Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Jul 2017, 13:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Grub4dos : make it easy
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 11911
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jul 2015, 23:04    Post subject:  Grub4dos : make it easy
Subject description: no need to erase everything on your USB
 

see the topic.
Grub4dos is in the menu 'System'. Users will search in this category.
grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.9.1.pet: 186 K joined
Grub4Dos.png
 Description   version 1.9.1
 Filesize   79.74 KB
 Viewed   273 Time(s)

Grub4Dos.png

grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.9.1.pet
Description  grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.9.1.pet: 186 K
pet

 Download 
Filename  grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.9.1.pet 
Filesize  185.06 KB 
Downloaded  132 Time(s) 

_________________
Damned Puppy, stay plugged with Papa Evil or Very Mad !

Last edited by Pelo on Sun 28 May 2017, 23:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 11911
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2017, 07:08    Post subject: cutting edge section grub4dosconfig  

cutting edge section grub4dosconfig 25 pages of useful information, and new pets.
Rcrsn51 information about grub4Dos Ubuntu

_________________
Damned Puppy, stay plugged with Papa Evil or Very Mad !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 11911
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sun 28 May 2017, 23:35    Post subject: To boot in RAM  

To boot in RAM when only one pupsave exists, just create another one or change the name of existing pupsave by adding an X before.. It's my way. There are others, many others (add pfix=ram in menu.lst for instance).
Topic 'boot options' here.

_________________
Damned Puppy, stay plugged with Papa Evil or Very Mad !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1778
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Mon 29 May 2017, 10:31    Post subject: Boot pfix=RAM is on Grub4dos Advanced Menu  

Hi Pelo,

After posting many times to suggest menu.lst be edited to provide a "pfix=ram" schema, I just recently stumbled upon this, myself.

When Grub4dos is installed it automatically (unless you tell it not to) creates a menu.lst and a menu-advanced.lst. I never bothered to check what was on the menu-advanced.lst. The last entry on menu.lst is

# Advanced Menu
title Advanced menu
configfile /menu-advanced.lst
commandline

Commandline seemed threatening. Embarassed

But having finally overcome my fear, I selected it and was rewarded with a display of further boot options, the second one titled

title Puppy tahr64 6.0.5.3 (sda4/tahr64) RAM mode\nBoot up Puppy without pupsave

and having as its Kernel line

kernel /tahr64/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=tahr64 pfix=ram


Yours may differ depending upon which Puppy you used to install grub4dos. I had used tahrpup64.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 11911
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jun 2017, 14:54    Post subject: The best have their 'talon d'Achille'  

Smile The best have their 'talon d'Achille'
grub.jpg
 Description   For newbies,
 Filesize   44.65 KB
 Viewed   82 Time(s)

grub.jpg


_________________
Damned Puppy, stay plugged with Papa Evil or Very Mad !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2073
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jun 2017, 15:44    Post subject: Re: Boot pfix=RAM is on Grub4dos Advanced Menu  

mikeslr wrote:
Hi Pelo,

After posting many times to suggest menu.lst be edited to provide a "pfix=ram" schema, I just recently stumbled upon this, myself.

When Grub4dos is installed it automatically (unless you tell it not to) creates a menu.lst and a menu-advanced.lst. I never bothered to check what was on the menu-advanced.lst. The last entry on menu.lst is

# Advanced Menu
title Advanced menu
configfile /menu-advanced.lst
commandline

Commandline seemed threatening. Embarassed

But having finally overcome my fear, I selected it and was rewarded with a display of further boot options, the second one titled

title Puppy tahr64 6.0.5.3 (sda4/tahr64) RAM mode\nBoot up Puppy without pupsave

and having as its Kernel line

kernel /tahr64/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=tahr64 pfix=ram


Yours may differ depending upon which Puppy you used to install grub4dos. I had used tahrpup64.

mikesLr

Older Grub4Dos created the two entries in the "normal" menu.lst automatically ie. the bootoption that loads the savefile automatically if there is one AND the RAM mode entry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0437s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]