Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 23 Jun 2017, 18:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Timezone not working Slacko Puppy Linux 6.9.6.4
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
solex

Joined: 05 Sep 2014
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jun 2017, 11:31    Post subject:  Timezone not working Slacko Puppy Linux 6.9.6.4  

Hi I'm running Slacko Puppy 6.9.6.4 and have the following versions of glibc-zoneinfo-2:


2016g
2016i
2016j
2017a
2017b

but when I set my timezone to America/New York it is not set to the correct time.
Psync shows America/New York, but the True Offset to UTC states +0000

Any ideas on how to correct?

I also tried checking an unchecking the UTC check box in the TimeZone setting with the same results
timezone.png
 Description   
 Filesize   17.87 KB
 Viewed   107 Time(s)

timezone.png

glib.png
 Description   
 Filesize   25.4 KB
 Viewed   108 Time(s)

glib.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10309
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jun 2017, 12:57    Post subject:  

Untick the "Hardware clock set... " ?

Or try the attached ntp "simple" client? I've been using it for a few months
now on my DPupStretch-7. I believe DpupStretch-7 and your Slacko 6.9.6.4
have equivalent C libraries. So, no promises, but it probably will work.

Any questions, please ask.

IHTH. BFN.
ntp-4.2.8p10_simple.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  ntp-4.2.8p10_simple.pet 
Filesize  64.66 KB 
Downloaded  3 Time(s) 

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 8798
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jun 2017, 03:47    Post subject:  

Also try "US/Eastern" for setting.
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
solex

Joined: 05 Sep 2014
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jun 2017, 14:27    Post subject:  

I think I determined the problem, the CMOS time was incorrect and the battery must be on it's way out.

As soon as I set the time in the BIOS the time was correct on the desktop.

Will get a battery for my laptop.

Thank you for the responses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10309
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jun 2017, 16:02    Post subject:  

You're welcome! Glad you found the cause.

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0379s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]