Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 22 Oct 2017, 06:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How can i install 2 puppies in the same HD?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
lolo69

Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 01 Oct 2017, 13:32    Post subject:  How can i install 2 puppies in the same HD?  

Hi. Very Happy
I just installed slacko puppy in my hard disk as the only OS i have, but i would like to install puppy arcade as a secundary one.
Then i could work in slacko, and sometimes go to play to the arcade os.

But i'm really newbie in Gparted, i have two partitions, the first named slacko, where slpuppy is, and a extended one where is the linux-swap, and I really dont know what should i do.

what i want is use slacko, download some stuff, and save files. Then reboot, go to arcadepuppy where i'd had my games and roms, etc.
But i dont want to share the same files i have in slacko to arcade, i want space between them.

How could i do something like this? Question

if someone can help, it could be nice Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1533
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Sun 01 Oct 2017, 13:44    Post subject:  

you want to install the OS as frugal not full

you can then install as many as you wish

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lolo69

Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 01 Oct 2017, 13:50    Post subject:  

Really?
If i install it on frugal mode it will act as something different to the slacko?
won't they be share any folder or file? Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1533
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Sun 01 Oct 2017, 14:06    Post subject:  

frugal is essentially a copy of the ISO contents much like a burnt cd

once installed you create a savefile (or folder if applicable - I prefer savefile), this includes your saved settings and installed apps

you run grub4dos boot loader which generates a list of installed puppies

at boot, select the one you wish and you're off, reboot to another when you wish



I find the easiest way to install is to boot from a cd or usb puppy

create a partition, download the puppy ISOs you wish to install

mount the ISO by clicking on the download, copy the contents of the expanded ISO to a suitable folder (ie tharpup605), the click the ISO again to unmount

repeat for the other puppies you wish to install into separate folders

run grub4dos

reboot and enjoy

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lolo69

Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 01 Oct 2017, 14:17    Post subject:  

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3045
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 01 Oct 2017, 15:08    Post subject:  

Hi, lolo69. And 'Welcome' to the kennels..!

Ally is absolutely right. The 'Pup in a folder' technique is one that many of us here employ.....and it works for the simple reason that at boot-time, Grub4DOS (and Puppy in its turn) will search two layers deep for Puppy files (instead of only searching the top level).

Even if you've got an extended partition with several logical partitions, you may not want to upset your particular layout. This way, you can tuck the odd Puppy in just about anywhere you happen to have some spare space.....and the usual OS constraints of being laid-out in a specific manner, and things done in a certain way, simply don't apply.....

The ideal way, if you want to run several Pups, is to create one large partition, plus the 'swap' partition. Then, create as many folders in the large partition as you need.....and 'install' a Pup to each! Every time you add another Pup, re-run Grub4DOS.....and a new entry will be added to your boot menu.

Simples!


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 901

PostPosted: Sun 01 Oct 2017, 16:31    Post subject:  

Or, instead of rerunning Grub4dos every time, just open up the menu.1st file in geany or leafpad and create the new entries manually, following the pattern Grub4dos uses. All you have to do is copy, paste, and change the paths and title.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0422s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0107s) ][ GZIP on ]