Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 13 Dec 2017, 01:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
pmcputemp -temperature monitor
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 20:35    Post subject:  

I added the return 0 line and the script seems to be working well now.
Also correctly loading module and creating config file with no unneeded modules loading in:-
Dell Vostro desktop with Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6700 (using coretemp)
Compaq Presario SR1709UK desktop with AMD Sempron 3000+ (using k8temp)

Found another module worth looking at named w83627hf
Mesh Computers desktop, model number not known
AMD Athlon 64 CPU
This machine uses the openchrome video driver in xorg
Will work with k8temp module but sensors-detect also indicated the above driver as an alternative.
Code:
# modprobe w83627hf
# sensors
w83697hf-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
in0:          +1.46 V  (min =  +0.13 V, max =  +2.14 V)
in2:          +3.34 V  (min =  +0.40 V, max =  +3.90 V)
in3:          +2.98 V  (min =  +2.58 V, max =  +0.03 V)  ALARM
in4:          +3.10 V  (min =  +2.24 V, max =  +3.34 V)
in5:          +0.54 V  (min =  +2.59 V, max =  +1.79 V)  ALARM
in6:          +3.57 V  (min =  +0.32 V, max =  +0.05 V)  ALARM
in7:          +3.23 V  (min =  +0.26 V, max =  +3.34 V)
in8:          +3.57 V  (min =  +1.18 V, max =  +0.26 V)  ALARM
fan1:        2986 RPM  (min = 135000 RPM, div = 2)  ALARM
fan2:        2280 RPM  (min = 1308 RPM, div = 8)
temp1:        +30.0°C  (high = -84.0°C, hyst = +100.0°C)  sensor = CPU diode
temp2:        +28.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, hyst = +75.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
beep_enable: enabled

# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*'
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp1_beep
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp1_type
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp2_beep
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp2_type
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp1_max_hyst
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp2_max_hyst
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp1_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp1_input
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp1_max
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp2_max
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp2_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp2_input
#

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8660
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 03:03    Post subject:  

Another interesting find... this could go on.. and on!

So my solution is to add a 'module' parameter to the cli. It only needs to be done on first run. Everything is uploaded to github. Be sure to read the README and also run ./configure -h to get a grasp of some new options. The --enable-sensors might interest you, and also --with-help (requires mdview - get tarball from link)

Code:
# git log
commit ce6965822537b6922f2569bcfd9bdf82bd0935d0
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:48:00 2015 +1000

    pmcputemp.c: fix gtk3 support
    add help menu if configured
    add lm_sensors menu if configured
    bugfix for not loading icon on first run
    add module parameter on first run
    add theme parameters, light and dark

commit 258cd650f20970c83476d2dffd016fd215a8d30a
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:47:11 2015 +1000

    pmcputemp.sh: full rewrite, improved logic, add more modules

commit 2e9245b085d2e1fc7f269769dd8597edbe2eddec
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:45:45 2015 +1000

    about.c: add gtk3 support, bump version

commit 385b7b774bb359b3e51b29cbb632c7064ba5e9b4
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:42:43 2015 +1000

    configure: add lm_sensor support, help support, gtk3 support.
    Fix paths.

commit e4d3bc61523288e4bd6d73b4ca2b4bf7226856a9
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:42:02 2015 +1000

    update readme, add "help"

commit 1e9e416818da96b033fc283db6855cbdb9fb8453
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:41:13 2015 +1000

    new files lm.c, lm.h: add lm_sensor support.

commit 447ab89c7dd04517bc5cce3e533879aaf06804a6
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:40:20 2015 +1000

    update es translation

commit 9f04110c6272604b56a31a118092d7dc56f0fa9b
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:39:14 2015 +1000

    update man page


EDIT: I just discovered one myself Laughing . thermal_sys, for my older celeron dual core laptop (Compaq cq60)

And this works -
Code:
pmcputemp d 3 thermal_sys


First run showed the icon and everything else working as expected (with the new files from github of course).

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 11:20    Post subject:  

Looking good and working well on a wide selection of machines. Help window looks fine when compiled with jamesbond's mdview.

Compiling with lm-sensors the only thing I note is that I have to enable UTF-8 (in the first-run dialog gui) otherwise when opening the info window to display the sensor information I get some sort of pango shango warning and the "degrees" symbol displays as an upright rectangle with a diagonal cross in it.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8660
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 08 May 2015, 05:58    Post subject:  

Hi Oscar

There are 2 ways to handle the UTF-8 issue.
    1. I can patch the C code (which I have done and it works)
    2. Kick it off with a script.


I'm thinking 2 is the way to go though, because there are more cases to handle than just UTF-8. For instance, if you run it as LANG=C, you get no degree symbol because it isn't in the charset at all, and it looks perfectly acceptable. There are other obscure encodings that I have no way of knowing how they will react so a script is the best solution.

Something like:
Code:

#!/bin/sh
export OLDLANG=$LANG
case $LANG in
  ??_??) export LANG=${LANG}.UTF-8 ;;
  *.UTF8|C) echo ;; #leave it
  *)echo "I can't handle this one, leaving $LANG alone" ;;
esac


pmcputemp & #options can be added here

export LANG=$OLDLANG #reset


That code is just off the top of my head so may need work.

Of course it could be more sophisticated or simplified, whatever works for you I guess.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3213
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 11 May 2015, 17:36    Post subject:  

Hi, 01micko.

Sorry to be a little while getting back to you.

Quote:
Also, the default update interval is 5 seconds - adjustable thanks to jamesbond's suggestion. On the cli just add an integer from 1 to 10, and that will adjust the update to whatever number you put in. Obviously, the lower the number, the more CPU you will use, but it isn't much.

eg:
Code:

pmcputemp 3


I tried your above suggestion. I don't know if this is the intended behaviour or not, but when I enter the above in the terminal (I used 2), what I get is a second icon, beside the first, which updates every 2 seconds.....the first one updating every 5 seconds, which appears to be the default setting, yes?

When I close the terminal, the second icon disappears.....which is probably to be expected. How would I go about adjusting this ( either in the script itself, or wherever), so that the update occurs every 2 seconds in the permanent icon? Where would I make the adjustment? Confused

Bear in mind that I'm still a 'noob' as far as Linux, and scripting goes; been using these boxes of tricks for 35 yrs+, but only been using Linux for about a year in total, and early November as far as Puppy is concerned.....shortly after 'Tahrpup' was released.

I'll start learning scripting one of these days..! Laughing


Regards,

Mike.

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lend27

Joined: 02 Feb 2016
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Tue 02 Feb 2016, 20:34    Post subject:  

What is the command to start this at boot?

Thanks
Len
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 02 Feb 2016, 20:39    Post subject:  

Thanks for the brush-off Mate.. Appreciated (NOT).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lend27

Joined: 02 Feb 2016
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Thu 04 Feb 2016, 12:09    Post subject:  

Not sure what I did wrong, but sorry.

Your help has been great!

Len
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3213
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 04 Feb 2016, 21:00    Post subject:  

Lend27 wrote:
What is the command to start this at boot?

Thanks
Len


You should find it auto-starts. The post-install script places it in /root/.config/autostart. (Hidden file; the 'eye' icon in ROX will show them to you).


Mike. Wink
capture26353.png
 Description   pmcputemp in Slacko 5.7.0....
 Filesize   24.7 KB
 Viewed   329 Time(s)

capture26353.png


_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2016, 12:19    Post subject: Laptop Aspire old puppies.
Subject description: Slacko pet to test
 

on try with my old Acer Aspire 3000. It's not so easy to find a temp icon... sorry 64 bits. ... no..
_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1851
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2016, 21:05    Post subject: Repeating error message flooding xerrs.log  

In tahr64 fresh pupsaves, the log fills with an error message. I reported this in the tahrpup Bugs thread here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=907609#907609

The subsequent posting mentions that a restartX clears the problem. This occurs on a boot with no pupsave. Not sure if it continues after creating a pupsave.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 758
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Sat 30 Sep 2017, 21:38    Post subject:
Subject description: pmcputemp working in Dell inspiron 1100, LxPupXenial 16.08
 

Thanks 01micko - pmcputemp working well in a 2003 Dell 1100, 2GB ram, 2.6GHz CPU. This is a P4 cpu and she burns at the high end for daily tasks - so your application is pretty vital to monitoring the health of this ol' beauty, Cheers!
Interestingly, although it was already included in the pupplet that I'm currently testing (in the subject line), I had to re-install v 0.63 via an updated PPM, before it would work - from terminal. I noticed that doesn't have a menu entry - would having that make it easier to call up for environments such as LXPanel etc? I've included it in the startup menu (shown below) but haven't rebooted yet to test. Cheers again - an essential addition to Puppy in these older machines.

UPDATE: yup there on reboot, looking good!
Forgot to mention - usb frugal installs from a multiboot YUMI stick.
pmcputemp.jpg
 Description   screeny of pmcputemp particulars in LXPupXenial 16.08, Dell inspiron 1100 laptop
 Filesize   101.05 KB
 Viewed   76 Time(s)

pmcputemp.jpg


_________________
What I get up to when I'm not on the Puppy Linux Murga forum:
http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=EMQxfgYAAAAJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 758
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Sun 01 Oct 2017, 06:41    Post subject:  

Strangest thing - installed a new hdd into the Dell 1100 laptop, re-used my multi-boot YUMI usb drive to establish a new LXxenial as per my recipe above, and can't find pmcputemp in the updated PPM. This time I first "remove built-in package" 'd the previous pmcputemp that wasn't working after I got the response as follows:
Code:
root# pmcputemp
loading k10temp
/sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp is written to /root/.config/pmcputemp
An attempt has been made to create a configuration file

(pmcputemp:21235): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_new_from_file: assertion 'error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed

(pmcputemp:21235): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_new_from_file: assertion 'error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed

(pmcputemp:21235): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_new_from_file: assertion 'error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed...
...and so on. I'm pretty sure I hadn't download the pet on the first page of the thread, but maybe I've had a touch of old-timer's... working well now as a pet install. I vote it should go into the PPM and into Puppy canon
_________________
What I get up to when I'm not on the Puppy Linux Murga forum:
http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=EMQxfgYAAAAJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0711s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0139s) ][ GZIP on ]