Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Nov 2017, 09:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
StretchDog
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 6 [82 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
jss83

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 04:15    Post subject:  

Using stretchdog right now and it is just wonderful! I think I can safely make a shift with this. Thank you so much.

err.. spoken too soon.. ran into some trouble. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2163

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 14:08    Post subject:  

Downloaded ISO and frugally installed/booted (Porteus style, save on exit)

I tried removing user puppy from both disk and wheel groups (using deluser puppy disk; deluser puppy wheel) ... logged out and in again and it isn't a member of either of those groups ... but it can still mount partitions by clicking on the desktop drive icons.

More preferably by default user "puppy" shouldn't be able to mount partitions, so if you're running a browser as puppy and a hacker breaks out of that then any unmounted partitions are inaccessible.

How can user puppy be prevented from mounting partitions (force having to Ctrl-Alt-Fn ... login as root and mount a drive, or run sudo to mount a drive)?

EDIT : Further investigation indicates that puppy cannot mount from the cli when it isn't a member of the disk group (mounting is only possible by clicking on the desktop drive icons).

Last edited by rufwoof on Mon 16 Oct 2017, 14:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2163

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 14:39    Post subject:  

editing /etc/slim.conf to autlogin as puppy instead of root ... and it still defaults to logging in as root
Code:
# default user, leave blank or remove this line
# for avoid pre-loading the username.
default_user        puppy

# Focus the password field on start when default_user is set
# Set to "yes" to enable this feature
#focus_password      no

# Automatically login the default user (without entering
# the password. Set to "yes" to enable this feature
auto_login          yes


EDIT : http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=850601#850601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2602
Location: holland

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 15:04    Post subject:  

Hi rufwoof

Quote:
How can user puppy be prevented from mounting partitions (force having to Ctrl-Alt-Fn ... login as root and mount a drive, or run sudo to mount a drive)?


Uncomment "chpupsocket $USER:$USER &" in /home/puppy/.config/openbox/autostart

Code:
# chpupsocket $USER:$USER &


(reboot required)

Btw, FYI, puppy can mount (by clicking drive icons) but has no write permissions

Quote:
editing /etc/slim.conf to autlogin as puppy instead of root ... and it still defaults to logging in as root


Slim is not enabled by default, first enable from "Start Slim" button on Whisker menu or from System > Start/Stop Slim display-manager
(enabling slim will set /etc/inittab to no-auto login, and no auto startx)
Then changing /etc/slim.conf will apply after reboot

Fred

Last edited by fredx181 on Mon 16 Oct 2017, 15:45; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trister

Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 15:17    Post subject:  

Very good job Fred Smile
Very nice Desktop.

The first thing I noticed at start is that I need to run "reconnect" from peasyWifi to get an IP from my router the first time I enter the system. This doesn't seem as much of a problem but since it is a live CD it might matter.


rufwoof wrote:
editing /etc/slim.conf to autlogin as puppy instead of root ... and it still defaults to logging in as root

For the previous release of StretchDog64 (in case Fred fix won't do it):
Maybe you have the same problem as me
While slim was running and asking me my username, in the background
/etc/profile executed startx as root (so I had the problem that while I was typing the desktp appeared ).
If this is the case you could try to comment out the "startx" entry in your /etc/profile file.


@ethplorer:

my menu.lst entry is like this :

Code:
title PorteusStretchDog EXIT: changes32
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /puppy_StretchDog64/live/initrd1.xz
kernel /puppy_StretchDog64/live/vmlinuz1 from=/puppy_StretchDog64 changes=EXIT:/puppy_StretchDog64/changes32.dat
initrd /puppy_StretchDog64/live/initrd1.xz


Btw, If anyone wants to try KODI without installing it :
kodi_2.3a17.1+dfsg1-3_amd64-deb_.squashfs https://1fichier.com/?5sl6u1qbfs
kodi_libs_addon_v001d_.squashfs https://1fichier.com/?gcn37ed4h6
maybe you'll also need this:
python279apt2sfs.squashfs https://1fichier.com/?ytqs6spvxt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2602
Location: holland

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 15:29    Post subject:  

Thanks trister !

trister wrote:
The first thing I noticed at start is that I need to run reconnect from peasyWifi to get an IP from my router the first time I enter the system. This doesn't seem as much of a problem but since it is a live CD it might matter.


Oh, strange, that shouldn't be like that (for me it connects right away)

@all For Info: I probably won't be very active replying in the next days because I have the flu (began yesterday, don't know how it goes in the next days)

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trister

Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 15:37    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:


@all For Info: I probably won't be very active replying in the next days because I have the flu (began yesterday, don't know how it goes in the next days)

Fred

Sad
I hope you get well soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2163

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 15:54    Post subject:  

@trister http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=850601#850601 did it for me, logs in as puppy fine now.

@fred. ditto (flu), started today. Feeling pretty lousy.

Quote:
Quote:
How can user puppy be prevented from mounting partitions (force having to Ctrl-Alt-Fn ... login as root and mount a drive, or run sudo to mount a drive)?

Uncomment "chpupsocket $USER:$USER &" in /home/puppy/.config/openbox/autostart

Code:
# chpupsocket $USER:$USER &

(reboot required)

Btw, FYI, puppy can mount (by clicking drive icons) but has no write permissions

Not having cli permission to mount is good enough. Quite like still being able to mount from the desktop/gui as that relatively locks out cli breakins from doing something nasty like installing ransomware, but still being able to mount things as puppy from within the desktop environment. Mine mounts with rw permissions after a 'puppy' user desktop drive icon is clicked !!! That's great assuming it continues to work that way as more like running as root in feel, but with the ability to lock down partition access in the event of a hackers browser breakout.

I've adopted jwm as the wm and have set left click of the clock to be the MENU (right mouse click clock to showdesktop).

Not sure why the firewall isn't working under user puppy (shows as green when logged in as root, but under puppy I can't seem to turn it on).
s.png
 Description   
 Filesize   95.94 KB
 Viewed   389 Time(s)

s.png


Last edited by rufwoof on Mon 16 Oct 2017, 17:36; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11729
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 16:01    Post subject:  

trister wrote:
The first thing I noticed at start is that I need to run "reconnect" from peasyWifi to get an IP from my router the first time I enter the system.

This sounds like a timing issue.

Look at the script /etc/rc.d/rc.nework. PWF makes two tries (line 19) with a 5 second pause between (line 23). Each try is controlled by the -t and -T options (line 21).

Maybe increasing some of these will help.

If you watch the boot messages, there should be a line near the end for "udhcpc". Do you see it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1688

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 18:11    Post subject:  

Just want to mention that there is a patch for Debian Stretch for the WPA2 Krack attack. This puts it ahead of many other distros.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2602
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 17 Oct 2017, 10:11    Post subject:  

prehistoric wrote:
Just want to mention that there is a patch for Debian Stretch for the WPA2 Krack attack. This puts it ahead of many other distros.


Yes, thanks !
So to upgrade to patched wpasupplicant on StretchDog:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install wpasupplicant


Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marcelo4768

Joined: 18 Sep 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 17 Oct 2017, 13:02    Post subject: how install full ?  

i want to install full stretchdog in a laptop year 2010 with 1,6 ghz and 3 gb ram and 300 gb hdd, help please, i have to use gparted first ? already have deepin installed but i want erase it and use only with stretchdog, my hangout is marcelo4768
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4757
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 17 Oct 2017, 14:58    Post subject:  

Quote:
i want to install full stretchdog in a laptop year 2010 with 1,6 ghz and 3 gb ram and 300 gb hdd, help please


Open up the iso file(with a click) and read the readme file inside.
Once you get a Porteus install i.e. into a folder named 'live' on hard drive to work
you can then do a full install to an empty partition .
_______________________________________________________

Last edited by don570 on Tue 17 Oct 2017, 15:32; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4757
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 17 Oct 2017, 15:25    Post subject: pfind 6.3  

I was able to use the most recent version of pfind 6.3
(it needs a recent version of pfilesearch as well so I put it inside the package)
and I made a debian package so others can try it.

Available:
pfind_6.3_all.deb
Size: 28k
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B7JZA8XWblrSQVJ6d0djdmtPZUU
--------------------------------------------------------------------

I added a file --->

/usr/local/bin/defaultfilemanager and pointed it to thunar.

'Open location' feature will use it.

________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ethplorer

Joined: 21 Apr 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue 17 Oct 2017, 15:38    Post subject:  

trister wrote:
Very good job Fred Smile

@ethplorer:

my menu.lst entry is like this :

Code:
title PorteusStretchDog EXIT: changes32
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /puppy_StretchDog64/live/initrd1.xz
kernel /puppy_StretchDog64/live/vmlinuz1 from=/puppy_StretchDog64 changes=EXIT:/puppy_StretchDog64/changes32.dat
initrd /puppy_StretchDog64/live/initrd1.xz


Btw, If anyone wants to try KODI without installing it :
kodi_2.3a17.1+dfsg1-3_amd64-deb_.squashfs https://1fichier.com/?5sl6u1qbfs
kodi_libs_addon_v001d_.squashfs https://1fichier.com/?gcn37ed4h6
maybe you'll also need this:
python279apt2sfs.squashfs https://1fichier.com/?ytqs6spvxt


while it does work as it starts to read the vmlinuz and initrd, it suddenly stops telling that it needs Porteus that it has to be in the /puppy_StretchDog64/live/Porteus <--- not sure what it meant actually. Anything else i need to do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 [82 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0902s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]