Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Aug 2017, 03:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
vivaldi browser
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 6 [89 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1304
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 11 May 2017, 20:15    Post subject:  

Thank you for the info, OscarTalks.

Yes, the Opera in Lighthouse is the old Presto based Opera - Opera itself is version 11.1. This Lighthouse predates Slacko so you are right that I will need the libgconf2, at least - (if I knew where to find it). Otherwise I will have to use another Puppy - although I really like Lighthouse because of the tools it comes with (Conky, Wbar, Pwidgets, Wine - which I use to run portable Windows programmes with no problem at all).

Thanks once again for the info on the Vivaldi cache.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2833
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 13 May 2017, 09:35    Post subject:  

@ICPUG:-

You could give this version of libgconf2 a try. It's from Oscar's 'Smokey' repo.

http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks/libgconf2-4.1.5-s14.pet

See how you get on with it. It's worked for me in several different non-Ubuntu-based Pups.

( Nice to know somebody else uses the Windows portable apps under WINE. Where d'you get yours from.....PortableApps.com? )


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 961
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 02:21    Post subject: Images not displaying
Subject description: Iron also failing
 

G'day,
Having a bad day with Vivaldi & Iron, neither displaying images from a website (of hardware store products).

Non-chrome browsers are OK as far as I have checked (e.g. chromium, palemoon).
I'm struggling to find where in Vivaldi or Iron any 'settings' or 'preferences' are that I can turn off so these mundane images will show.

A non-useful-to-me "Privacy error" message sometimes shows before the images fail to load after I close the supposed "error" message.

The screenshots below show the blank spaces with Vivaldi and Iron and what should be there (the shot from Chromium).

No other website I use has been affected so it seems a 'disagreement' of sorts between the hardware store and the two Chrome-based browsers.

Any advice on how to turn off this 'feature' in Vivaldi & Iron gratefully received.

David S.

Post-script: Erratic problem?? Images now loaded in Vivaldi for the hardware site but in a different Pup; then with a bit more browsing, up popped another 'connection not private' message, this time for amazon.com!? Is there a 'turn off the paranoia' button in Chrome/Vivaldi/Iron?
.
vivaldi-message.jpg
 Description   different Pup (to other screen-shots) but same Vivaldi (sfs & profile) gives more peculiar behaviour for 'normal' sites.
 Filesize   68.97 KB
 Viewed   623 Time(s)

vivaldi-message.jpg

chromium-imagesOK.jpg
 Description   Chromium - product images displayed; normal behaviour in other browsers non-Chrome browsers
 Filesize   74.73 KB
 Viewed   629 Time(s)

chromium-imagesOK.jpg

vivaldi-empty_frames-no_images.jpg
 Description   Vivaldi - blank spaces where images of store products should appear
 Filesize   68.19 KB
 Viewed   629 Time(s)

vivaldi-empty_frames-no_images.jpg

iron-no_images-broken_icon.jpg
 Description   Iron - empty frames where product images should be
 Filesize   97.37 KB
 Viewed   632 Time(s)

iron-no_images-broken_icon.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 251
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 06:15    Post subject:  

Hello davids45
Search on: google not-secure warning. Google announced this in September. They are putting pressure on websites to tidy-up the security aspects of their page design.
The warnings may vary as webmasters fix their errors to comply with Google's rules and browser developers may tone down the warnings or degoogle the chromium code.

EDIT There's a setting in chrome://flags to change the behaviour (or whatever your browser path URL is).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1304
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 10:53    Post subject:  

Thanks, Mike, for the pointer to the library file libgconf2.

I tried it with my Lighthouse Puppy and Vivaldi still didn't work. I then tried it with Slacko (5.3.3) and it still didn't work. More investigation required.

This is why I use Portable Windows Apps under Wine! They usually work without hassle.

I get them from PortableApps.com if they have what I want. Sometimes I download from a program's website but only if I can choose an archive library option and the program will run without Windows installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 961
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 20:10    Post subject: Displaying images on sites problem
Subject description: Erratic behaviour in chrome browsers
 

G'day LateAdopter,

Thanks for the suggestion re chrome://flags. I'll give it a try.

This morning, on loading one of the yesterday-affected sites in iron in a pupjibaro-jessie, the images were displayed, at least for the first page.

This erratic behaviour is a concern but hopefully your help will fix the pseudo-problem for chrome et al.

I'll report back if I see something useful.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1568
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jun 2017, 06:23    Post subject:  

Vivaldi 1.10 is released but it is based on Chromium 59
It is 64bit only and requires GTK+3
I tested it in Tahr64 after installing libgtk-3.0 and it ran OK.
I won't be uploading any packages for the time being though.
I will leave the version 1.9 packages up for now as these may be the last ever 32bit / GTK+2 ones. I expect they will continue to work for quite a while.
https://yadi.sk/d/euoIiDRDqcFnK?force_show=1

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 2806
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jun 2017, 02:40    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
Vivaldi 1.10 is released but it is based on Chromium 59
It is 64bit only and requires GTK+3

Opera-46-stable has gone the same way - 64 bit only:
Quote:
Note that since this version we have dropped support for Linux i386.
in very small print!!!
_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 251
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jun 2017, 04:37    Post subject:  

I see that the latest Vivaldi snapshot has a 32-bit version. The explanation is here: https://forum.vivaldi.net/post/146005

Saikrishna Arcot has 32bit builds of Chromium 60 beta here for 16.04 but 14.04 failed. https://launchpad.net/~saiarcot895/+archive/ubuntu/chromium-beta

It's getting messy...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1568
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jul 2017, 08:17    Post subject:  

Respect to the Vivaldi developers for working out how to patch the Chromium source code so it can still be compiled for 32bit.

The Vivaldi Snapshot version 1.11 is compiled against a later version of glibc and libstdc++, so unfortunately it won't run in Precise or Wheezy. Looks like 1.9 might still be the last one that works in those, unless they change their build environment to match the previous ones (which might not even be possible).

It does run in more recent 32bit Puppies though, that includes the current official ones and those that are in development. Tested briefly in Tahr 6.0.5 and Slacko 6.9.9.9 and Dpup Stretch.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 251
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jul 2017, 04:07    Post subject:  

From packages.ubuntu.com:
Quote:
2017-05-17
Reflect zesty release, add artful, remove precise.

I assume Vivaldi dropped support for Precise since it is EOL at Ubuntu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 2806
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul 2017, 05:25    Post subject:  

Aimed at LxPupSc (32-bit) but may work on other pups (not tested).....

vivaldi_1.11.890.4_lxsc.sfs

No Flash - BBC iPlayer does not work, Youtube does.....

Probably a "one-off".....

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10653
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul 2017, 08:21    Post subject:  

Hi peebee.

No Flash necessary, I think.

With Vivaldi, one would use Mike_Walsh's latest PepperFlash pet for Chrome,
since Vivaldi has a "Chrome heart", right?

I tested the older Vivaldi-1.9 with Mike's PepperFlash, and the combination
works great.

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gjuhasz


Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 355

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jul 2017, 05:11    Post subject: new 32-bit browsers  

peebee wrote:
... may work on other pups (not tested)....


I just confirm that this sfs works on Puli. Needs only a few symlinks to access it as "vivaldi" instead of "vivaldi-snapshot". Thanks, peebee.

Same for the developer (beta?) version of tthe 32-bit Opera

https://deb.pkgs.org/universal/opera-i386/opera-developer_46.0.2573.0_i386.deb.html


Have fun!

Regards,

gjuhasz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 6 [89 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0734s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]