Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 14 Dec 2017, 11:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Suggestions
Option to boot in RAM In grub4dos...
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1495
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 07:49    Post subject:  Option to boot in RAM In grub4dos...
Subject description: ...when you have only a savefile
 

Booting frugal puppy with grub4dos automatically loads the savefile when it is just one. To see an option to boot in live mode without a savefile you must have two or more savefiles or you must use a separate menu entry in menu.lst. How about to also add an option to boot in live mode when you have only a savefile without using a separate grub4dos menu entry?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11262
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 10:17    Post subject:  

Hi watchdog.

At the CD/DVD prompt, type
puppy pfix=ram
and the Puppy will start without the save file, as it was originally.

Similarly, add
pfix=ram
to your grub4dos entry (on the kernel line) and your Puppy will
start without the save file.

Some users create an additional entry for "Puppy - no savefile"
with that parameter in the menu.lst to boot their Puppy pristine.

IHTH

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1495
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 12:13    Post subject:  

How to change initrd.gz and init script to always show a "0 nosavefile" choice at boot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11262
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 14:46    Post subject:  

Sorry. I misread your OP.

What I use is this: enter your Puppy directory, open a terminal and type
Code:
echo . > stretchsave-dummy.2fs
(Replace the "stretch" part with the name of your pup. It could be
tahrsave-dummy.2fs, for example.)

This does not create an additional entry in the menu.lst. Simply at one
point the boot process will stop and display something like:
Quote:
0 Pristine Puppy
1 stretchsave-dummy.2fs # (or whatever the name of your Pup)
2 stretchsave-real.3fs # (or whatever the name of your real save file)
This allows you to type 0 or 2, according to your need.
And then the boot process continues normally.
No need to change anything in initrd.gz, etc.

IHTH.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 956

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 15:01    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Sorry. I misread your OP.

What I use is this: enter your Puppy directory, open a terminal and type
Code:
echo . > stretchsave-dummy.2fs
(Replace the "stretch" part with the name of your pup. It could be
tahrsave-dummy.2fs, for example.)

This does not create an additional entry in the menu.lst. Simply at one
point the boot process will stop and display something like:
Quote:
0 Pristine Puppy
1 stretchsave-dummy.2fs # (or whatever the name of your Pup)
2 stretchsave-real.3fs # (or whatever the name of your real save file)
This allows you to type 0 or 2, according to your need.
And then the boot process continues normally.
No need to change anything in initrd.gz, etc.

IHTH.


Or you can incorporate it into you backup process. Just make the minimal settings you normally make and name your savefile something like tahrsave-first.2fs. Then, boot with pfix=ram or into another Puppy and copy the tahrsave-first.2fs file and call it something like tahrsave-main.2fs. Then you get the same choice as Musher described and you have an extra minimal save file to boot into if you have problems with your main one. This approach also works with save folders.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1495
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 23:26    Post subject:  

Yes, no need to change init script. Many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2017, 01:27    Post subject: create a second one, but blank.  

When there is only one save file, i create a second one, but blank.
pelosave-vide.2fs
Then computer stops boot with proposal
0 (ram)
1 (real savefile)
2 blank save file

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.

Last edited by Pelo on Wed 24 May 2017, 15:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11262
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2017, 02:20    Post subject:  

Ahem.

There is no Puppy called "peloPup". Rolling Eyes Therefore, there can be no
pupsave file called pelosave-whatever.?fs. Further, all pupsave files must
have an ending of 2fs, or 3fs, or 4fs. Only the Puppy system files have an
ending of sfs.

So your example won't and cannot work, pelo. Why are you giving wrong
information to watchdog?

Geez.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2017, 14:59    Post subject: Typing error. My process is guaranteed  

Typing error. My process is guaranteed (used thousands of times)
Sure replace pelosave by the valid pupsave name of your Puppy running Shocked
boot.jpg
 Description   just remove 'x' to reactivate pupsave
 Filesize   73.69 KB
 Viewed   15 Time(s)

boot.jpg


_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.

Last edited by Pelo on Thu 24 Aug 2017, 03:09; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11262
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2017, 15:42    Post subject: Re: Typing error. My process is guaranteed  

Pelo wrote:
Typing error. My process is guaranteed (used thousands of times)
Sure replace pelosave by the valid pupsave name of your Puppy running Shocked

Typing error, my eye. Your initial message was totally unnecessary, since I
had already informed watchdog of the process, plus dancytron later
offered a variant of it.

"La parole est d'argent, mais le silence est d'or." /
"Speech is silver, but silence is gold."
You'll never learn to shut up when not needed, won't you?

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2200
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 25 May 2017, 03:15    Post subject:  

I know the poster asked how to do it without an extra menu entry but surely the extra menu entry soluton is the easiest and most convenient way. Just call the one entry RAM mode in the title. I am trying to think why someone would want to use the extra fake savefile method if one only has one savefile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 2928
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Thu 25 May 2017, 07:28    Post subject:  

It could have been done in the time it took to write the question in the first place -as said.
_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Suggestions
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0872s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]