Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 13 Dec 2017, 16:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
HDD failure imminent. What to do?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 5 [72 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 13:35    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
Maybe I could install a distro with GRUB2, then surgically remove the OS and substitute Puppy Slacko. Or if could find a distro that installs GRUB2 as an independent operation. Any suggestions for a distro? Ubuntu?

You'd think that Hiren's bootCD or some specialty utility distro (eg SystemRescueCD) would be able to install GRUB2.


Grub2 is kinda tied to the OS, you can look around for standalone Grub2 options, but defeats the purpose somewhat.
You can install a basic netinstall Debian 9 in less than 1GB that has Base OS minus Xwin and full Grub2. Ubuntu base install is bigger but also works.
Unlike you, I don't have any >2TB drives so I never needed to switch off Grub4DOS, which is simple and easy. The Grub2 bloatware I leave on the other distros PBR.(such as Arch, Debian, Fedora)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 13:45    Post subject:  

That's good news, rcrsn51. I have installed Legacy Grub 2013 from Slacko 6.3. It doesn't work, possibly because of the (hd0,0) lettering options. Do you have any suggestions? Here's my menu.lst from grub.
Code:
timeout 4
default 0
#
title Puppy Linux Full on sda1
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro vga=normal


I didn't like the Slacko 5.7 grub, so I used a DOS floppy to rewrite the MBR.
Code:
C:/ fdisk /mbr

Then I installed Legacy Grub 2013 from Slacko 6.3, Still no luck.

I notice that Slacko 5.7 Legacy GRUB 2013 has an extra line
Code:
initrd /initrd.gz

Is this significant?

I just tried to boot from the hard drive, and got this message
Code:
No boot device available
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 20:25    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
The legacy GRUB installer is here.

It will work with a GPT partition table.


Just out of curiosity, I did a test on VBox and could not get that Grub Legacy to work on a GPT disk. No valid boot device error. Grub2 worked fine though.

Is this Grub Legacy package the same as what is in Slacko 6.3.2? I tried that too and it also did not work. Maybe it would on real hardware, but I have no spare drives/systems to test at the moment.

EDIT: Never mind, operator error. Forgot that my Vbox test setup install was using 64-bit Ext4. 32-bit Ext4 on GPT worked OK with Grub Legacy.

Last edited by jd7654 on Wed 13 Sep 2017, 04:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 20:43    Post subject:  

Thanks for that test, jd. I'm still waiting for a follow-up from rcrsn51 on this matter Even if menu.lst is the same for 5.7 and 6.3, there could still be differences in Stage1 and Stage2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11738
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 20:53    Post subject:  

@nubc: Once you wrote a new MBR with the DOS boot diskette, it's impossible to know where you are at.

What does Gparted say about the drive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 21:05    Post subject:  

/dev/sda (3.64 TB)
sda1 (29.30 GB) ext3 is boot partition (locked)
sda2 (3.61 TB) ext3
sda3 (4.88 GB) is swap
partition table gpt
heads 255
sectors/track 63
sector size 512

Any specific information you need?

After I rewrote the MBR, I deleted the contents of the boot directory before reinstalling Legacy GRUB 2013

I'd be happy to format the drives, or redo the partitions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 04:24    Post subject:  

I am running a frugal install that boots from CD, and stores a savefile on USB flashdrive. RAM is being written to the savefile every half hour, causing the computer to freeze for the duration of the write. This is ridiculous. How do I disable the automatic writing to savefile? Or at least make it reasonable, like every 3 hours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4298
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 05:09    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
How do I disable the automatic writing to savefile?

See this post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 16:34    Post subject:  

That's long enough on the full install. I'll have to put that off for another day. I transferred the save file and sfs files from the flashdrive to root of the OS partition on the new hard drive, sda1. Booting is much faster.

Now I must apply myself to the task of saving the data on the old 2 TB hard drive. Currently, the computer is not seeing this drive when it's connected, so I have a difficult task ahead, before I can transfer the 1.8 TB of data to the new 4 TB hard drive. I don't think circumstances call for dd rescue yet, but I am open to suggestions for recovering the filesystem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 17:02    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
I don't think circumstances call for dd rescue yet, but I am open to suggestions for recovering the filesystem.


I've used Minitool Partition Wizard successfully before. It recovered a drive that even GParted itself corrupted. Its mainly a Windows program, but they also have bootable ISO which is Linux based, but looks like they don't offer that for download anymore, have to get it thru application. Though you can still find old versions for download in various places.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 18:17    Post subject:  

GParted does not see the drive. The hard drive is spinning, with a little startup chatter. I put the drive in another computer, with same negative results. I am stumped. Maybe I'll have to clone the drive. Actually, I only want to clone the one data partition, sda2. I might have perhaps 70% of the drive in duplication, accidental backup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 18:43    Post subject:  

That sounds bad, definite hardware issue. Always best to quickly get data off a problem HD at the first sign of trouble. It is usually degenerative. You may only have low level options left.(like ddrescue, if that even works now)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 19:14    Post subject:  

I have recovered a deleted directory containing AV files, and I can say from that experience it is very important that the entire file be recovered including the title. If I recover only anonymous files, the work involved in naming these files would simply be overwhelming. So a recovered file must include title.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 20:29    Post subject:  

I tried to download Ubuntu iso (1.5 GB) to thumbdrive, and for some reason the download filled up my personal space. Okay, how do I resize the savefile? What is the maximum size I can make it? Right now, it's 2 GB, and probably almost full.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 20:42    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
I have recovered a deleted directory containing AV files, and I can say from that experience it is very important that the entire file be recovered including the title. If I recover only anonymous files, the work involved in naming these files would simply be overwhelming. So a recovered file must include title.


The situation is different now. Not just a deleted files situation, you have a bad/failing hard drive situation. Time is against you. Seems like the high level copy data has failed. If saving the data is most important, I'd concentrate on that rather than setting up the new 4TB drive OS situation. The more you try and read the old 2TB drive it can be getting worse and more corrupted data and finally just stop working. I hope it's not there now, but sounds like it.

If it were mine. I'd clone the 2TB onto the 4TB with ddrescue and then setup its OS and booting later. It depends on your priority.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 [72 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1028s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0172s) ][ GZIP on ]