Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 22 Oct 2017, 04:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Skype Desktop Client to quit working as of July 1, 2017
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
tony

Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 326
Location: Montreal.ca

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jun 2017, 06:28    Post subject:  

Hi Mike,

When I tried to use Skype I got very low audio output.

I installed apulse from :-

http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks/apulse-0.1.10-x86_64.pet

I got better audio out.

BUT --- Skype no longer finds my microphone.

Been here before I think.

Regards Tony.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3044
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jun 2017, 08:20    Post subject:  

Hi, Tony.

Yah, I'm finding the same problem, mate. I'm actually getting audio, after installing PulseAudio through the PPM, but it's coming out all slow & garbled.

Mind you, I use a headset; I don't use the webcam's built-in mike at all.

If you install PulseAudio, you need to ensure it's started by entering

Code:
pulseaudio --start


...in the terminal, before attempting to use Skype. We have M$ to thank for the need for PulseAudio, unfortunately. Also, make sure (by using Retrovol) that 'Capture' is set no more than halfway up the scale, and that 'Capture Sound' is set to 'Mic'.

You'll need to experiment to find out which 'Mic' to use in the 'Mic Select' box.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1459
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jun 2017, 08:46    Post subject:  

If you use pulseaudio then you can have to change the following lines in /etc/pulse/default.pa according to your hardware. Type in console:

Code:
arecord -l


With my hardware I have:

Code:
# arecord -l
**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: AD198x Analog [AD198x Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Venu [Vimicro USB 2.0 PC Camera (Venu], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
#


I my situation the correct lines in default.pa are:

Code:
load-module module-alsa-sink device=hw:1,0
load-module module-alsa-source device=hw:0,0


to use default mic and auricolar or:

Code:
load-module module-alsa-sink device=hw:1,0
load-module module-alsa-source device=hw:1,0


to use the webcam mic and auricolar. After using skype I suggest to stop the pulseaudio daemon with:

Code:
pulseaudio --kill


For tahr64 read:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=957004#957004
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1459
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul 2017, 02:47    Post subject:  

3 July 2017: skype4.3 continues to work for me. What are the decisions of Microsoft?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul 2017, 05:14    Post subject:  

Still working here too. Not that I'm complaining...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
torm


Joined: 07 Mar 2015
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Sat 08 Jul 2017, 01:16    Post subject:  

Wire ?
Hmm.. some names from early Skype?
Location is changed, however.. Wink

Will see if it's any good..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 400
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sat 08 Jul 2017, 13:37    Post subject:  

glad I checked this thread again! So I start my Skype 4.3.0.37 and it still works as well! I started just using the Skype Linux Beta 64 bit and it worked okay to type chats but not much else worked yet.

Totally happy that the Skype 4.3 is still functioning! Thanks to you guys I looked again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jul 2017, 01:24    Post subject:  

It may not last for long, though. When I tried a Skype call it took three attempts to connect and threw up a warning saying I was using an out-of-date version and may not be able to connect. Then it worked. So it probably isn't going to work for much longer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3044
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jul 2017, 04:46    Post subject:  

I didn't want to be the bearer of 'bad tidings', but, er.........I did feel the community had a right to know.

I guess it's the same as other stuff; if M$ hadn't had such a stranglehold with Windoze & Skype, after having bought the latter out, I rather suspect development would have gone in a completely different direction.

There again, having said that, we might not have had the plethora of available choice that we now have; there wouldn't have been the incentive!


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1459
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat 02 Sep 2017, 04:15    Post subject:  

Skypeforlinux 64 bit is still in development and has malfunctions. I downloaded:

https://repo.skype.com/deb/pool/main/s/skypeforlinux/skypeforlinux_8.5.76.55323_amd64.deb

and tried it in slacko64 700b. Libsecret is needed from PPM. It starts but no webcam and no SMS. Skype 4.3 32 bit is still working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1175s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0160s) ][ GZIP on ]