Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 19 Nov 2017, 17:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Beware of the Minero Miner malware in every place u visit
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Mon 02 Oct 2017, 04:31    Post subject:  Beware of the Minero Miner malware in every place u visit
Subject description: Cryptocurrency miner uses your CPU
 

Hi all,

As if we don't have enough on our plates with the wild web, here comes another. This is starting to show up in not just places like 'PirateBay' and other torrent sites, but in also regular web sites. Beware, as the lure/attraction for any website operator is almost too great:

https://www.linuxinsider.com/story/84820.html


"........The miner has caused many users to see a sudden unexplained jump in CPU usage.

While few would quibble with the site's need to find additional revenue streams, some users were angered by the lack of prior notice.

"You didn't make an effort to let us know beforehand??"...."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4716
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Tue 03 Oct 2017, 04:11    Post subject:  

This raises the question - how does a user know how much cpu is being used? Is there a system tray meter for this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mostly_lurking

Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Tue 03 Oct 2017, 10:09    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
This raises the question - how does a user know how much cpu is being used? Is there a system tray meter for this?

JWM doesn't have one, as far as I can tell. Gatotray is the only CPU tray app I can think of right now that works with JWM. (Look through the whole thread; several people have submitted versions with different features and patches. Unpack it, put the binary into /root/Startup, and restart the X server.) It has a pretty odd way of displaying the graph, though, shrinking older values for some reason I don't understand.

Some other taskbar managers like FBpanel or LXpanel have built-in CPU graphs, but they aren't designed to work with JWM [*]. FBpanel is often used together with the Openbox window manager.

If you don't feel like installing a desktop or tray application to monitor the CPU usage, you can use command line tools like top or htop. They can also show the values for each CPU core separately (on Busybox's top, press "c" to toggle between combined and per-core usage).

------
[*] Just out of curiosity, I tried to install FBpanel on a Puppy with JWM (Tahr 6.0.6) in a virtual machine. I downloaded an FBpanel package for Quirky from here (couldn't find any on ibiblio.org anymore) and installed it. (Openbox and its configuration program, obconf, are there, too, in case anyone wants them.) It worked, but there was still the JWM taskbar under it, which also contained all the tray apps. I removed it in a pretty shoddy and probably not recommended way by renaming the /root/.jwmrc-tray file to ".jwmrc-tray-disabled". I also created a symlink from /usr/bin/fbpanel to /root/Startup, since JWM is not configured to start FBpanel automatically. (I haven't checked if this construction survives a save and reboot.) I didn't do any extensive testing, but noticed a glitch: after using the "desktop" button to restore all minimized windows, FBpanel still treats them as being minimized, so that I can't use that button to minimize them again until I've clicked on one of the window tabs. This setup is definitely a little rough around the edges...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11158
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 03 Oct 2017, 10:33    Post subject:  

Hello, greengeek and mostly_lurking.

The icewm window manager has a cpu monitor in its taskbar, but you
have to activate it by putting the following in the prefoverride file in
/root/.icewm:
Code:
#  Show CPU status on task bar (Linux & Solaris)
TaskBarShowCPUStatus=1 # 0/1

#  Width of CPU Monitor
TaskBarCPUSamples=48 # [2-1000]

Also, the default conky configuration usually has such a CPU meter. In the
Conky doc, it's called the "cpubar" setting. It's in the TEXT part at the
bottom of a conky config file, for ex.:
Code:
${cpubar 11,50}

Finally, although xload is not, strictly speaking, a cpu monitor, you can
use it as such, because ir monitors the overall load on your machine.
xload should already be activated in the jwm bar. You can check if it is by
reading file /root/.jwmrc-tray. In earlier versions, jwm used to have it.

If you have xload on board (please check with < whereis xload >), you
can display it as a separate window, through a script like this one:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# /opt/local/bin/xload2.sh
#
# (c) Christian L'Écuyer, Gatineau (Qc), Canada, Oct. 3 2017. GPL3.
####
GeoM="geometry 150x40-295-70"
xload -$GeoM -hl azure4 -bg black -fg orange -nolabel -scale 3 -update 2 &

You can of course adapt the geometry and the colors to your desktop.

IHTH.
xload-separate-window.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   6.22 KB
 Viewed   71 Time(s)

xload-separate-window.jpg


_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)

Last edited by musher0 on Tue 03 Oct 2017, 11:05; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 687
Location: Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.

PostPosted: Tue 03 Oct 2017, 10:45    Post subject:  

Xload will indicate increased cpu load. It is installed in puppy by default.
The graph is relative with no direct correlation to full load but serves as an indicator of increased load only.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=28483&sid=8ac2ff2eb8e0104f32247e96d21636d4

I suggest turning off java script.

Not going to argue about the best way to do that as it has been beaten to death.

.

_________________
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue 03 Oct 2017, 11:44    Post subject: Conky  

Conky is a good way to keep track of CPU activity.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0439s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]