Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 27 Jan 2020, 01:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky Xerus 8.6 (Aug. 16), Beaver 8.7.1 (Sept. 21), 2018
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 37 of 62 [921 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, ..., 60, 61, 62 Next
Author Message
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1719

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jul 2017, 08:29    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Glad to see BK's reasonable response to jcoles.
All very well for the world's rich kids to rave about their multicore, USB uefi-booting over-subscribed grossly-mem'ed shiny kit...



LOL, Sage. My question is, does any one of us here have the new mutli-core, usb-uefi-booting over-subscribed grossly-mem'ed shiny kit----sage is rolling his tongue back in his cheek still after writing that Laughing

I'm unfortunately (or perhaps fortunately) still stuck on AMD2+ Athlon/Sempron chips from circa 2005-2007, on motherboards from the same time span, with DDR2 (which I've tried to make sure to have 8GB of to help matters) and motherboard video drivers 6 or7 iterations removed from current versions, with usb 2.0 and perfectly good non-sata drives still rocking things. Boot times are yet still 30-40sec max, and actual OS use is still pretty coyote-like zippy.

So, yes, I am wondering, what is difference going to be made if I were to get me one of those "multicore, USB uefi-booting over-subscribed grossly-mem'ed shiny" kits Sage speaks of when it comes to booting a Quirky (or any pup and/or Ddog) along with actually running/using it?

Will it make everything easier?

Will things be faster?? Will Coyote be replaced by quantum-like speed?

Will the over-subscription variable Sage speaks of answer questions, like an A.I. entity, while it boots?

Will the whole thing make my coffee?

Will it make Quirky or any OS razzle-dazzle even more in one's eyes??

Will it...(fill in as needed)


Any feedback from those of you out there with kits described ala'-Sage would be welcomed. Possibly memes aren't over-rated after all. Surprised
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9180
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jul 2017, 08:43    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
I tried to boot the DVD from an external Toshiba DVD reader/burner.
Will retry from the internal CD/DVD reader.


Ah, I know what the problem is. External optical drives may need several seconds before can be used. I need to examine the 'init' script in initrd.q to wait a bit longer for the dvd to become available.

Have added that to the to-do list.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9180
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jul 2017, 08:50    Post subject: Re: linux kernel headers 4.11.11  

tronkel wrote:
Thanks dom570 that worked OK.
If anyone else has a problem with the Realtek rtl8723be wifi module here is a solution.


Do you know if this problem always occurs, or only on certain laptops?

If the answer is always, then I should apply that code next time I compile the kernel.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1122
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jul 2017, 10:06    Post subject: Realtek wifi modules fix  

As far as I know, this only occurs on certain laptops that have a dual-purpose Realtek bluetooth/wifi card. Mine is a newish but basic model HP laptop an HP 15-ba519ng with an AMD motherboard. On searching round the internet there seems to be a lot of users that are affected by this. The problem is that the module provided by the Linux kernel cannot recognise the ant_sel=2 argument. The suggested link in my previous post provides a patch for this. See:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106460&start=525

It might therefore be a good idea to compile the kernel with these modules built-in. Not sure if there are any disadvantages in doing this, but at least it would give the user the option of swapping out the antenna no., if necessary.

It appears that not all of the versions of this hardware have 2 real antennae. In some cases one of them is only a dummy but seems to fool the standard Linux module. This fix worked great for me in Quirky - compiles without issue. I didn't need the 4.11.11 headers, only the kernel source. There is no initrd.gz to update either. Great job on the Quirky architecture Barry.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer

Last edited by tronkel on Tue 25 Jul 2017, 04:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
jcoles

Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jul 2017, 12:27    Post subject: Re: Installation CD requires second copy of ISO
Subject description: Installation difficulty
 

belham2 wrote:

Hi Jocoles,

It has to be asked: did you take 5-10 mins and read this (the below link) first, which are instructions (since the beginning of Quirky a few years ago) on what to exactly do if you are installing Quirky to an internal hard drive?

RTFM is always the snarky developer answer. As a matter of fact, I followed the instructions here: http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/quirky6/amd64/releases/xerus-8.2/howto-install.htm
They say, under Live-CD ISO file,
Quote:
"After bootup, you will see two icons on the desktop, "install" and "save". The "install" icon enables you to install Quirky any way you want, to a partition on the hard drive, or an external drive.
If the CD only supports Live-CD or frugal install, the instructions should make that clear and the Install program should not offer Full Installation as an option in that case.

You can't blame users for being confused by bizarre behaviour. An installation CD asking for the ISO file of itself cannot ever make any sense.
It's funny. Software developers interact with computers using code which is very specific and precise. But when they have to interact with people, developers are often ambiguous and confusing.

I agree that frugal install may well be adequate and that the USB Flash option might perform better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3697
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jul 2017, 12:34    Post subject: Quirky Xerus 8.2 for x86_64, released July 19, 2017  

Booted the live DVD and installed to a 32gb usb-3.0 flash drive.

# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc20304 Kernel: 4.11.11 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM git-976 Distro: Quirky 8.2 xerus64
Machine: System: Hewlett-Packard product: p7-1246s serial: MXX232077R
Mobo: Foxconn model: 2ADA v: 1.00 Bios: AMI v: 7.12 date: 06/07/2012
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i5-3550 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/3301 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 driver: nvidia tty size: 128x28 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT5390 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 2031.9GB (0.3% used)
Info: Processes: 149 Uptime: 13 min Memory: 191.0/12040.8MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
#

Installed all must haves with QPM + installed proprietary Nvidia driver.
Monitor is a 32" TV.
Works well,
Thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   108.39 KB
 Viewed   1494 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jul 2017, 05:21    Post subject: no pEqualizer  

Hi to Barry and all.

Using Easy as sdb host, a very nice 8.2 resulted Barry.
Did a copy/paste to dd from your cheat-sheet
to an 8Gig stick sdc, no errors.

However, a buglet noted.
In Multimedia: pequalizer doesn't launch.
PPM says dependency caps_eq is missing.

Best regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15578
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jul 2017, 06:26    Post subject:  

Many thanks for making an ISO version Cool

Booted up ISO OK. Seemed fine from quick check. Decided to save a remastered boot DVD. (that is the boot straight into the file settings saved on my Hard Disk)
I don't think it burnt but it may have put a grub file on one of my HD.

... when I booted up the message in the enclosed image came up and I was stuck ... Rolling Eyes Embarassed
image.jpeg
Description 
jpeg

 Download 
Filename  image.jpeg 
Filesize  151.52 KB 
Downloaded  202 Time(s) 

_________________
Puppy Raspup 8.2 Final Cool
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 273
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jul 2017, 06:30    Post subject: blinky broken in frugal mode  

Blinky doesn't work in frugal mode.

Add up:
Blinky works!
I missed to disable my eth0 in the bios setup while using wlan0!
blinky-broken-in-frugal.png
 Description   
 Filesize   34.73 KB
 Viewed   1320 Time(s)

blinky-broken-in-frugal.png

blinky-is-broken.png
 Description   
 Filesize   11.63 KB
 Viewed   1310 Time(s)

blinky-is-broken.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jul 2017, 09:16    Post subject: To scottman re: pEqualizer  

Hello Scottman,

Ref your 2013 post after doing some digging,

as "fixed: pEqualizer (added caps_eq-0.4.8 and alsaequal-0.6)"
could you elaborate on this in full please to resolve my post
query above, on missing dependency in pEqualizer.

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9180
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jul 2017, 09:29    Post subject: Re: Installation CD requires second copy of ISO
Subject description: Installation difficulty
 

jcoles wrote:
You can't blame users for being confused by bizarre behaviour. An installation CD asking for the ISO file of itself cannot ever make any sense.


I don't know about bizarre, but I do agree it is an annoyance, so have fixed it. The frugal install already allows a choice of ISO, CD or folder, and I have enhanced install to partition or drive to have the same choice.

This is reported on my blog:
http://barryk.org/news/?viewDetailed=00614

I also made the installer a bit faster.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9180
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jul 2017, 09:35    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Many thanks for making an ISO version Cool

Booted up ISO OK. Seemed fine from quick check. Decided to save a remastered boot DVD. (that is the boot straight into the file settings saved on my Hard Disk)
I don't think it burnt but it may have put a grub file on one of my HD.

... when I booted up the message in the enclosed image came up and I was stuck ... Rolling Eyes Embarassed


Hi lobster, good that you still come to the Puppy Forum sometimes!

I don't know what that image means. Does the PC still bootup with the original CD, and find the saved session?

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
quirkian2new

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 139
Location: on the inter-planet train

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jul 2017, 09:45    Post subject:
Subject description: pMusic
 

When playing mp3 files, pMusic suddenly mutes for about 10~20 seconds and then resume. Don't know why. Anyone have same experience ? Seems also in previous Quirky.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   64.17 KB
 Viewed   1259 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9180
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jul 2017, 09:56    Post subject: Re: To scottman re: pEqualizer  

Rodney Byne wrote:
Hello Scottman,

Ref your 2013 post after doing some digging,

as "fixed: pEqualizer (added caps_eq-0.4.8 and alsaequal-0.6)"
could you elaborate on this in full please to resolve my post
query above, on missing dependency in pEqualizer.

Thanks in advance.


There is a bug in pequalizer.
/usr/local/pequalizer/pequalizer has this:

#depends on alsaequal
if [ ! -f /usr/lib/alsa-lib/libasound_module_ctl_equal.so ]; then
echo "Missing dependencies"
exit
fi

However, that shared lib is at:
/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/alsa-lib/libasound_module_ctl_equal.so

I fixed that, then run /usr/local/pequalizer/pequalizer in a terminal:

Code:
Failed to load plugin "/usr/lib/ladspa/caps.so": /usr/lib/ladspa/caps.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory



That caps.so is in this deb:
https://packages.ubuntu.com/xenial/caps

which I installed, but then got another error:
Code:
# /usr/local/pequalizer/pequalizer
Unable to find label "Eq" in plugin library file "/usr/lib/ladspa/caps.so".

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Philh

Joined: 17 May 2006
Posts: 151
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jul 2017, 10:50    Post subject:  

On the first boot up its a bit confusing having the please wait processing message over the xkb configuration manager as it doesnt continue until youve gone through the configure.
The help icon and exit icon are both missing on xkb configuration manager

I run the Multiple sound card wizard, select hw:1 but it doesnt write it to retrovolrc. I have to edit it manually.
Geoffreys version does seem to write it correctly.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=853357#853357

The volume control in xine gui doesnt adjust the volume. Ah it does on another laptop.

The retrovol volume setting doesnt get remembered when rebooting a usb frugal install but does with usb full.
I dont think it gets written to /etc/asound.state or that doesnt get saved.

Last edited by Philh on Sat 22 Jul 2017, 14:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 37 of 62 [921 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, ..., 60, 61, 62 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0846s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0232s) ][ GZIP on ]