Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Nov 2017, 12:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Package Download Failure (Solved)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
LenseOnLife

Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sat 14 Oct 2017, 16:31    Post subject:  Package Download Failure (Solved)
Subject description: Insufficient room in tmp to install package - Flash Download.
 

Hi,

I'm new to the forum and also to Puppy, but am managing to start putting it all together. Have tried the 'wary' flavour and, in the main, it went well. But then I found tahrpup and it seems to fit the bill better for my needs so I'm now trying to set that up to the configuration that would best suit me.

BUT - A PROBLEM

I did a complete install to the HDD, that went well and it boots fine.

Downloaded a couple of packages using the puppy package manager and installed those OK and checked that they ran OK.

Was downloading the Flash Player when Puppy got annoyed. It claims that I don't have enough room in tmp and I should delete files in the partition.

Hovering the 'Disk Icon' on the bottom right, it says that I have 36GiB of personal storage and that there is 33 GiB of Free Space. So why am I not able to download any more packages.

Anyone any ideas on what I'm doing wrong? Have a feeling that I must have made a huge are of personal storage at the expense of system storage(?) but can't see any reference to that anywhere.

I'm using 6.0.6-uifi of 15th Feb 2017 ISO

Any pointers on where to go from here would very much appreciated

_________________
Cheers,

Oliver - The Geriatric Programmer

Last edited by LenseOnLife on Sun 15 Oct 2017, 06:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3147
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 14 Oct 2017, 16:54    Post subject:  

Hallo, Oliver. And 'Welcome' to the kennels!

I'm assuming, from your description above, that you've performed a 'full' install to HDD? You are aware, I take it, that Puppy runs in a virtual 'ramdisk' within your RAM memory, yes?

What I can't quite figure out is the fact that your running out of room in /tmp normally only occurs in the 'frugal' install, since this runs in RAM all the time, periodically saving back to your save-file/folder.

Can you clarify matters a wee bit? Did you perform a 'full' install.....or have you performed a 'frugal' install to disk? And machine specs would be helpful (make & model, CPU, amount of RAM, size of hard drive, graphics chip/card (as applicable), etc., etc.) Unfortunately, we're not very good with the old crystal ball; we need you to be our 'eyes'n'ears', please. We only know what you tell us..! Smile

Over to you.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
LenseOnLife

Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sat 14 Oct 2017, 17:32    Post subject:  

HI Mike,

Thanks for that reply. I had suspected that there some sort of RamDisk 'thing' going on somewhere but I hadn't really considered it.

In terms of resources - it is a 2005 Fujitsu P4, 2.93GHz Computer. I think it is called Fujitsu Scenic X102. According to the HardInfo 994MB (61MB used). I had set up a 2047 Swap file. SIS VGA Controller - PCIE VESA 3.0 I think I mentioned earlier the HDD is of the order of 33GiB. Monitor 1360x768 LG.

To the best of my knowledge (and being a geriatric that is not always very dependable) it was a FULL install. No reason to do a frugal so on this occasion I will trust the memory. Any way to check on it through packages ...

In terms of RAMDisk / OnBoard RAM - I was thinking that the amount available should only become an issue when trying to install, not when downloading. I presumes that the download was heading in to 'tmp' on the HDD first and then spirited over to its final resting place.?

I think that covers about everything.

_________________
Cheers,

Oliver - The Geriatric Programmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
LenseOnLife

Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sat 14 Oct 2017, 18:15    Post subject:  

Embarassed Embarassed Crying or Very sad

My Mistake - well partly.

I said initially that I was downloading with PPM - partially true. Just went back now and downloaded Firefox without any problem.

What I had been trying to download was Flashplayer using the 'Getflash - Install Flashplayer' from the 'Internet' menu item and that is the one that fails. tried looking for FlashPlayer in the PPM but that also only listed the 'GetFlash - Install Flashplayer' option.

When downloading, the error message said that the file was 6,570 kb and that there was 0 space in tmp - see attached

Looks like it is something specific to 'getflash'

Oliver
capture497.png
 Description   
 Filesize   23.05 KB
 Viewed   44 Time(s)

capture497.png


_________________
Cheers,

Oliver - The Geriatric Programmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9526
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 15 Oct 2017, 01:50    Post subject:  

getflash is a very good program.

The problem is, Adobe constantly keeps changing how you get FlashPlayer, where you get it, and how to install it.

The easy answer is to not download or try to use FlashPlayer.
Most web sites have moved on to using HTML5 to play videos.
Web browsers handle that with no requirement to add anything.

Really, if you can get along with not having FlashPlayer.
You are better off!!!!!

But if you have to have it.
Try this newer version of Getflash

Get Flash
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=74491

Getflash 1.7.1
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=960815#960815

Not sure why you would get an error about temp.
Do a reboot.
That should clear out temp.

You do have some free space on the drive Puppy is installed on??

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LenseOnLife

Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sun 15 Oct 2017, 04:48    Post subject:    

Hi Mike,

well you've sorted it - thanks.

In terms of using Flash - agree with you completely. Adobe is ditching it and so it is not a good bet long term.

Some background, I'm putting together some old PCs for a group of men to play therapeutic games that I've developed. We're using old PCs because funds are just about zilch. I've made ports for Windows, Android, HTML-5 (very buggy) and Flash. The windows worked fine on the Ubuntu install (under wine), but wouldn't play on Puppy Wary under wine - but did under Flash. That is why I'm trying to get flash to work on TahrPup.

In a fit of madness I've just downloaded Wine and ran a full windows install on TahrPup and it worked perfectly - very impressive. Unfortunately the sound doesn't work - but that is another story for another day. The flash version is also working - sound and all.

Right now I have 2 options - Flash and a Windows Installation - which is light years away from where I was at last night. No doubt I will run into many brick walls over the coming days and I will spend a fortune on band-aid but right now the sun is shining (even if the remnants of hurricane Ophelia are coming like a freight train to my humble mountain shack).

Thanks for all your help (and patience) - is there a facility to flag this post as closed / fixed

Cheers for now,

Oliver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3147
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 15 Oct 2017, 05:49    Post subject:  

Hi, Oliver.

Glad to hear you're making progress!

To mark this as 'Solved', the Forum doesn't have specialised buttons/tools for that. Open your original post with the 'Edit' button, and just add 'Solved' to the 'Subject' line. Then re-submit.

That's it! Any further queries about Puppy, don't hesitate to ask. Bigpup is, of course, right about Flash; you're better off not using it if you can manage without it. Most websites are now making stuff viewable with HTML5.....but there's always 'stragglers'. Some sites even still insist on using Internet Exploder..... Rolling Eyes


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
LenseOnLife

Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sun 15 Oct 2017, 06:18    Post subject:  

hi,

Apologies bigdog - hadn't noticed the different icon. Thanks for those Flash links, they got me up and running again.

Oliver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0853s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0119s) ][ GZIP on ]