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331&start=240
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1031
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 05 May 2017, 11:00    Post subject: Xenialpup64  

@ Billtoo & belham2,

Thanks for clarifying the position. I guess that I was not the only one to be confused and that
Phil expects readers of this thread to test his 7.0.8.5

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3292
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 05 May 2017, 22:28    Post subject: Xenialpup64 7.0.8.4  

I did a manual frugal install to the hard drive:

root# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc25168 Kernel: 4.9.15 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.6 Distro: xenialpup64 7.0.8.5
Machine: Mobo: Gateway model: FX6860 serial:
Bios: American Megatrends v: P01-A3 date: 04/19/2011
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i7-2600 (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/3401 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF110 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti OEM]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 driver: nvidia tty size: 129x58 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 3000.6GB (2.0% used)
Info: Processes: 230 Uptime: 29 min Memory: 342.7/16030.9MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
root#

I updated PPM + Palemoon and added applications.

A new proprietary Nvidia driver was released May 4th and I installed
that.

Seems to be working well so far.

Thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.82 KB
 Viewed   1245 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2051
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sat 06 May 2017, 19:30    Post subject: Problem with PPM under 7.0.8.5  

Hi 666philb & All,

Thank you for your continuing work on Xenialpup64. My overall impression is that it appears to be stabler and more responsive than earlier versions. However, I’ve run into one (maybe two) problems.

In building applications using PPM my practice has has been to download all necessary debs into a named folder and then use PaDs to create an SFS. For some applications –such as Qt-- which may be needed by several other applications or don’t take up much space-- I’ll then mount the SFS and copy its contents to another folder, then use dir2pet to create a pet.

Although PPM didn’t pose a problem when I specified each deb I wanted, a quick way to obtain most of the required debs for Qt is to select something like libQt5PrintSupport and have PPM download it and dependencies, among which are libQt5Core and libQt5Gui and, I think, libQt5Network. When I tried that, however, PPM generated the failure shown in the attached screenshot, even though the download folder was on the hard-drive which had several hundred gigabytes of unused space.

Could that problem be associated with the change in options PPM offers? In the 7.0.7 version there was an option to “skip package size check when more than 4 Gbs of storage is available”. That option isn't offered under Version 8.0.5. See screenshot. Note, the part with the title with the number 707 was taken running the previous version of Xenielpup64, that with the title 805, the current version; I actually have 8 Gbs of RAM; and the settings under 8.0.5 do not reflect the settings when the problem occurred. To the extent possible, the same options as under 7.0.7 had been chosen.

mikesLr
Absent-Option-and-PPM-Failure.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Absent-Option-and-PPM-Failure.png 
Filesize  245.68 KB 
Downloaded  41 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9647
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 06 May 2017, 22:39    Post subject:  

Quote:
Could that problem be associated with the change in options PPM offers? In the 7.0.7 version there was an option to “skip package size check when more than 4 Gbs of storage is available”. That option isn't offered under Version 8.0.5.

This is from a Xenialpup64 7.0.8.5 I use.
The option is showing on PPM in it.

Is your Xenialpup64 install on a Linux format?
capture22186.png
 Description   
 Filesize   33.46 KB
 Viewed   1123 Time(s)

capture22186.png


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2051
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sun 07 May 2017, 13:07    Post subject: Problems re PPM remain  

Hi bigpup,

Thanks for the response. Xenialpup64-7.0.8.5's partition is formatted as Linux Ext4, the SaveFile as Linux Ext3. But your post prompted me to question what went wrong. So I downloaded the ISO again, checked its Mdsum, moved all system files into a "backup folder", unpacked the new ISO, booted into it "pfix=ram", checked that it was, in fact, 7.0.8.5 via system info, setup wifi, opened Puppy Package Manager, updated it, looked at available options --skip package size check wasn't among them" -- rebooted creating a SaveFile, opened PPM again --"skip package size check" still wasn't an option either with download folder set to /root --as in your screen shot, nor after changing download folder to a folder on the hard-drive. The attached screenshot of PPM was taken after rebooting into XenialPup with its newly updated SaveFile. I tried setting options with every display configuration I could think of: still no "skip".

And of more importance, selecting libQt5PrintSupport for download only with dependencies generated the same error.

Was your SaveFile/Folder used in a prior version of XenialPup64? That is, in building your current system did you create a SaveFile/Folder from scratch or use one from a previous iteration of XenialPup64?

Any other ideas as to why our PPM's may be different?

mikesLr
Xen64-PPM-Options.png
 Description   PPM Options on nearly pristine XenialPup64 7.8.0.5
 Filesize   29.34 KB
 Viewed   1040 Time(s)

Xen64-PPM-Options.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alphadog


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 106
Location: Deepest Wiltshire UK

PostPosted: Sun 07 May 2017, 14:20    Post subject: PPm Probs  

Hi all, haven't been here for a while but I thought I'd come back to the kennels .
I too am missing the same line in the PPM options tab as mikeslr.
Using Xenialpup 7.0.8.5 , on a Toshiba C50 laptop running 'live' from usb
[img][/img]
capture23517.png
 Description   
 Filesize   26.2 KB
 Viewed   1013 Time(s)

capture23517.png


_________________
Toshiba Satellite C50 4Gb Ram 700 Gb Hdd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alphadog


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 106
Location: Deepest Wiltshire UK

PostPosted: Sun 07 May 2017, 15:02    Post subject: PPM Probs  

Hi back again.
Just a quickie , updated PPM and lo and behold offending line has reappeared![img][/img]
capture23524.png
 Description   
 Filesize   36 KB
 Viewed   1004 Time(s)

capture23524.png


_________________
Toshiba Satellite C50 4Gb Ram 700 Gb Hdd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2051
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sun 07 May 2017, 15:47    Post subject: PPM should allow "skip package size check" with SaveFiles  

Thanks alphadog,

Updated the PPM. Neither restarting X nor rebooting (after Saving) resulted in PPM showing "Skip package size check...". But immediately after updating PPM I was able to select libQt5PrintSupport for download with dependencies which worked. In addition to that file, the following libqt5's were downloaded without incident: core, dbus, gui, network and widgets.

I don't know why it might make a difference, but are you guys using a SaveFile or a SaveFolder? Previously I had been using a SaveFolder. But as occasionally, despite all precautions, things got written to it without my preforming a Save, this time I've been working with SaveFiles.

Edit: Well it does. I just restarted from scratch. Made a SaveFolder. Updated PPM. "Skip package size check" was then an option.

Although the default download location is /root, those building applications are likely to change that. "Skip package size check" should be an option when using a SaveFile. Perhaps add a warning when it is selected.


mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9647
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 10 May 2017, 22:36    Post subject:  

It would seem something in the code for PPM is just removing that option if it detects you are using a save file.
This could be taking for granted the save file is on a fat32 formatted device, which is limited to no bigger than 4GB files.

A save folder is going to be on a Linux ext formatted device.
4GB size is no problem for Linux format.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 732
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 19:59    Post subject: Xenialpup64 7.0.8.5  

Might be time to try the Bugfix out,,, XenialPup64 could use an update to fix flashplayer for the latest version of flash!!! Wink

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3033
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 22 May 2017, 15:11    Post subject: problem with ETPS/2 Elantech Touchpad  

xenialpup64-7.0.8.5-uefi.iso

problem with ETPS/2 Elantech Touchpad on my Asus X551MA laptop....

can't see any problems in dmesg to explain why the touchpad does not work properly....

it works fine in slacko.....
screenie.png
 Description   
 Filesize   106.88 KB
 Viewed   572 Time(s)

screenie.png

dmesg.gz
Description  false .gz
gz

 Download 
Filename  dmesg.gz 
Filesize  35.08 KB 
Downloaded  21 Time(s) 

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lassar

Joined: 08 Jul 2014
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Mon 22 May 2017, 21:50    Post subject:  

I am trying to make kodi-pup lite.

I have been trying to use woof-ce, and keep getting errors.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1348117222&t=110567

666philb, what puppy did you use in the making of Xenialpup64?

Any idea on what I am doing wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0743s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0103s) ][ GZIP on ]