Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 20 Oct 2017, 16:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy 32bit and 64bit on the same USB?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Marble42

Joined: 20 Jul 2014
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 02:35    Post subject:  Puppy 32bit and 64bit on the same USB?  

Hi guys. I was wondering if it's possible to carry both 32 and 64bit versions of Puppy on the same USB - (since I have two 64bit laptops, and one that's 32bit) and if yes, are there are any complications involved?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11630
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 07:07    Post subject:  

ISObooter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3041
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 08:11    Post subject:  

^^ +1.

It's eminently possible to have both on the same 'stick'; you can, after all, only run one at a time. Hence, there can't possibly be any 'conflicts'.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Marble42

Joined: 20 Jul 2014
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 09:25    Post subject:  

Awesome. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 257
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 10:59    Post subject: Alternative way to loap 2 Puppies to USB  

I use another technique to run 2 or more Puppies on a USB. It is:
1. Prepare USB stick by wiping it and giving it 2 partitions. I normally use EXT2 for the biggest partition (Partition1) and FAT32 for partition 2. Partition2 is only needed if I want to transfer some files to a running Windows machine and it can read Fat32. Make partition 1 bootable by setting the boot flag on it.
2. Inside partion1 create directories such as Slacko32, Slacko64, Tahr and Fatdod.
3. Open up the isos of the respective Distros and copy their contents into their respective directories.
4. Run Grub4Dos making it search in the USB only. And make sure that Grub4Dos is installed on the USB stick.
And hopefully it should all work although not for a Windows UEFI machine without legacy boot enabled.

Last edited by peterw on Sat 12 Aug 2017, 12:45; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9384
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 11:33    Post subject:  

Quote:
4. Run Grub4Dos making it search in the USB only

Also, when running Grub4dos bootloader config, choose to install Grub4dos to the USB.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 257
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 12:43    Post subject: USB install  

Bigpup.
Thanks for the clarification. I will edit the original to make sure no one gets led astray.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9384
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 13:16    Post subject:  

Your method is basically how I installed 10 different Puppies to a USB hard drive.
I have 7 partitions on it.

I do use this program, running in a Puppy, to do the installs.
YaPI
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601

After the install, It automatically has you run Grub4dos Config to update the boot menu.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 15:23    Post subject:
Subject description: When & Why multiple partitions necessary for multiple puppies
 

peterw wrote:
Quote:
I use another technique to run 2 or more Puppies on a USB. It is:
1. Prepare USB stick by wiping it and giving it 2 partitions. I normally use EXT2 for the biggest partition (Partition1) and FAT32 for partition 2. Partition2 is only needed if I want to transfer some files to a running Windows machine and it can read Fat32. Make partition 1 bootable by setting the boot flag on it.
2. Inside partion1 create directories such as Slacko32, Slacko64, Tahr and Fatdod.

bigpup wrote:
Quote:
Your method is basically how I installed 10 different Puppies to a USB hard drive.
I have 7 partitions on it.

isobooter uses 2 partitions.

Wait a minute! When did this necessity to have 2 partition materialize? Or, when and why was it considered necessary to have one puppy per partition?
Was it with the introduction of Grub4DOS?
Was it with Barry's Quirkies and image files - 1 Quirky per flash drive?
Was it Microsoft's introduction of installing Windows from a flash drive - 1 Windows O/S per flash drive?
Was it the start of using isohybrids?
Was it influenced by plop, unetbootin or some other loader designed for a single o/s installation?
Which? Or is there another reason/explanation? Why was it considered necessary to have 2 partitions for multiple puppies?

I have been running multiple puppies from a single flash drive in a single FAT32 formatted partition since 2009; my last installation was tahr--6.0.2 and 6.0.5. But when installing tahr-6.0.6 using the same proc I have used for 8 years, it doesn't work.

Some answers please. And I want to hear from bigpup, mick01, rcrn51, mavrathol ...

_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 657

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 15:39    Post subject:  

Here's the menu.lst from the Sandisk USB thumb in my pocket:
Code:

# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.8.0
color light-blue/black green/black light-blue/black black/black
#splashimage=/splash.xpm
timeout 5
default 0

title 571+
  uuid 16d967c5-c906-42f5-bc3f-61782a7ad758
  kernel /571+/vmlinuz   psubdir=571+ pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
  initrd /571+/initrd.gz

title 571 RAM
  uuid 16d967c5-c906-42f5-bc3f-61782a7ad758
  kernel /571+/vmlinuz   psubdir=571+ pmedia=usbflash pfix=ram
  initrd /571+/initrd.gz
 
title 571 Purple
  uuid 16d967c5-c906-42f5-bc3f-61782a7ad758
  kernel /571-Purple/vmlinuz   psubdir=571-Purple pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
  initrd /571-Purple/initrd.gz
   
title Fatdog64
  kernel /Fatdog64/boot/vmlinuz   psubdir=boot pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck coldplug savefile=ram:uuid:16d967c5-c906-42f5-bc3f-61782a7ad758:/Fatdog64/fd64save_dmcrypt_thumb.ext4 waitdev=5
  initrd /Fatdog64/boot/initrd
   
title SailPup-571
  uuid 16d967c5-c906-42f5-bc3f-61782a7ad758
  kernel /SailPup-571/vmlinuz   psubdir=SailPup-571 pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
  initrd /SailPup-571/initrd.gz     

title 571retro
  uuid 16d967c5-c906-42f5-bc3f-61782a7ad758
  kernel /571r/vmlinuz   psubdir=571r pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
  initrd /571r/initrd.gz

title 571r RAM
  uuid 16d967c5-c906-42f5-bc3f-61782a7ad758
  kernel /571r/vmlinuz   psubdir=571r pmedia=usbflash pfix=ram
  initrd /571r/initrd.gz
   
title 571r Router
  uuid 16d967c5-c906-42f5-bc3f-61782a7ad758
  kernel /router/vmlinuz   psubdir=router pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
  initrd /router/initrd.gz 

title 528
  uuid 16d967c5-c906-42f5-bc3f-61782a7ad758
  kernel /528/vmlinuz   psubdir=528 pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
  initrd /528/initrd.gz
 
# Advanced Menu
title 
  is64bit

title Additionals:
  is64bit

# Boot these ISO files  on the FAT32 partition (hd0,0)
title Clonezilla i686 PAE
partnew (hd0,3) 0x00 (hd0,0)/ISOs/clonezilla-live-2.4.2-61-i686-pae.iso
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 (hd0,0)/ISOs/clonezilla-live-2.4.2-61-i686-pae.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
chainloader (0xff)     

title SCE 32 Mate ISO (P2V)
partnew (hd0,3) 0x00 (hd0,0)/ISOs/sce32-mate-p2v.iso
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 (hd0,0)/ISOs/sce32-mate-p2v.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
chainloader (0xff) 

title Reboot
  reboot

title Shutdown
  halt


32, 64, ISO's, all kinds of stuff. each in their own directory. ISO's on fat32 partition ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 257
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 13 Aug 2017, 04:15    Post subject: Need for extra partitions  

Hi B. K. Johnson

As far as I know you do not need more than 1 partition. This is what I said, "Partition2 is only needed if I want to transfer some files to a running Windows machine and it can read Fat32". I was only suggesting it for a specific use as I stated. As you rightly note Puppy can use any file system (including FAT32) so if you want to use that then that is fine and it gives you the ability of transferring files to a running Windows machine.

I envisaged that perhaps someone might want to use other file systems such as F2FS for their Puppies and hence my advice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9384
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 14 Aug 2017, 06:55    Post subject:  

Quote:
When did this necessity to have 2 partition materialize?

UEFI bios computers.
They want to see a boot partition that is a Windows format and fat 32 is the one that will work on all.
Why?
Quote:
what the UEFI spec does mandate, is that, at the very least, an UEFI system should be able to boot from FAT32.

So, if you do not want the entire drive to have one fat32 partition.
You make the first one fat32.
Flag it boot.
Put the boot loader on it.

Make all the other partitions you want and any format.
Put Puppy on any of them including the first one.

Is this in stone?
No.

It depends on the computer manufacturer and how they setup the UEFI bios.
But they all have to support booting from a fat 32 format.

If you disable secure boot and/or select legacy boot in the UEFI bios, it may or may not apply needing fat32.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1929
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Mon 14 Aug 2017, 08:18    Post subject: 1st Partition of USB-Key as Fat32  

And I've run into (at least) one computer running Windows 7 (no UEFI) which happily reads the 1st USB-Key partition when that partition is formatted Fat32. But if the 1st partition is Linux Ext(2 - 4) with the 2nd or subsequent partition(s) being Fat32 Windows asks if I want to format the USB-key, never reaching the 2nd or subsequent partitions.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Mon 14 Aug 2017, 15:57    Post subject:  

@bigpup
I am going to try to summarize your post to see if I understand it correctly. And as I do, I ask some questions which I hope you and others can shed some light on.

Summary
1. All UEFI bios computers must have a FAT32 partition to boot from.
2. If you don't want to place all files in that FAT32 partition, you may create additional partitions.
3. The additional partitions may be of any file system

Conclusion
So UEFI does not really need a second partition; it tolerates it as long as there is a bootable FAT32. It does not mandate one.

Questions
1. So who decides on a 2nd or more partitions and why? User? Developer? Either?

2. If it is the user, what are the reason(s) that would make him/her choose to have a second partition?

2.a I have seen post claiming that they need the 2nd partition to enable file transfers between Windows an Linux. Unless it is Win-7+, I have always been able to transfer between the 2 operating systems.
2.b For storage of a particular file type
2.c For launching a particular system
2.c To launch each puppy from a different partition
2.d To accommodate these partitions, the user invariably chooses grb4DOS as the boot-loader

3. What are the reason(s) that would make a developer choose to have a second partition?
3.a Does the the developer really makes such a choice? He/she creates an ISO for burning to a CD/DVD. Hard drive and flash drive partitions are not applicable for optical media. I see in tahr-6.0.6 that 666philb provides both isolinux.cfg and grub.cfg. So it comes down to which bootloader (Grub4DOS or SYSLINUX) and the implementation thereof that decides.
3.b isobooter and if I'm not mistaken, YaPI deliberately create second partitions. Why?


Any other comments that will enhance my understanding are welcomed.
TIA.

_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
version2013

Joined: 08 Sep 2013
Posts: 298
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Mon 14 Aug 2017, 22:23    Post subject:  

My 64bit laptop has:
secure boot disabled
legacy bios enabled

My multiple puppy frugal installs are on a notebook hard drive in an external enclosure connected via USB 3.
My hard drive has one ext3 partition with MSDOS partition table.
The frugal installs are in separate directories.
I use syslinux as my boot loader.

http://www.syslinux.org/wiki/index.php?title=Download
http://www.syslinux.org/wiki/index.php?title=EXTLINUX
http://www.syslinux.org/wiki/index.php?title=Mbr

in the root of the mounted usb hard drive (happens to be /sdg):
Code:
/initrd/mnt/dev_save/Library/syslinux/syslinux-6.03/bios/extlinux/extlinux --install .

master boot record in the partition table
Code:
dd bs=440 count=1 conv=notrunc if=/initrd/mnt/dev_save/Library/syslinux/syslinux-6.03/bios/mbr/mbr.bin of=/dev/sdg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0604s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0030s) ][ GZIP on ]