Installing Python 3.6.x on Tahrpup

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Post Reply
Message
Author
port
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri 02 Oct 2015, 01:42

Installing Python 3.6.x on Tahrpup

#1 Post by port »

If I get the python 3.6.x source from python.or could I compile it for Tahrpup from the instructions given here?:
https://www.tecmint.com/install-python-in-linux/

If it is possible to do this, can the 3.6.x version peacefully co-exist with the 2.7.6 version that comes installed on Tahrpup?

Thanks!

-port

User avatar
6502coder
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 18:07
Location: Western United States

#2 Post by 6502coder »

You don't have to compile Python from source. I highly recommend installing the prebuilt package from ActiveState. I've been very happy using the ActiveState packages on Puppy.

You can download the package from here:
https://www.activestate.com/activepython/downloads

Installation instructions are here:
http://docs.activestate.com/activepython/3.5/get/linux/

port
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri 02 Oct 2015, 01:42

#3 Post by port »

You don't have to compile Python from source. I highly recommend installing the prebuilt package from ActiveState. I've been very happy using the ActiveState packages on Puppy.

You can download the package from here:
https://www.activestate.com/activepython/downloads

Installation instructions are here:
http://docs.activestate.com/activepython/3.5/get/linux/
Thanks, I'll give this a try. And it will work side-by-side with the preinstalled Python 2.7.x?

User avatar
6502coder
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 18:07
Location: Western United States

#4 Post by 6502coder »

As I'm sure you know, Python 3 can break some Python 2 programs. But you can have both Python2 and Python3 installed as long as your Python programs stick to the correct version. Since TahrPup already has Python2, I would suggest setting up Python3 so that it is isolated as much as possible from the Python2 stuff. Remember that TahrPup and Puppy in general will not be expecting to see Python3, so you should set things up so that anything that simply runs "python" will get 2.7.x and not 3.

For example, install Python3 into /opt/Python3 or some such directory, so that all the Python3 stuff has distinctly different full pathnames from any of the existing Python2 stuff. You can use the Python environment variables such as PYTHONHOME, PYTHONPATH, and maybe PYTHONSTARTUP to help your Python3 programs look only in the places that are appropriate to Python3.

port
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri 02 Oct 2015, 01:42

#5 Post by port »

As I'm sure you know, Python 3 can break some Python 2 programs...
Thank you very much 6502coder!

Python is a long ways from 6502 assembly but it seems like at one point the 6502 was used in many different platforms...

User avatar
6502coder
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 18:07
Location: Western United States

#6 Post by 6502coder »

The 6502 was THE cpu of the first-generation home computers. It powered the Apple II, the Commodore 64, and the Atari 400 and 800, among others. Despite being over 40 years old now, it's still a popular choice for embedded systems. Python is indeed a long way from 6502 assembler. FORTH, on the other hand, was the perfect language for the 6502.

roadkill13
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed 10 Aug 2011, 21:41
Location: United States
Contact:

#7 Post by roadkill13 »

deleted

Post Reply