Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 17 Dec 2017, 08:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
ArtfulPup
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 27 [402 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Author Message
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1179
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 12 Oct 2017, 09:52    Post subject: Re: manual X restart to get some apps in /root/Startup runing  

Hi Marv,
+ @PeeBee about wacom tablet connection.
Marv wrote:
charlie6 wrote:
Hi,
Here need, on 2 desktops and one laptop, to several times perform a manual X restart to get some apps in /root/Startup running.

Does anyone else also get this?

This happens quite at each bootup.

Not even the Startup apps don't start, but also seems that the activation of xorg.conf having the wacom tablets code options in it.

HTH Charlie


What are the hardware specs on your systems?... .


1. Here are the specs:
Quote:
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.53GHz
Socket Designation: CPU
Manufacturer: Intel
Voltage: 3.3 V
External Clock: 533 MHz
Max Speed: 3060 MHz
Current Speed of Core 0:2533 MHz


2. about rc.local edition: added sleep 4 without improvment..

3. about tablet connection:
Only the Wacom Bamboo Pen MTE-450 tablet gives me some unconstant or unsteady behaviour: seems like there are two tablets in one and X "hesitate between the one or the other" Shocked Mad as the input_drv.so driver recognizes 7 items instead of 4:
doing in terminal #xsetwacom --list reports:
- stylus, eraser, cursor and pad devices;
+
- i.e. Wacom Bamboo Pen, Wacom Bamboo Eraser and Wacom Bamboo Pad.
and
doing in a terminal
# more /proc/bus/input/devices
reports there are two events (i.e. event4 and event5) assigned to Wacom Bamboo Pen and Wacom Bamboo Pad respectively.
Then the tablet works as a common mouse without having the pressure function in MtPaint. Aslo the /dev/input/wacom link points to /dev/input/event5.

After one or more successive restart X , then it happens that the command
#xsetwacom --list reports
- stylus, eraser, cursor and pad devices
+
- Wacom Bamboo Pad

and then the tablet works as expected (cursors behaviour, pen pressure in MtPaint...).
Then the /dev/input/wacom symlink (created by the uedv rules) points to /dev/input/event4 (Wacom Bamboo Pen)

I do not know what causes that difficult (unpredictable?...random??) to reproduce behaviour.
I have spent quite two afternoons to browse and read the web + the linuxwacom project website to find some usefull infos.

My experience is that the Wacom Bamboo MTE-450 tablet was working OK with Tahrpup-6.0.6 and earlier Puppies.
Also tried to compile (without success Sad ) an earlier X wacom driver xf86-input-wacom-0.17.0.tar.bz2 which I know it supports The Wacom Bamboo MT-450 tablet.

Though, I also have a Volito CTF-420 wacom tablet which works OK OOTB on the above documented CPU.

Thanks for any commet!
HTH Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3151
Location: wales

PostPosted: Thu 12 Oct 2017, 11:49    Post subject:  

hi peebee,

good work! Smile

printing and scanning are work OTB for me on a 'epson stylus
sx125'

hevc encoded are videos working. they even work on my netbook which would usually struggle with them.

/var/log/Xorg.0.log is getting spammed with dbus errors as a the 'pid' & 'socket' are missing from /var/run/dbus.
symlinking from /etc/init.d/dbus to /etc/init.d/messagebus should fix that.

the transmission your using requires gtk3, so you'll probably want one of the older .pet versions

i think 'show image thumbnails' should be turned on in rox's options. useful when browsing image or icon folders

.svg run action is set to defaultdraw but would be better set to defaultimageviewer
/usr/local/bin/defaultdraw is set to sodipodi Smile

the JWM version you are using is noticeably clunky & slow on my low end netbook. was this compiled on a different puppy? i compiled 2.3.7m in zestypup and it's much better.

also in JWM to get rid of those co-ordinates that appear when you move a window add
Code:
<!-- The resize mode (outline or opaque) -->
<ResizeMode coordinates="off" >opaque</ResizeMode>
to /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal after 'the move mode'

i've compiled the latest samba in zesty (using 01mickos petbuilds) and shares are now working. samba & jwm .pets here https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B8-cE8EIRGZVcGpPVkFsR2pIbDQ?usp=sharing

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

Last edited by 666philb on Thu 12 Oct 2017, 15:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3039
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 12 Oct 2017, 13:04    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
hi peebee,

good work! Smile

printing and scanning are work OTB for me on a 'epson stylus
sx125'

hevc encoded are videos working. they even work on my netbook which would usually struggle with them.

/var/log/Xorg.0.log is getting spammed with dbus errors as a the 'pid' & 'socket' are missing from /var/run/dbus.
symlinking from /etc/init.d/dbus to /etc/init.d/messagebus should fix that.

the transmission your using requires gtk3, so you'll probably want one of the older .pet versions

i think 'show image thumbnails' should be turned on in rox's options. useful when browsing image or icon folders

.svg run action is set to defaultdraw but would be better set to defaultimageviewer
/usr/local/bin/defaultdraw is set to sodipodi Smile

the JWM version you are using is noticeably clunky & slow on my low end netbook. was this compiled on a different puppy? i compiled 2.3.7m in zestypup and it's much better.

also in JWM to get rid of those co-ordinates that appear when you move a window add
Code:
<!-- The resize mode (outline or opaque) -->
<ResizeMode coordinates="off" >opaque</ResizeMode>
to /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal after 'the move mode'

i've compiled the latest samba in zesty and shares are now working. samba & jwm .pets here https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B8-cE8EIRGZVcGpPVkFsR2pIbDQ?usp=sharing

Hi 666philb

Great to hear from you - and thanks for all the comments.

Does your JWM-2.3.7 work with the themes in ptheme? I had to use 2.3.2 from slacko for this reason. If it does any chance of the .pets?

I'll work through the other things slowly....

Cheers
Peter

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 920
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu 12 Oct 2017, 13:24    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
i've compiled the latest samba in zesty and shares are now working. samba & jwm .pets here https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B8-cE8EIRGZVcGpPVkFsR2pIbDQ?usp=sharing
I installed the samba pet. Shares tested and working perfectly here now.
Thanks!

@peebee The 'Create a pet package' rightclick is inoperative.

Cheers,

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy LxPupSc, X-slacko 4.4 and X-tahr 2.0 for my users; LxPupSc, LxPupArtful, ArtfulPup & XFCE_XenialPup64 for me. All good pups indeed, and all running savefiles for look'n'feel only. Browsers, etc. solely from SFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 761

PostPosted: Thu 12 Oct 2017, 13:35    Post subject:  

...
Last edited by radky on Thu 12 Oct 2017, 16:25; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3151
Location: wales

PostPosted: Thu 12 Oct 2017, 15:57    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:


Does your JWM-2.3.7 work with the themes in ptheme? I had to use 2.3.2 from slacko for this reason. If it does any chance of the .pets?

Cheers
Peter


i tried it and no it doesn't Sad maybe sigmund can figure it out. i had a try but it's beyond me as i don't use ptheme.

the link to it is in my previous post if you want to test.

cheers

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2548
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 12 Oct 2017, 18:01    Post subject:  

Can someone confirm that the Places menu on the JWM taskbar fails to show exFAT partitions?

Can anyone confirm that Pmount fails to mount exFAT partitions OK?

This is my experience on all pups so far, I'm guessing Zesty is no different..

Lots of 1TB drives comes with exFAT by default so they should prob work..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6525
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 12 Oct 2017, 19:07    Post subject:  

I have downloaded jwm-2.3.7
Thank you 666philb

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Elena


Joined: 01 Sep 2010
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu 12 Oct 2017, 22:13    Post subject:  

Frugal ZestyPup is a really nice effort, Peter (peebee)! Thank you so much for creating it. Smile

Having no issues so far to report. Yet a lot of things work really well (e.g. scanning with Canoscan 9000F, printing with HP Laserjet, using IMAP mail, building lots of Python libs from the repo, adding Wine, Java JRE, Sublime Text, etc.)

For an additional darker GTK theme, 0nyX has been added.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 283
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Fri 13 Oct 2017, 04:41    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
Can anyone confirm that Pmount fails to mount exFAT partitions OK?

This is my experience on all pups so far, I'm guessing Zesty is no different..

Hello sc0ttman
I tried my 64GB SD card, two years ago, before I reformatted it. On Tahrpup64 I had to install exfat-fuse and exfat-utils from Ubuntu. Then it worked OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3039
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 13 Oct 2017, 08:50    Post subject:  

17.10.06 delta is available

This delta has new versions of samba and transmission + symlink from /etc/init.d/dbus to /etc/init.d/messagebus as per 666philb's recommendation.

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3039
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 13 Oct 2017, 10:33    Post subject:  

Another try at a right-click add-on - remove false .gz
ydrv_zestypup_17.10.06.sfs.gz
Description  Updated 14-oct
gz

 Download 
Filename  ydrv_zestypup_17.10.06.sfs.gz 
Filesize  32 KB 
Downloaded  28 Time(s) 

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE

Last edited by peebee on Sat 14 Oct 2017, 02:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Fri 13 Oct 2017, 13:46    Post subject:  

The firefox SFS now produces no audio. I checked, and ff version 55.03 was
the last to produce audio using apulse instead of pulseaudio ... both on
32 and 64 bit versions.

I'll note here that I tested zesty using pulseaudio from the repo. In
addition to a script wrapper, wanderers suggestion of patching the
default.pa file (was needed for slackopup64) was also required in zesty.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3039
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 13 Oct 2017, 14:23    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
The firefox SFS now produces no audio. I checked, and ff version 55.03 was
the last to produce audio using apulse instead of pulseaudio ... both on
32 and 64 bit versions.

I'll note here that I tested zesty using pulseaudio from the repo. In
addition to a script wrapper, wanderers suggestion of patching the
default.pa file (was needed for slackopup64) was also required in zesty.

Art

Are you using the firefox-56.0.1 sfs from the link in post #1?
Sound works fine for me......

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Fri 13 Oct 2017, 14:57    Post subject:  

@peebee

Yes, it was this latest SFS version that failed to produce audio for me. That's
what got me started testing.

Edit: I'm starting to remember now. It was peculiar. It produced audio
once on a youtube video test, and then started to issue the old
message about requiring pulseaudio ... and quit producing audio.

Art

Last edited by artsown on Fri 13 Oct 2017, 15:13; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 27 [402 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0917s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0262s) ][ GZIP on ]